If confide in someone but he dunno how to listen and advice, means he got lousy EQ?

BunnyPancake

Sad to say this... But sinkies are poor listeners.

I'm sure you notice this too... When you want to tell them your problems either they still use phone or just "Oh nvm one la."

That's why it is so BAD that we had this PSA on TV recently:

The problem with this PSA is... You tell people to be better listener also no use, because most sinkies are selfish or it is just not their trait. We only want to humble brag, talk about ourselves, "I told you so" lecture, or just not interested because of the 'negative vibes'. Especially with our competitive environment, they will just gloat at your misery or just tell other people about what you shared and di siao about it. Why do you think we keep seeing sinkies go ki siao, become admitted to IMH, or so many suicide cases?

I used to be an active listener and help people in their time of need. But when it is my turn, all AFK or not around or they give some ridiculous lecture that's not even emotional support at all.

I don't even bother telling people about my problems liao.

orpisia

yes low EQ, lacks soft skills
I guess what I am asking about is empathy

Whether the person who you confide in, is able to empathise with your plight, for example

So is empathy part of EQ

And another thing is, how edmwers always gauge a person's EQ, is by how much he or she gets angry

If get angry, edmwers will say low EQ

So I always wonder, is that all about eq, or there are more aspects of it

orpisia

High eq people won't confide in someone....only low eq will confide and still complain listener nt gd enough....
If truly high EQ person, then will know how to talk and advise on a deeper level, otherwise he can't demonstrate he has it, maybe because he doesn't have it in the first place

orpisia

I'm sure you notice this too... When you want to tell them your problems either they still use phone or just "Oh nvm one la."

The problem with this PSA is... You tell people to be better listener also no use, because most sinkies are selfish or it is just not their trait. We only want to humble brag, talk about ourselves, "I told you so" lecture, or just not interested because of the 'negative vibes'. Especially with our competitive environment, they will just gloat at your misery or just tell other people about what you shared and di siao about it. Why do you think we keep seeing sinkies go ki siao, become admitted to IMH, or so many suicide cases?

I used to be an active listener and help people in their time of need. But when it is my turn, all AFK or not around or they give some ridiculous lecture that's not even emotional support at all.

Yes correct

They'll just give you gaslighting/trivialising/downplaying replies and from their replies, you know that they don't really understand

MaximumZ

or good EQ means simply not getting angry?
EQ is fake. EQ is invented for people who want to feel they are part of the intelligent scale. They are not. Women are more intelligent than men because they can recognize signs of aggression and have learnt to sedate men with their words or orifices. Because men are stronger, better and faster, and can get aggressive.

starry_starry_night

Learning from the elites on top mah, you think those elites really bother with problems faced by peasants ah?

Lost3162

dont confide to a guy la. he will wanna solve and get over it.

gals are more empathetic if no gals wanna hear you out. then pay money for therapist or counsellor.

s-ghost

firstly, not everyone know, or most won't know how to handle
secondly, when you confide in someone, set your expectations, are you seeking advice or just a listening ear?

enimen

What EQ is required to be a listener? Just nod, keep quiet and listen can liao. Very hard meh

orpisia

EQ is fake. EQ is invented for people who want to feel they are part of the intelligent scale. They are not. Women are more intelligent than men because they can recognize signs of aggression and have learnt to sedate men with their words or orifices. Because men are stronger, better and faster, and can get aggressive.
"sedate men with words"

This part is true

My mom is quite skilled at it

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.