If HDB is using Chinese developer, please read what happened to Bangkok skyscraper. Read liao damn scared

Autumn.

Not saying Chinese developer are all unsafe but to keep them safe, 150% vigilant checking on what they do. Otherwise, consequences will be very serious.

The person who posted this is Desmond Shum, a very successful and rich property developer. He has experience on the ground working with Chinese property developers.

“Trust but verify”? Not in China. Try: Never trust, always verify. So here’s what happened: During the recent Myanmar earthquake, a 33-story skyscraper in Bangkok suddenly decided to sit down (video attached) — permanently. This wasn’t some random building; it was the future home of Thailand’s Office of the Auditor General. Yes, the office in charge of checking that public money isn’t going up in smoke — or in this case, going down in rubble. It was the only high-rise in the city that collapsed, and Thai authorities are now scrambling to investigate what went wrong — construction quality, materials, earthquake resilience, the whole checklist. Now, allow me to offer a theory. As a former developer in China, I’ve worked with many Chinese builders— including China Railway Sixth, a close sibling of the company behind the Bangkok disaster, China Railway Tenth. I’ve seen this movie before, many times. And if there’s one rule that seasoned Chinese developers live by, it’s this: Every builder is guilty and there’s no exception. The only question is how to minimize the damage. In China, we owners don’t “collaborate” with builders — we shadow them like paranoid detectives. We have full in-house teams mirroring every function: site management, costing, engineering, architecture, etc…. Why? Because the minute you turn your back, someone’s bribing your staff, cutting corners, or quietly replacing steel with tofu. It’s not cynicism — it’s standard procedure. Trust isn’t just scarce — it’s a liability. Now contrast that with what happens in law-abiding societies. There, owners believe in contracts. They trust their builders. There’s good faith, accountability, and even — bless them — handshakes. So when a foreign owner from one of these trusting lands hires a Chinese builder without the paranoia goggles on? Well, this time the result wasn’t just a few cost overruns or dodgy plumbing. The whole damn building collapsed. And that, my friends, is what happens when you drop guanxi into a rule-of-law system — it short-circuits on contact, or in this case, collapses on site.

what i understood that, this project was not given extra budget to build for earthquake resistance.

Not saying Chinese developer are all unsafe but to keep them safe, 150% vigilant checking on what they do. Otherwise, consequences will be very serious.

The person who posted this is Desmond Shum, a very successful and rich property developer. He has experience on the ground working with Chinese property developers.

“Trust but verify”? Not in China. Try: Never trust, always verify. So here’s what happened: During the recent Myanmar earthquake, a 33-story skyscraper in Bangkok suddenly decided to sit down (video attached) — permanently. This wasn’t some random building; it was the future home of Thailand’s Office of the Auditor General. Yes, the office in charge of checking that public money isn’t going up in smoke — or in this case, going down in rubble. It was the only high-rise in the city that collapsed, and Thai authorities are now scrambling to investigate what went wrong — construction quality, materials, earthquake resilience, the whole checklist. Now, allow me to offer a theory. As a former developer in China, I’ve worked with many Chinese builders— including China Railway Sixth, a close sibling of the company behind the Bangkok disaster, China Railway Tenth. I’ve seen this movie before, many times. And if there’s one rule that seasoned Chinese developers live by, it’s this: Every builder is guilty and there’s no exception. The only question is how to minimize the damage. In China, we owners don’t “collaborate” with builders — we shadow them like paranoid detectives. We have full in-house teams mirroring every function: site management, costing, engineering, architecture, etc…. Why? Because the minute you turn your back, someone’s bribing your staff, cutting corners, or quietly replacing steel with tofu. It’s not cynicism — it’s standard procedure. Trust isn’t just scarce — it’s a liability. Now contrast that with what happens in law-abiding societies. There, owners believe in contracts. They trust their builders. There’s good faith, accountability, and even — bless them — handshakes. So when a foreign owner from one of these trusting lands hires a Chinese builder without the paranoia goggles on? Well, this time the result wasn’t just a few cost overruns or dodgy plumbing. The whole damn building collapsed. And that, my friends, is what happens when you drop guanxi into a rule-of-law system — it short-circuits on contact, or in this case, collapses on site.

TS, if builder follow approved drawings exactly to every inch, shall the builder responsible ?
I am sick people dunt do research and type,

building process
1. all involved professionals, architect , structural engineer , M nd E eng etc design the building according to Thai government building code, then govt approve, then builder build according to drawings.

2. pl dunt anyhow blame builder, unless evidence show otherwise,

3. Thal interior minister just blame everyone, but not review if the building code can sustain earthquake..

https://www.zaobao.com.sg/realtime/world/story20250330-6093897

Anutin said the investigation will focus on the architect, construction supervisor and builder. The Thai and Chinese sides of the builder must be held accountable. He also said rescuers were working to rescue the trapped victims.
阿努廷说,调查将集中在建筑师、施工监理和建筑商身上。建筑商的泰国和中国方面必须承担责任。他还说,救援人员正努力营救被困受害者

agau168

TS, if builder follow approved drawings exactly to every inch, shall the builder responsible ?

building process
1. all involved professionals, architect , structural engineer , M nd E eng etc design the building according to Thai government building code, then govt approve, then builder build according to drawings.

3. Thal interior minister just blame everyone, but not review if the building code can sustain earthquake..

Anutin said the investigation will focus on the architect, construction supervisor and builder. The Thai and Chinese sides of the builder must be held accountable. He also said rescuers were working to rescue the trapped victims.
Of course if builder build according to specs, not right to blame builder lah.

Read my message carefully first. I am sick of people who dunt read properly, then anyhow type

I said must "150% vigilant checking on what they do." to ensure that they build according to specs. If don't check, builder may cut costs, don't follow specs and give sub-standard building. This is what I mean, not anyhow blame builder.

building process

Thai Home affairs Minister draws conclusion before investigation

Read my message carefully first. I am sick of people who dunt read properly, then anyhow type

I said must "150% vigilant checking on what they do." to ensure that they build according to specs. If don't check, builder may cut costs, don't follow specs and give sub-standard building. This is what I mean, not blame builder even if he builds according to specs when tragedies happen.
you thread already hint PRC builders not reliable. full stop.. why put such thread?

If HDB is using Chinese developer, please read what happened to Bangkok skyscraper. Read liao damn scared​

klarklar

you thread already hint PRC builders not reliable. full stop.. why put such thread?

If HDB is using Chinese developer, please read what happened to Bangkok skyscraper. Read liao damn scared​

I think TS is doing Singaporeans a favor by recommending more stringent checks by HDB when contracting to Chinese developers. Don't see what's wrong with that. It's responsible attitude towards safety of Singaporeans, given what has happened.

Why you so sensitive? You working for Chinese developer? :) :)

volarth

Our buildings are not designed for earthquakes, unlike those in Japan and Taiwan.

Not worth being too KS. Hopefully the bomb shelter will be sufficient.
Till today I have no clue wtf the scholar was thinking with a bomb shelter in every home.

dambio

Like those building demolition vids. Albeit tis 1 is earthquake shake n collapsed.

rabies79

I said must "150% vigilant checking on what they do." to ensure that they build according to specs. If don't check, builder may cut costs, don't follow specs and give sub-standard building. This is what I mean, not blame builder even if he builds according to specs when tragedies happen.

I agreed with you bro let's not point fingers on whether developer follows specifications or not. It's about Quality check which also plays a part. Recently I use mobile printers from different makers China, Taiwan the mobile printer from China broke down just few months into usage due to lousy design and quality check so we decided to change all out to Taiwan brand liao. Pray for the rain prepare to deal with the mud.

ctstalin

How come only target hdb? Condos no have Chinese developer meh

I said must "150% vigilant checking on what they do." to ensure that they build according to specs. If don't check, builder may cut costs, don't follow specs and give sub-standard building. This is what I mean, not anyhow blame builder.
you quote a developer for what ?
did he say some design, like this fallen building design, NOT suitable for earthquake ?

2. Before investigation completed, he offer a theory..he said his past experience of corruptions. haha.
He hinted this project involved corruption?

3. he says " Thai authorities are now scrambling to investigate what went wrong — construction quality, materials, earthquake resilience, the whole checklist."

he fails to mention design code. if the plans done according to Thai deign code and approved, Thai authority to be blamed 100%.
but now we see Thai authority shift the blame to others..

I think TS is doing Singaporeans a favor by recommending more stringent checks by HDB when contracting to Chinese developers. Don't see what's wrong with that. It's responsible attitude towards safety of Singaporeans, given what has happened.

Why you so sensitive? You working for Chinese developer? :) :)
pure discrimination.

Smarty22

I see an increasing no of public project and public building projects undertaken by Tiong construction companies in the last 10-20 years. Along old airport rd, a mega private condominium project and HDB project are both built by Tiong developers.
They are no doubt more competitive than Korean Japanese and local building contractors.
The building authority has the overall responsibility to ensure they comply with the safety standards

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.