If HDB is using Chinese developer, please read what happened to Bangkok skyscraper. Read liao damn scared

zoossh

jialat, we got many major infra under chinese developer. shall we have any concern abt this too??

Should be very safe if we dun have earthquakes of such magnitude and distance from sg ever happening

If not just wait for that earthquake to happen, and for buildings here to be collapsed, and then we fully investigate after the tragedy

Until then please do not consider any such possibility and please do not expect actions to be taken

byfun

Throwing away my phone now !! Later self destruct n decapitate me how.... 😂

Many hdb build by China developers in sg also leh.. BCA better buck up.

What is the developer name in Thailand ?

WoollyMammoth

So out of the other hundreds and thousands and tens of thousands of buildings in BKK and Myanmar, no china developer? :ROFLMAO:

Exactly, anti Chinese people having a field day after digging out that the contractor is a Chinese.

So many buildings in bangkok. How many built by Chinese contractor? I'm sure there are many others. Only 1 building which is not even completed yet fell after a big quake of 7.3. if anything, I think that's impressive.

MyWill

Dont anyhow stir. Drawing got approval. Work got inspection. If still collapse, everyone involved will get it.

jeff79

Need to correct the term used in this thread.

HDB itself is the developer. It can only award contractor to build the flats, not another developer.

jeff79

Exactly, anti Chinese people having a field day after digging out that the contractor is a Chinese.

So many buildings in bangkok. How many built by Chinese contractor? I'm sure there are many others. Only 1 building which is not even completed yet fell after a big quake of 7.3. if anything, I think that's impressive.
The china railway is joint venture with thai largest construction company. Taiwan and western media only focused on the china railway, as if the thai contractor did not exist.

enigmastar

Remember our MRT carriage case - Metal fatigue? It was supposedly supervised by a Japanese company in china .
So anything with construction, building of vessels and even EV .. needs to be very careful
I remember this case . They quietly ship back china to repair then in the end scrap whole lot.

TopGun

Omg. You characterize it as impressive? It's not even supposed to fall at all give that the topping off has been completed.

What's next? Are you going to term this as acceptable losses?

edwin410

Not saying Chinese developer are all unsafe but to keep them safe, 150% vigilant checking on what they do. Otherwise, consequences will be very serious.

The person who posted this is Desmond Shum, a very successful and rich property developer. He has experience on the ground working with Chinese property developers.

“Trust but verify”? Not in China. Try: Never trust, always verify. So here’s what happened: During the recent Myanmar earthquake, a 33-story skyscraper in Bangkok suddenly decided to sit down (video attached) — permanently. This wasn’t some random building; it was the future home of Thailand’s Office of the Auditor General. Yes, the office in charge of checking that public money isn’t going up in smoke — or in this case, going down in rubble. It was the only high-rise in the city that collapsed, and Thai authorities are now scrambling to investigate what went wrong — construction quality, materials, earthquake resilience, the whole checklist. Now, allow me to offer a theory. As a former developer in China, I’ve worked with many Chinese builders— including China Railway Sixth, a close sibling of the company behind the Bangkok disaster, China Railway Tenth. I’ve seen this movie before, many times. And if there’s one rule that seasoned Chinese developers live by, it’s this: Every builder is guilty and there’s no exception. The only question is how to minimize the damage. In China, we owners don’t “collaborate” with builders — we shadow them like paranoid detectives. We have full in-house teams mirroring every function: site management, costing, engineering, architecture, etc…. Why? Because the minute you turn your back, someone’s bribing your staff, cutting corners, or quietly replacing steel with tofu. It’s not cynicism — it’s standard procedure. Trust isn’t just scarce — it’s a liability. Now contrast that with what happens in law-abiding societies. There, owners believe in contracts. They trust their builders. There’s good faith, accountability, and even — bless them — handshakes. So60 when a foreign owner from one of these trusting lands hires a Chinese builder without the paranoia goggles on? Well, this time the result wasn’t just a few cost overruns or dodgy plumbing. The whole damn building collapsed. And that, my friends, is what happens when you drop guanxi into a rule-of-law system — it short-circuits on contact, or in this case, collapses on site.

we only trust ownself check ownself.............works for 60 years alr.........going strong.

zoossh

The china railway is joint venture with thai largest construction company. Taiwan and western media only focused on the china railway, as if the thai contractor did not exist.

It is normal for people to discuss on what they feel is the most suspicious

Not just those two u mention. Even the thai said the same thing. They will dig deeper and the other parties who have part of the responsibility may also faced scrutiny

zhiguzai

Dont anyhow stir. Drawing got approval. Work got inspection. If still collapse, everyone involved will get it.
Not everyone will get it. Like the PIE viaduct collapse, only the weakest link will be sentenced. Those with connections and the site staff of the concern authority botache.

orlengtao

You think Thailand don’t have authority like BCA? BCA can’t possibly check everything, it’s simply unattainable.
you think thailand BCA have the same standard as SG?

Standards are different for each country, espeically when some country where corruption are more frequent.

Pearce

Not saying Chinese developer are all unsafe but to keep them safe, 150% vigilant checking on what they do. Otherwise, consequences will be very serious.

The person who posted this is Desmond Shum, a very successful and rich property developer. He has experience on the ground working with Chinese property developers.

“Trust but verify”? Not in China. Try: Never trust, always verify. So here’s what happened: During the recent Myanmar earthquake, a 33-story skyscraper in Bangkok suddenly decided to sit down (video attached) — permanently. This wasn’t some random building; it was the future home of Thailand’s Office of the Auditor General. Yes, the office in charge of checking that public money isn’t going up in smoke — or in this case, going down in rubble. It was the only high-rise in the city that collapsed, and Thai authorities are now scrambling to investigate what went wrong — construction quality, materials, earthquake resilience, the whole checklist. Now, allow me to offer a theory. As a former developer in China, I’ve worked with many Chinese builders— including China Railway Sixth, a close sibling of the company behind the Bangkok disaster, China Railway Tenth. I’ve seen this movie before, many times. And if there’s one rule that seasoned Chinese developers live by, it’s this: Every builder is guilty and there’s no exception. The only question is how to minimize the damage. In China, we owners don’t “collaborate” with builders — we shadow them like paranoid detectives. We have full in-house teams mirroring every function: site management, costing, engineering, architecture, etc…. Why? Because the minute you turn your back, someone’s bribing your staff, cutting corners, or quietly replacing steel with tofu. It’s not cynicism — it’s standard procedure. Trust isn’t just scarce — it’s a liability. Now contrast that with what happens in law-abiding societies. There, owners believe in contracts. They trust their builders. There’s good faith, accountability, and even — bless them — handshakes. So when a foreign owner from one of these trusting lands hires a Chinese builder without the paranoia goggles on? Well, this time the result wasn’t just a few cost overruns or dodgy plumbing. The whole damn building collapsed. And that, my friends, is what happens when you drop guanxi into a rule-of-law system — it short-circuits on contact, or in this case, collapses on site.

Honestly, what I may thought of is that because of earthquake, it show that the china construction of building up the building quick does not work and need to reconsider hiring them or use that method.

Imaging many buildings already built up with people living inside and got earthquake, it may end up even worse.

Thus this earthquake may be Universe's arrangement to reveal that this method of building up a building is dangerous and must avoid them at all course.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.