If HDB is using Chinese developer, please read what happened to Bangkok skyscraper. Read liao damn scared

GundamG

earthquake may reach sg one day. i think sg should seriously consider stop building those level 20 and higher hdb, if cannot withstand, i think is quite jialat. those living in high floor will chua sai.

begintoend

everyone wants to be safe, have the best and be assured.

are we gonna ask for BCA and relevant authorities to evaluate our HDB safety and guarantees now?
certified for every brick laid, every steel pole inserted and every simulation for disaster grade of approval?
even with valid certificates, are we gonna question and doubt the authenticity?

floor tiles popping, pipe leaking, wall cracks, doors creaked
all these we already headache and scared liao
still need to strap ourselves with more fear on earthquakes:s22:

rider83

Not saying Chinese developer are all unsafe but to keep them safe, 150% vigilant checking on what they do. Otherwise, consequences will be very serious.

The person who posted this is Desmond Shum, a very successful and rich property developer. He has experience on the ground working with Chinese property developers.

“Trust but verify”? Not in China. Try: Never trust, always verify. So here’s what happened: During the recent Myanmar earthquake, a 33-story skyscraper in Bangkok suddenly decided to sit down (video attached) — permanently. This wasn’t some random building; it was the future home of Thailand’s Office of the Auditor General. Yes, the office in charge of checking that public money isn’t going up in smoke — or in this case, going down in rubble. It was the only high-rise in the city that collapsed, and Thai authorities are now scrambling to investigate what went wrong — construction quality, materials, earthquake resilience, the whole checklist. Now, allow me to offer a theory. As a former developer in China, I’ve worked with many Chinese builders— including China Railway Sixth, a close sibling of the company behind the Bangkok disaster, China Railway Tenth. I’ve seen this movie before, many times. And if there’s one rule that seasoned Chinese developers live by, it’s this: Every builder is guilty and there’s no exception. The only question is how to minimize the damage. In China, we owners don’t “collaborate” with builders — we shadow them like paranoid detectives. We have full in-house teams mirroring every function: site management, costing, engineering, architecture, etc…. Why? Because the minute you turn your back, someone’s bribing your staff, cutting corners, or quietly replacing steel with tofu. It’s not cynicism — it’s standard procedure. Trust isn’t just scarce — it’s a liability. Now contrast that with what happens in law-abiding societies. There, owners believe in contracts. They trust their builders. There’s good faith, accountability, and even — bless them — handshakes. So when a foreign owner from one of these trusting lands hires a Chinese builder without the paranoia goggles on? Well, this time the result wasn’t just a few cost overruns or dodgy plumbing. The whole damn building collapsed. And that, my friends, is what happens when you drop guanxi into a rule-of-law system — it short-circuits on contact, or in this case, collapses on site.

Inb4 Singapore no earthquake, thank u PAP

mel1888

avoid those built by china developers
how to. majority are now built by them.
Even China companies when engage China construction firms monitor them 24/7 to ensure no funny business.

born2fly

No need to worry lah, the chances of WW3 happening seem to be more likely that an earthquake happening in Singapore

titusilvering

I’ll just say concerns are legitimate

I’m sure before the building collapse, there are strong grounds to say that all due diligence are made, no evidence of any issues, Thailand had the necessary authorities, and the building is not supposed to collapse.

Not supposed to but it did.

So then perhaps it is obviously normal to question and not just blindly accept. To slam down on this is just so… weird?
Thai PM ask the builder 7 days come out with report what went wrong

Acetone

HDB mostly using Chinese lifts.. a lot of condos also Chinese developers

titusilvering

Written Answer by Ministry of National Development on buildings in Singapore
Jan 15, 2019

Mr Gan Thiam Poh: To ask the Minister for National Development what is the maximum wind speed and magnitude of earthquake tremors that buildings in Singapore can withstand.

Answer:

Buildings in Singapore have to be designed according to the relevant building codes. Buildings are generally designed to withstand a maximum wind gust speed of up to 143 kilometres per hour. This is more than sufficient to cater to the wind gust speeds locally.

Singapore is not located in an earthquake zone. The nearest earthquake fault zone is located in Sumatra, more than 400 kilometres away. Over such a long distance, the seismic waves would have dissipated and lost most of their energy. Nevertheless, our buildings are designed to be sufficiently robust to withstand forces generated by distant earthquakes. For example, while tremors from the magnitude 9 earthquake in Aceh in 2004 could be felt in Singapore, there were no reports of structural damage to our buildings.
So the hdb so call bom shelter is fake or really so satki can withstand ww3?

titusilvering

To withstand earthquakes builders should use high quality reinforced concrete that is reinforced with carbon steel. Correct?
The tw news expert say look at the 钢筋 like 没有绑钢筋。so what by right must tied up then pour concrete i think something like that

Roughice

Singapore has 0% chance of having earthquake... No point spend extra to solve a problem that doesn't exist

titusilvering

Should be like this?
I also don't know but they say because never tied so during quake and collapse time the metal become like all 散开来。because no support mah. I guess the logic is same chop stick. If you bind many together its hard to break. But if no bind then they all split up and break individually

They say save time and cost maybe.

That construction company is famous for haolian can build finish a tall building in 2 years one.

titusilvering

Now our hdb many is prefab stack up same logo. So will break during quake?

When we small time we also play lego build tall tall but one point of the tall lego will break into half..

Unic0rn

I also don't know but they say because never tied so during quake and collapse time the metal become like all 散开来。because no support mah. I guess the logic is same chop stick. If you bind many together its hard to break. But if no bind then they all split up and break individually

They say save time and cost maybe.

That construction company is famous for haolian can build finish a tall building in 2 years one.
OMG 😱 each of these reinforced carbon steel that touch each other their cross section has to be welded together and then tied together using steel wires as a secondary support
pt41756182-low_carbon_steel_6_ft_welded_wire_fencing_panels_concrete_reinforcing_for_construction.jpg

Unic0rn

In construction 🚧 business, there is two factors
1. Material 🏗️
2. Manpower 🦺
If you have all the necessary materials ready on-site and have the manpower, is possible to build one level per day. I’d say if need say example 200 men to build one story per day, if you can supply 400 men will be even faster!

sizzy6

verify what?

those jlb want even wanna get out of their air con room

contractor can clear a whole piece of forest and they dont know anything until much later.. and not like the thing happen overnight

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.