If u got 100k cash

Emo_Rhino

Use this cash plus cpf to buy a small property to rent out or buy a portfolio of dividend stocks get 4-5% yield better?

wahkao3

i would choose the lower risk, higher return option
if the property can fetch higher return at lower risk compared to the stocks, go for the property
else, go for the stocks

Obama486

100k how to buy property in SG?

can buy reits if you want, u indirectly also own those assets

reits still averaging yielding 6%, not bad

commerical, retail, industrial, hospitality~ u can slowly pick hahahaha

wahkao3

yes this is good alternative for ppl who want property

REITs' income are not taxed
Property's rental income are taxed

my advise is dont bother with REITs because REITs are fairly price.
in investment, we dont buy assets at fair price, we buy at undervalued price

Emo_Rhino

100k cash plus whatever cpf is downpayment of course

Emo_Rhino

i would choose the lower risk, higher return option
if the property can fetch higher return at lower risk compared to the stocks, go for the property
else, go for the stocks

Cos everyone keep saying property mkt like shiet nowadays, i rem buffet say buy when others r fearful wor..... N have a feeling pap will u turn housing policy after election...

wahkao3

Cos everyone keep saying property mkt like shiet nowadays, i rem buffet say buy when others r fearful wor..... N have a feeling pap will u turn housing policy after election...
yessss

2015 Jan-Some SGX property stocks present good value now

There are some good cheap SGX property stocks right now and they are good value. This is because of the cooling measure, prices came down and you have a golden opportunity to pick them up on the cheap :o

but REITs are not good value. They are fairly priced. in investment, we dont buy assets at fair price, we buy assets are undervalue. So REITs dont present good value

as usual, i can be wrong, so do your own homework! Dont follow my tips blindly

Source:2015 Jan-Some SGX property stocks present good value now

Obama486

Rent leh plus capital appreciation, next time if got girl like me can get married can stay there also

but if u take loan, its a lot of debt

u will be highly geared

if u lose your job and unable to pay the monthly installment, GG

direbmem

U mean buy resale HDB ?
For investment, stocks of course, can diversify your 100K, more liquid.
Dont limit to property stocks and dont rush. Slowly take your pick

PostCountWarrior[+1]

focus1974

If you want instant cash quarterly.. then dividends is the way to go

if you want to be at least a quarter-million richer in 10yrs time, then go for property.
Property is a game where you ask someone to pay your installment while you wait for the property price to appreciate.

If you can do both.. then shiok shiok! :)
I'm doing both... shiok shiok.

Majestic12

Have you calculated the current nett rental yields based on the present price of residential property in general?

If not then don't have to waste your time - I have a bottle of unicorn tears guaranteed to cure cancer. Will sell to you because I am being magnanimous.

Obama486

if you want to be at least a quarter-million richer in 10yrs time, then go for property.
Property is a game where you ask someone to pay your installment while you wait for the property price to appreciate.

can buy reits also right? or property counters....?

Majestic12

You do realise that zero interest rate policy has brought forth the returns of the future to the present time yes?

If not I have a bottle of unicorn...

Obama486

leverage got good got bad, can enhance your returns or make u lose alot.

if rent > mortgage payment + whatever expenses, maybe can consider.

Blackstone buying singapore property now too.

http://www.bloomberg.com/news/artic...e-property-bet-seen-winning-as-elections-loom

if u really like to leverage, can use margin account to buy reits
leverage on top of leverage

if u really really like leverage, can use margin account to buy leverage 2x or 3x reits ETFs

if u super like leverage
max credit card and any unsecured borrowing, use margin account to whack leveraged reits etf

if wanna god like leverage

borrow max credit card and from ah long, buy REITS futures...

for your 100k cash, can own multi million dollars worth of property... LOL

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.