iFi Audio Appreciation Thread

TeamStereo

It can be used but like David_Can mentioned there might be channel imbalance or earphones due to the sensitivity of earphones. =)

TeamStereo

Was there during 9pm to try out the IFI Idac with IUSB. I used my own IEMs. The bass was damn bloody solid on my Sony XBA4IP. Too solid till I still can't forget now. Die, I think I kanna poison liao.. If don't buy maybe cannot sleep. I'll like to ask if there's a good package deal for IDAC with IUSB? I didn't see any for this combo that I'm interested in. Was thinking of using the IUSB with my incoming NAD M51 dac too. If have I might whack together before recuperating from my recent spending spree...:D

Btw, I was at the PS branch. Very good service from the staff there. Although I did not buy anything, the guy was still maintained a very good attitude and service. Many Thanks & Thumbs Up!
Thanks for the feedback! You got pm for the promo =)

I'm using an iBasso D7 with HD650 now, while I don't find it lacking I also think it can be further improved. I have little experience in desktop rigs since I mostly use IEM in the past, can I pair the iCan with the D7 and use the D7 purely as dac or will I be better off just getting the iDac first then consider the iCan if I still find it lacking? :o
You can get the iDAC first then the iCAN but it depends on yourself in the end as David_Can mentioned. =) You can use the D7 still purely as a DAC while using the iCAN but can bring it to our store to compare since its portable.

pikmin23

I had a D7 for my computer rig until one channel fail recently.

Yes you can use your D7 as a DAC and iFi iCan as a headphone amp. As for whether you should get the iCan/D7 or just the iDac, that's a tough question to answer for you. It will be a matter of the HD650 benefiting more from the iCan's amplification or the improved sound signature from the iDac's DAC section. IMHO, the iCan amp is much much more superior than the iDac.

If it helps, the iFi full combo should be miles ahead better. :D:s13:

If it doesn't help, a trip down Stereo to audition is inevitable. ;)

hi do you think the full set will be worth the money compared to maybe the vioelectric stuff?

David_Can

hi do you think the full set will be worth the money compared to maybe the vioelectric stuff?

I have yet to try any of the Vioelectric amps yet but from reviews at head-fi they seem to be more of a warm sounding amp which suits very particular headphones like HD800, T70,90 etc. I tend to avoid such amps which reminded me of my previous setup, the Yamamoto HA02 which was a heavenly match with the Audio Technica W1000. The problem was it either only match one headphone or a typical sounding headphones which limits the choices. The DAC option from Vioelectric is 24/96 which I think seriously needs an upgrade but if you don't do HD tracks then isn't much an issue. No mention of whether the USB is asynchronous.

I was looking at the V200 last year because the high damping caught my eye but as I continue reading the comments I decided to give it a miss.

However if someone sells them in Singapore, auditioning with your headphone/s is the key.

iFi full set is only less than 1k SGD, asynchronous USB, 24/192 Ess Sabre chip, pure class A amplification, USB power regulator, got local warranty plus can audition before purchase.... for me is a no brainer.

Shadow04

I had a D7 for my computer rig until one channel fail recently.

Yes you can use your D7 as a DAC and iFi iCan as a headphone amp. As for whether you should get the iCan/D7 or just the iDac, that's a tough question to answer for you. It will be a matter of the HD650 benefiting more from the iCan's amplification or the improved sound signature from the iDac's DAC section. IMHO, the iCan amp is much much more superior than the iDac.

If it helps, the iFi full combo should be miles ahead better. :D:s13:

If it doesn't help, a trip down Stereo to audition is inevitable. ;)

Wah, fellow D7 user, can I just ask in your opinion(or memory) is the iDac miles better than the D7 or marginal. :o

Without auditioning, I'm leaning towards getting an iCan and use my D7 as dac to save myself some money. Prolly still gonna need to find time and head down to Stereo some time. :(

David_Can

Wah, fellow D7 user, can I just ask in your opinion(or memory) is the iDac miles better than the D7 or marginal. :o

Without auditioning, I'm leaning towards getting an iCan and use my D7 as dac to save myself some money. Prolly still gonna need to find time and head down to Stereo some time. :(

The iBasso D7 is a great DAC/Amp combo IMO and I had enjoyed it's company when it was still working. Size was something I prefer over the iFi although it kept showing "insufficient to power the D7" sometimes when I connect to my iMac which I suspect the iUSB might help.

I can't remember a lot (don't think anyone can since our memory for audio is very short term) however in general, I find the iDAC as a DAC more enjoyable to listen to.

iCAN on the other hand is a no brainer.

pikmin23

anyone have any comparison between the idac and the odac? Thinking of either getting my upgrading my odac to idac or get the iusb for my odac.

Currently, my rig is odac+o2 amp+ Hd600/ modded Fostex t50 rp. Thinking of getting Audeze LCD 2 in the near future. :)

yea i tried it out I can vouch for it that it sounds very close to the 02+odac as mentioned by clieos.

But it sounds abit strange with LCD-2 I feel. The bass seems abit muddy and the treble is not there. which is strange given that the bass of LCD-2 is universally praised. :s11: maybe i will go down to have a try again.

David_Can

yea i tried it out I can vouch for it that it sounds very close to the 02+odac as mentioned by clieos.

But it sounds abit strange with LCD-2 I feel. The bass seems abit muddy and the treble is not there. which is strange given that the bass of LCD-2 is universally praised. :s11: maybe i will go down to have a try again.

The Audeze LCD2 being a planar magnetic headphone does do bass better than dynamic IMO due to the amount of air is can push and the light weight nature of the diaphragm. Coming from dynamic driver headphones, some might need "time" to get accustom to the presentation. LCD2 is generally a darker sounding can with a fair amount of bass, the treble is there but comparing to LCD3 or some dynamic headphones like HD800 might not be as extended.

When auditoning with the iCan, remember to select the switches to unity so you will not be hearing the additional bass enhancement.

dancingqueen

I'm using an iBasso D7 with HD650 now, while I don't find it lacking I also think it can be further improved. I have little experience in desktop rigs since I mostly use IEM in the past, can I pair the iCan with the D7 and use the D7 purely as dac or will I be better off just getting the iDac first then consider the iCan if I still find it lacking? :o

You guys are lucky getting the IFI at a lower price now. My friend bought the iDAC & iUSB at the previous distributor Audio Note at The Adelphi a couple of months back, now squeezing balls already:D

Anyway, he's using the iDAC & iUSB with his HD650 & Beyer DT990 250 ohms. He's still loving every minute of his over priced toy.:s13:

Best to always audition for yourself if it impresses you. But don't kanna poison... This is a never ending road.:s16:

alamakazim

audio note too ex... I probably will buy from china or hong kong

but now stereo price is comparable to the chinese price :) with warranty too :s8:

lucky I waited and still can use ns voucher

BlackOpal

Haha..I don't know about that cos I'm short of the iUSB:D Just hooted the iCan+iDAC package from Stereo. Was considering to get the iUSB together but better wait around first, who knows next month got special..:s8:

alamakazim

Haha..I don't know about that cos I'm short of the iUSB:D Just hooted the iCan+iDAC package from Stereo. Was considering to get the iUSB together but better wait around first, who knows next month got special..:s8:

now already got special liao... free headphone for ican+idac or 5% discount

see the previous pages

Shadow04

but now stereo price is comparable to the chinese price :) with warranty too :s8:

:eek: Can use NS voucher ah? Mai tu liao, really need to find time to drop by liao. :o

dancingqueen

I didn't know Stereo accept NS45 vouchers. That's a plus point but I hope I'm not going to spend all my vouchers there. I should have more than what I need from them. Time to take a break although I know it will not be for long =:p

FatalethaL

I didn't know Stereo accept NS45 vouchers. That's a plus point but I hope I'm not going to spend all my vouchers there. I should have more than what I need from them. Time to take a break although I know it will not be for long =:p

IIRC they dun accept NS45 voucher; instead u need to go to customer service counter to convert/exchange ur NS45 voucher to capitaland vouchers.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.