iFi Audio Appreciation Thread

David_Can

ican will only come into play if you find the power of the idac lacking in anyway. therefore, invest in the idac first then consider the ican.

The iCan is not only more powerful compared to the iDac from what I read but also run on Class A circuitry blending JFet,Bipolar and transistors, if true it should run slightly warm and sound reasonably good. (Need to audition to know...)

Another reason I would prefer the iCan to drive my headphones is because it has a 1/4" jack rather than the 3.5mm on the iDac.

For me, I like the idea of the iCan having the bass and 3D switch which unless they screws up the sound big time, can be an interesting function.

BlackOpal

Its for my Grado GS1000. Currently switching between iBasso Pelican and Pico amp. Dun really bring them out nowadays so backside itchy wanna change to desktop amp:D

John010

Its for my Grado GS1000. Currently switching between iBasso Pelican and Pico amp. Dun really bring them out nowadays so backside itchy wanna change to desktop amp:D

Your Grado definitely deserve a better amp.... and you bring GS1000 out?! :eek:

BlackOpal

Your Grado definitely deserve a better amp.... and you bring GS1000 out?! :eek:

Lol..nopes, for portable I have a Westone um2 and beyer T50p and recently just hoot a Vmoda M100 from Stereo:D The Grado for all things audiophile, T50p and um2 is decent for generally pop and rock music and now the M100 for electro and trance..pretty much covers everthing;)

rickysio

iDac output power also limited. Since USB 5V 1A, technically can 5W output, but there are limitations... (Specced at ~150mW at 15Ohms for iDac)

David_Can

I tried them early this year IIRC (or was it last year), cheapish feeling metal but is metal.

Sound wise can't recall much liao.

Well, for an electronic packed with stuffs inside at $300plus, what are you expecting?

I was holding them at the Japan show recently and they don't feel "cheapish" to me, in fact I personally thought it was quite well built. But when they are available for audition, I'm sure others can confirm that.

alamakazim

Is too light to be a desktop amp, they dont stack well on each other

Texture is good lah

Tried them at last year hifi show and this year mini meet with rickysio

David_Can

Is too light to be a desktop amp, they dont stack well on each other

Texture is good lah

Tried them at last year hifi show and this year mini meet with rickysio

That's true, first time I saw and thought is was a transportable amp like the Lisa III.

Shouldn't stack them ba, side by side better? Interference?

TeamStereo

TeamStereo

I'm looking at the ican amp but read that the idac can be used as as an amp as well. If my source is mainly laptop and ipod, which should i be getting?
Yes as someone mentioned can get the iDAC and see if it works well for you. =)

The iCan is not only more powerful compared to the iDac from what I read but also run on Class A circuitry blending JFet,Bipolar and transistors, if true it should run slightly warm and sound reasonably good. (Need to audition to know...)

Another reason I would prefer the iCan to drive my headphones is because it has a 1/4" jack rather than the 3.5mm on the iDac.

For me, I like the idea of the iCan having the bass and 3D switch which unless they screws up the sound big time, can be an interesting function.
Yes that's right, they run on Class A circuitry too. You will feel that its constantly slightly warm as compared to the other iDAC.

kenz

I'm looking at the ican amp but read that the idac can be used as as an amp as well. If my source is mainly laptop and ipod, which should i be getting?

Best head down to Stereo to test and get advice :D

schaffhauser

I tried them early this year IIRC (or was it last year), cheapish feeling metal but is metal.

Sound wise can't recall much liao.

Didn't feel it was cheap though. In fact I felt that it is quite well built. Just my 2 cents.

Unfortunately, an uncle was taking a long time auditioning and I couldn't wait, especially with my girlfriend beside me.... :(

I will strongly recommend Stereo to have more than one demo unit so as to minimize the waiting time. :( probably need to find time to make a 2nd trip.

rickysio

I didn't say the build was cheap, was aiming the cheap comment at the surface finish + WOTs actually...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.