I'm a teacher and a parent and honestly, i cant deny there is indeed a difference in a normal neighbourhood sch, 'popular' sch and 'branded’ sch

Taloona

yes n no. the system don't like to rock the boat. Teachers who do right by students dpnt do well with their KPI and performance. and probably given more tasks
That is another issue altogether. Totally agree. My spouse's ex colleague in a neighbourhood school went all the way out to build rapport with his students who came from very complicated family background. This came at the expense of his own personal time. Did his RO know? No. Was what he did measurable? No. Whereas those teachers who sat in many committees and held high profile projects were promoted very quickly.

cute_togepi

Top school has its own issues too. Know of a girl who studied in a top school in JC. She told me one of her classmates, who was very bright and aced all her exams, had some health issues. When the rest of the class heard about it, they cheered and wished for her downfall so that there is one less competition for them for govt scholarship! She stood by this classmate as the classmate underwent treatment. Today, this classmate is doing very well in her career.

It can be that cruel. If your child cannot handle the emotional toxicity, it can be disastrous.
Now imagine your gahmen scholars are like that, now we understand why the gahmen is so apathetic to sinkies phlight, they lack any humanity at all.

CanIsayNo

On the other hand, my hubby, went to a branded pri sch but got 20 points less than me in PSLE despite having a mom was an ex-teacher and even had tuitions. So really depends on the kids' abilities.
wonder why she had to bring up this point. lol

wahkau

Paging moderators to close this thread. Our PM Lawrence Wong is from neighborhood school. If the child behkan, is the child problem. Do not make the child problem go be the gov problem

SkyNinja

Even if u go into a very good secondary school, if you don't do well for Os, also can't go JC or Poly. So it still boils down to the student

Mountainnodew

Your boss won’t say … hey RI boy or Hwa Chong girl when they work as interns. Or even NUS girl or NTU boy… whoever gets his approval is how they perform at work, how they bring in the bacon or even increase the profits. Nowadays everyone is equal at work because they comes from different schools, different countries, have a different set of working experience and skill.

DopamineRush

branded schs got $$ and atas events, parents super kan chiong, kids siao competitive. Neighbourhood schs, teachers do everything themselves. DSA? Branded kids got trainers, others ownself teach ownself.

SkyNinja

I used to have a colleague who lives in a landed house in Bukit Timah. Husband is a doctor and businessman. One day, she asked me to help her think of a theme for her child's birthday party as she was running out of ideas. So I said, "How about an Oliver Twist theme? Everyone comes in old clothes and only plain porridge is served to experience what it is like to be poor and hungry?" She rolled her eyes at me! 😆

Guys, parentocracy is real.

How can be doctor and businessman at the same time? No longer a practitioner but hire junior doctors to run the clinic?

windwaver

That is another issue altogether. Totally agree. My spouse's ex colleague in a neighbourhood school went all the way out to build rapport with his students who came from very complicated family background. This came at the expense of his own personal time. Did his RO know? No. Was what he did measurable? No. Whereas those teachers who sat in many committees and held high profile projects were promoted very quickly.
Those that really can work no time to polish shoes.

CanIsayNo

every school is a good school because every school performs its functions.. some schools are there to groom future elites/leaders, some schools are there to groom the grunts of society, they perform their functions and perform it well, therefore, from govt pov, every school is a good school

CanIsayNo

another angle to look at is.. some kids are just not high performing, and forcing them into high ses school to mingle with high ses spawns doesnt help them if they feel they cannot fit in. they won't be happy and this impacts their lives. going to neighbourhood school may be better as the kids will fit in better and have a happier childhood.

Loving your child and loving the person who is your child are 2 different things.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.