IMH in ns

• Need help?
    Reach out to someone from Samaritans of Singapore (24 hours): Call 1-767 or WhatsApp 9151-1767 More info
    Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

Realhits45

I went to imh cause I couldn't take the things happening in my unit. I'm so drained and I feel so depressed to the point where I am not like my usual self. I feel so tired all the time.

My question is that I currently have a uni placing but since I got a referral from my camp MO to IMH, does that void my uni placing? I worry a lot about my future and repercussions that might happen but I had to request to go to IMH cause I'm not doing so good. Even have some thought about suicide.

Long story short, reason why I sound out was due to my superiors. Let's just say I've put up with them for 6 months and now comes the breaking point where I couldn't take it anymore.

Will my uni placing be voided? And I'm afraid of my future job prospects being a Ptagged. Please help

reddevil0728

I went to imh cause I couldn't take the things happening in my unit. I'm so drained and I feel so depressed to the point where I am not like my usual self. I feel so tired all the time.

My question is that I currently have a uni placing but since I got a referral from my camp MO to IMH, does that void my uni placing? I worry a lot about my future and repercussions that might happen but I had to request to go to IMH cause I'm not doing so good. Even have some thought about suicide.

Long story short, reason why I sound out was due to my superiors. Let's just say I've put up with them for 6 months and now comes the breaking point where I couldn't take it anymore.

Will my uni placing be voided? And I'm afraid of my future job prospects being a Ptagged. Please help
Lets backwards derive this for you.

So if say for example your uni place is voided and your future job prospects is affected.

Are you

1) gonna get yourself out of IMH?
2) force yourself to take it?

Nuclear Boy

To add on to reddevil's qns:

Same scenario

Your choice:
Mental health OR career?

If you wreck yourself in the process, you won't even get to the career stage.

Realhits45

To add on to reddevil's qns:

Same scenario

Your choice:
Mental health OR career?

If you wreck yourself in the process, you won't even get to the career stage.

Mental health is important but at the same time I wanted to sign on as a police officer but now that I have to think of my health first, that dream job is now gone thanks to a bunch of superiors

Realhits45

Lets backwards derive this for you.

So if say for example your uni place is voided and your future job prospects is affected.

Are you

1) gonna get yourself out of IMH?
2) force yourself to take it?

I'm not warded in imh. I went there to get help and they were nice to hear my story before writing a memo to my MO to review. Cause they saw the fear in my eye whenever I spoke of my superiors like I'm afraid doing things because of them to the point where small things can cause a big termoil in me

reddevil0728

Mental health is important but at the same time I wanted to sign on as a police officer but now that I have to think of my health first, that dream job is now gone thanks to a bunch of superiors

What makes you think you wouldn’t meet the same kind of superiors in the police force and anywhere else?

reddevil0728

I'm not warded in imh. I went there to get help and they were nice to hear my story before writing a memo to my MO to review. Cause they saw the fear in my eye whenever I spoke of my superiors like I'm afraid doing things because of them to the point where small things can cause a big termoil in me
then your record is there already what can you do?

Realhits45

What makes you think you wouldn’t meet the same kind of superiors in the police force and anywhere else?

Im not really sure but people in my unit expect way too much for one guy to do everything and when I do, I still get slated for my job. I have sleep problem where im struggling to stay awake on my job. I wake up tired and yet I get all sorts of rubbish thrown at me be it from upper and lower.

I understand what you're trying to say but I have no choice but to comply cause I'm within the jurisdiction of the army and their law. If say I was in a company with bad bosses, I would have tender my resignation if I abused to the point where my mental health is declining.

Realhits45

then your record is there already what can you do?

I just want to know if uni placing voided because of the record? I couldn't careless if I regret going to imh because this is a matter of mental health and the doctors there are concerned of my well being. Even friends and family told me to be brave and embrace this fault that I have. I'm okay being ptagged. My question is simple, will my uni placing be voided? Will my job prospects in the future diminish? If yes, then I will have to find a job or uni elsewhere. I don't blame the organization, i blame the people behind the gun. If they gave me a new environment, new superior maybe nicer once, I would gladly do my job deligently

reddevil0728

Im not really sure but people in my unit expect way too much for one guy to do everything and when I do, I still get slated for my job. I have sleep problem where im struggling to stay awake on my job. I wake up tired and yet I get all sorts of rubbish thrown at me be it from upper and lower.

I understand what you're trying to say but I have no choice but to comply cause I'm within the jurisdiction of the army and their law. If say I was in a company with bad bosses, I would have tender my resignation if I abused to the point where my mental health is declining.
What makes you think that is not normal?

Yep agreed. but now we are talking about police force. Btw what's your current PES?

I just want to know if uni placing voided because of the record? I couldn't careless if I regret going to imh because this is a matter of mental health and the doctors there are concerned of my well being. Even friends and family told me to be brave and embrace this fault that I have. I'm okay being ptagged. My question is simple, will my uni placing be voided? Will my job prospects in the future diminish? If yes, then I will have to find a job or uni elsewhere. I don't blame the organization, i blame the people behind the gun. If they gave me a new environment, new superior maybe nicer once, I would gladly do my job deligently

Do we represent your uni? Why don't you ask your uni?

Are we your future employers? If not ask your future employers.

Realhits45

What makes you think that is not normal?

Yep agreed. but now we are talking about police force. Btw what's your current PES?

Do we represent your uni? Why don't you ask your uni?

Are we your future employers? If not ask your future employers.

PES fit b1l1. I'm not looking to geng. I just want to get the appropriate help

reddevil0728

PES fit b1l1. I'm not looking to geng. I just want to get the appropriate help
I am not saying you are trying to keng. i am just scratching my mind wondering why you think you can tahan the stress in police force but not in SAF? Are you the only person in your unit doing the same thing as you are doing now?

Your appropriate help is to seek treatment. without seeking treatment, doesn't matter whether you still got uni placing or not, doesn't matter whether u get a job next time or not. you wouldn't reach that stage cause you said you thinking of suicide.

Realhits45

I am not saying you are trying to keng. i am just scratching my mind wondering why you think you can tahan the stress in police force but not in SAF? Are you the only person in your unit doing the same thing as you are doing now?

Your appropriate help is to seek treatment. without seeking treatment, doesn't matter whether you still got uni placing or not, doesn't matter whether u get a job next time or not. you wouldn't reach that stage cause you said you thinking of suicide.

Let's just say my unit got many case go under table or things wasn't as open as it was but now not so much. If my superiors we're bad in police. The same, I would tender my resignation. It's simple. I save my time and effort. But that isn't ns. So my obligations is to the organization that I'm drafted to. If I were to sign on within my own will and to be subjected to such extremities like the one I'm now then that is of my own choice and actions.

I can't do so freely while I'm serving my ns. I'm bounded rules and regulations placed as an nsf as apposed to being a regular. You can try as much as you want to align such coincidence regarding my future bosses and my current superior but the fact is your explanation is based solely on chances and not from a statistics point of view.

Through heuristic time in the saf, I've concluded that many if not all nsf share the same views as I do. The culture is unpleasant but bareable enough to finish your 2 years. Some are unlucky to derive out of the years unscratched or untouched. There's surely bound to be things that happen along the way to cause such hurt and grieve towards the unlucky party.

So no, I don't see your point in comparing what life is out there and life is in here because at the end of the day, to each experience of their own. What we can do be it for me or anyone out there who are in the same position as I do or worse, is to try and put yourself in their shoes.

It's not easy to type it out, albeit to even say it out. It just so happens that our small measly lives are being ridiculed by the very same people who promised our parents that we are well taken off. The crude satire seems to be directed to the people who themselves have gone through the same punishment but choose not to utter a single word in fear of getting chastise

Realhits45

If u study and work overseas, how will they find out about ur ns ptagged records?

Like the FTs that swamp in to Singapore, we dun know who they are in their home countries

Just seek treatment, you will be glad that Mindef absorb you of 10 ICTs because u cannot handle it mentally.
Thank you. Finally someone who actually gave me a proper answer to my query. If I happen to drop pes or get ptaged so be it. People on here are quick to judge me on working outside the boundaries of the military law. At least I made myself a choice rather than sticking it up someone's end and say,"I'm all good sir, ready to go as your wish is my command sir."

reddevil0728

Let's just say my unit got many case go under table or things wasn't as open as it was but now not so much. If my superiors we're bad in police. The same, I would tender my resignation. It's simple. I save my time and effort. But that isn't ns. So my obligations is to the organization that I'm drafted to. If I were to sign on within my own will and to be subjected to such extremities like the one I'm now then that is of my own choice and actions.

I can't do so freely while I'm serving my ns. I'm bounded rules and regulations placed as an nsf as apposed to being a regular. You can try as much as you want to align such coincidence regarding my future bosses and my current superior but the fact is your explanation is based solely on chances and not from a statistics point of view.

Through heuristic time in the saf, I've concluded that many if not all nsf share the same views as I do. The culture is unpleasant but bareable enough to finish your 2 years. Some are unlucky to derive out of the years unscratched or untouched. There's surely bound to be things that happen along the way to cause such hurt and grieve towards the unlucky party.

So no, I don't see your point in comparing what life is out there and life is in here because at the end of the day, to each experience of their own. What we can do be it for me or anyone out there who are in the same position as I do or worse, is to try and put yourself in their shoes.

It's not easy to type it out, albeit to even say it out. It just so happens that our small measly lives are being ridiculed by the very same people who promised our parents that we are well taken off. The crude satire seems to be directed to the people who themselves have gone through the same punishment but choose not to utter a single word in fear of getting chastise
You are thinking too much and not thinking the right thing.

My point is, why you think you can tahan the stress in police force but not in SAF? Regardless of examples that you have experienced, in fact doesn't matter whether if it is police force or elsewhere. I am talking about the ability to handle stress. Are you saying that in police force, since you can quit, you wouldn't be stress? Or are you saying that even in police force, you can be stress, but you can choose to quit.

Thank you. Finally someone who actually gave me a proper answer to my query. If I happen to drop pes or get ptaged so be it. People on here are quick to judge me on working outside the boundaries of the military law. At least I made myself a choice rather than sticking it up someone's end and say,"I'm all good sir, ready to go as your wish is my command sir."

How do you know is a proper answer? Have you tested it out yourself to be able to verified that and not just some sweeping statement (which it seems you are basing your conclusion on) from someone on the internet?

Realhits45

You are thinking too much and not thinking the right thing.

My point is, why you think you can tahan the stress in police force but not in SAF? Regardless of examples that you have experienced, in fact doesn't matter whether if it is police force or elsewhere. I am talking about the ability to handle stress. Are you saying that in police force, since you can quit, you wouldn't be stress? Or are you saying that even in police force, you can be stress, but you can choose to quit.

How do you know is a proper answer? Have you tested it out yourself to be able to verified that and not just some sweeping statement (which it seems you are basing your conclusion on) from someone on the internet?

Like I said, it's based on chances. From a statistics point of view, things don't look good for saf side

Realhits45

Aiyah u got time surf hardwarezone is quite good liao

Tiagong from my pengyou at smoking corner, last time when he serve, sibei pai mia~ one, knn he officer 2LT still kena bully and dio jiak by regular

Got one time during Regimental Duty, he DO for Saturday...but regular ask him cover for Friday. Then Sunday handing over time the regular still book in late!!

He such a nice guy also dio jiak till buey lun, write one long email shoot to Chief of Army and Defence Force, cos his unit say cannot call SAF hotline. He feedback CO that jiak liao bee also cover the regular.

Seen this so many times. Cause regular know about promotion. Usually you see they get in trouble is from nsf to regular not regular to regular

lidocaine

If I remember correctly, you cannot be P-tagged and be B1L1 at the same time. Need to be at least Pes C and lower.

My stint in NS required me to handle interview documents of every recruit in my platoon. There P1, P2, P3, P4 and P5... P1 and P2 is P-tag. P1 is for the most serious issues, P5 least serious. There's also another type of tagging known as the R-Tag.

If you feel the need to speak with somebody, feel free to PM me. I can speak to my buddy who is a medical officer.

Meanwhile do your best in NS... Don't give up...

japhwf

You're not likely to get P-tagged (perpetually) unless you end up with a confirmed diagnosis.

One visit to the IMH A&E is probably too brief for them to arrive at any and it is uncommon to finalize your condition there and then unless you already have a significant and relevant history (under a related professional such as a clinical psychologist or a certified counsellor), or were exhibiting abnormal behaviour and got bundled there in a hurry by ambulance, law-enforcement, concerned family, or got a P1 evaluation from the MO (which IIRC he/she is duty bound to get you to IMH immediately), etc.

Even then, not many psychiatrists would be willing to put their stamp on a diagnosis before sufficient observation and follow-up. Many psychiatric disorders do share a number of symptoms and some differ by only one or two.

Your uni placement will not be voided outright just because you went to IMH. However your admission or continued studies can be affected if you are not of mentally stable condition at the time as certified by your psychiatrist (if you were put on follow-up appointments and not discharged, that is). The uni would probably ask for a memo from your shrink for clearance if that happens.

Same goes for your future job but it would also depend on how it can be affected, or affect, your condition (if any is diagnosed). Your doctor's opinion will again play a role in this unless you plan not to disclose your history.

From what you have said it sounds more like a situational stress-related coping reaction and may not necessarily be a psychiatric issue (I can be wrong, your shrink has the final say).

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.