Inheriting HDB from parents

shaff12

Any expert can help provide some advice please?
What happens to the HDB if both the joint owners (married couple) are both dead?
The HDB goes automatically to their children?
The whole process of inheritance will take a long time? While the process is ongoing, can the children live in the HDB in the meanwhile? Or while the process is ongoing, the HDB cannot be occupied by anyone who has no legal ownership to it yet?

EdenHazard

does it make sense that hdb cannot be occupied in the interim? what if got unmarried kid staying with the two dead parents? need to vacate?

coyote

What happens to the HDB if both the joint owners (married couple) are both dead?
The whole process of inheritance will take a long time? While the process is ongoing, can the children live in the HDB in the meanwhile? Or while the process is ongoing, the HDB cannot be occupied by anyone who has no legal ownership to it yet?

Call HDB la...

Prof. Utonium

Depends on the will.

If none, then according to intestate law. So in this case should be the children.

Can stay in hdb as per normal.

If no will then getting the required documents and going through the process can be 6 to 12 months.

winningeleven

Those unmarried children and don't have their own home how ? Hdb won't chase them out lah.

My father passed away and left my mother as the only owner and after that she passed on . As my elder brother was the only one not married , he inherited my parents hdb flat . As me and my other siblings already married and owned the hdb. Of cos my relationship with elder brother are ok we let him have the whole parent flat

By right . Unmarried children should discuss among themselves and the best solution is sell the house and spilt into equal share and everyone get their own home.

sickoflife

If joint tenancy, then go to remaining owner.

If common, then need to change title deed. Hdb I believe is super straight forward compared to private in changing title deed. They got in house legal team to do for u.

If remaining owner dies, auto goes to children. U get to choose if joint or common in new deed.

but u cannot own 2 hdb hor. Need to fire sale lol

menthol28

My grandparents left their HDB flat to my mother, my mother herself has a HDB unit and has to sell the inherited flat within 6 months.

Joseph12

Joint tenancy means go to surviving spouse

When that dies will go according to will or the law
Yes you are right the Mayor and Sheriff will come when the final one dies and put tape on door and windows . You can sleep in void deck in the meantime

Laneige

Those unmarried children and don't have their own home how ? Hdb won't chase them out lah.

My father passed away and left my mother as the only owner and after that she passed on . As my elder brother was the only one not married , he inherited my parents hdb flat . As me and my other siblings already married and owned the hdb. Of cos my relationship with elder brother are ok we let him have the whole parent flat

By right . Unmarried children should discuss among themselves and the best solution is sell the house and spilt into equal share and everyone get their own home.
yes by right the one not married or choose to be char siew by leeching (diff from another kind that is to take care of parents). 1 is treat house liked hotel, another is take care of parents, give allowance, cover electricity etc
if the char siew, best to split among the siblings but can the char siew takes it or not?

the char siew might think its ok or others r cruel for chasing him out while they have their own places but char siew knows their finances? if house sell then can split fairly among all siblings.
imagine char siew 1 person takes up a 3-5room unit
then go rent out n earn income n put in own pocket

if its the latter case, then the siblings shld ask themselves if its fair for the one taking care of parents right to the end to continue staying in the house n get the house as his asset.
if next time he sells and house fetch high prices, how or what r they going to do etc
all this better be upfront n discuss. and once discussed liao, dont regret etc. means if prices go up then u say ppl keep = he keep everything.

harky

Can I get my mom write a will?

House left to my char siew DiDi but if he sell.. Need to spit money.

1982-1994

Then where do all stay at after splitting the shares?

groo-the-wanderer

Can stay. In fact, S&CC is higher if empty.
If got will, the inheritance shud take about 4 months.
If no will, longer
If will got contested, can be up to 2 yrs.

Duncallmebro

If one sibling is taking over the whole flat, need to do paperwork and/or buy over the other portion?

user2024

I think the flat will be pass down to the children n if one of the siblings is gg thru divorce, better let the other siblings take over before it becomes an matrimonial asset n split between his ex spouse right?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.