Installing Fibre Terminal Point inside Utility Room

Hafi

hmm the question is though..
Am I able to drill holes through the beams?
I did contacted and confirmed with Netlink that they can install the FTP inside the utility room.
But thats only surface drilling to install the switch/plug
Drilling thoroughly through is another question.
Duno if HDB will come after me..
HIP contractors also like that drill through one... better confirm with Netlink the actual cost first, if they quote you ok with the installation price then it is their responsibility to carry out the job no matter how tough or how many beams they have to drill.

Liang32

HIP contractors also like that drill through one... better confirm with Netlink the actual cost first, if they quote you ok with the installation price then it is their responsibility to carry out the job no matter how tough or how many beams they have to drill.

they quoted me like this.

1st FTP free by Netlink
2nd FTP by my ISP (I’m guessing $162 as per the norm?)

but I blur how come 1st is by them, shouldn’t it be by my ISP 1st?
Then if I need to add a 2nd FTP then will be by them.

very confusing all these networking sh!t lol

Hafi

they quoted me like this.

1st FTP free by Netlink

but I blur how come 1st is by them, shouldn’t it be by my ISP 1st?
Then if I need to add a 2nd FTP then will be by them.

very confusing all these networking sh!t lol
I know why you are confused. I presumed you already have an existing FTP point somewhere at the living room as marked in red?

Now you want another (2nd) FTP in the utility room? It doesn't work this way cos you'll have to subscribe to 2 different ISPs for Fibre service to service both the FTP points... they are separated and cannot be served by a single ISP.

1) If you want Internet access in your living rm as well, you cannot relocate your existing FTP to your utility rm as you'll still need to run CAT cablings back to the living rm so LPPL.
2) If you want internet access in your living room + utility rm, you'll have to lay CAT cable to your utility rm (as many others above have stated) and leave your existng FTP intact.
3) If you want 2 FTP points in your living rm and your utility rm for internet access, you'll have to subscribe to 2 separate different ISPs

I think 3) is not your intended purpose as you have the misconception that you can run 2 FTP points off one ISP fibre service (which cannot be done).

Your only solution is 2).

loganrunning

I did contacted and confirmed with Netlink that they can install the FTP inside the utility room.

if the entire internal wall to the utility room is column and beam, by right not allowed to drill thru.

one way is to drill thru door frame.

limck

many years ago
Mine is a very old resale flat, 1973.
So inside is totally no points de.
maybe your MUP was done in the late 90s hence no additional points? my parents' place is 1974 and MUP was around 2001/2002. there was a new power point, SVC point and telephone point installed next to the door to the utility room.
if you've not taken over the flat maybe go down to take a look again to confirm?

limck

it's not allowed to drill through the beams and columns

Liang32

I know why you are confused. I presumed you already have an existing FTP point somewhere at the living room as marked in red?

Now you want another (2nd) FTP in the utility room? It doesn't work this way cos you'll have to subscribe to 2 different ISPs for Fibre service to service both the FTP points... they are separated and cannot be served by a single ISP.

1) If you want Internet access in your living rm as well, you cannot relocate your existing FTP to your utility rm as you'll still need to run CAT cablings back to the living rm so LPPL.
2) If you want internet access in your living room + utility rm, you'll have to lay CAT cable to your utility rm (as many others above have stated) and leave your existng FTP intact.
3) If you want 2 FTP points in your living rm and your utility rm for internet access, you'll have to subscribe to 2 separate different ISPs

I think 3) is not your intended purpose as you have the misconception that you can run 2 FTP points off one ISP fibre service (which cannot be done).

Your only solution is 2).

Nope sir
I do not have an existing FTP at all.
I juz got Netlink to come install the FTP inside my utility room.
And ran a cable thru my door frame and trunking all the way to the front of my flat.
And thanks so much for the clarification bro, I really did thought that by having 2x FTPs, I could use one single ISP.
My misconception is becoz I plan to get the 1+1gbps mesh wifi plan, I thought I could dedicate 1gb to utility room, 1gb to the 2nd FTP I planned to install at living room,

But apparently I cant like u said 😅
If I install 2 FTPs, means I need 2 different ISPs
Kinda boliao for a 3rm flat lol..

Liang32

maybe your MUP was done in the late 90s hence no additional points? my parents' place is 1974 and MUP was around 2001/2002. there was a new power point, SVC point and telephone point installed next to the door to the utility room.
if you've not taken over the flat maybe go down to take a look again to confirm?

almost finishing reno liao lol
Aiming to move in before 7th ghost door open

Hafi

Nope sir
And ran a cable thru my door frame and trunking all the way to the front of my flat.
And thanks so much for the clarification bro, I really did thought that by having 2x FTPs, I could use one single ISP.
My misconception is becoz I plan to get the 1+1gbps mesh wifi plan, I thought I could dedicate 1gb to utility room, 1gb to the 2nd FTP I planned to install at living room,

I am glad you sorted it out.

how much did the FTP installation inside utility room cost you?

firesong

Nope sir

That's why we suggested to run an Ethernet cable instead, so you don't need two internet services.

Since you have made a new hole for the fibre point, it might be possible to run an ethernet cable in parallel and terminate to its own faceplate. That will be helpful for you in future.

All the best! =)

sacredrays

The norm..
$162
cables didnt went more than 15m too..
heng ah
how come got installation charges? i thought you said first ftp by netlink is free and you don't have existing ftp.

1st FTP free by Netlink

Nope sir

Liang32

how come got installation charges? i thought you said first ftp by netlink is free and you don't have existing ftp.

I have no idea why also man
My wife chatted with the service operator thats what he say
Then when the thing came, I gotta pay $162
Then I also lazy to go ask back liao
Juz wanna faster get this over and done with

xonix

I have no idea why also man
My wife chatted with the service operator thats what he say
Then when the thing came, I gotta pay $162
Then I also lazy to go ask back liao
Juz wanna faster get this over and done with
Just drop netlink trust an email to find out the actual reason. Could be original TP was removed by previous owner ? Should have checked with telcos, some provide free tp installation for new sign ups.

firesong

Just drop netlink trust an email to find out the actual reason. Could be original TP was removed by previous owner ? Should have checked with telcos, some provide free tp installation for new sign ups.
The free point is usually tied to the free installation for first timers. ;) Got to read their T&C carefully.

There are some homes who rejected the FTP installation, so they qualify for free install. I've also seen some where they remove the FTP cos ugly, and they don't use. This is more common now, with some assuming they can live on mobile data.

alex22

They base on netlink records of installation.
If install before but ex owner or u reno damage or tear it down, u new fibre plan from isp is no count as new (home passed) status.

@Liang32 why the door frame corner canot drill.
Metal encase like bomb shelter? Cannot be right, utility room in 3a is not bomb shelter.

Talk cog la the helpdesk.
The infra is theirs, u home owner can tell them to do direct. They jus dun wan to do the liason with home owner but easy collect money do turnkey subcontractor jod, push u to ur isp while they easy bill the ISP

If u reno, u call nlt do wire the FTP in ur toilet also can.
There got water heater n light so just do, anyway u must sign off the wire plan drawing n wire run length rate before they work...

Edit - i wols lol u alr fixed it

alex22

Nope sir

Actually if u feel song, u can call NLT install 1 tp per room incl all toilet.
Serious.
Just pay install fee x tp qty + wire run rate.
This is inside the revised copif\ico rule

alex22

$150 i can buy my own drill and drill sia
Hahahaha
I ran white color flat cat6 from ont to router along ceiling trunking and end at router at another corner opposite side wall behind tv console.
Elbow grease , cable, incl double side tape about 20, and still hv alot slack at both ends

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.