Introducing Quick Dialer. Please support me!

nicefish

I've no knowledge of the JB world but was wondering if all the apps there FOC?

The developers there must simply be doing it out of the pure bliss of circumventing and outsmarting the great Apple machinery!

For $1.29 per track on iTunes, any idea how much goes to the artistes at the end of the day?

snipfer

For $1.29 per track on iTunes, any idea how much goes to the artistes at the end of the day?

after apple's com;

depends on what kind of artistes.... those new faces gets peanuts cos their label company SUP most of the earnings. Old horses might get more.

remember those days F4, 5566...they are just like bangla - first 2-5 yrs minimum salary.

CoffeeLover

one qns, the sms is set to the default sms izzit? possible in setting to allow user to choose which sms app to use coz i am currently using biteSMS. so if user can select the sms app. it will be great

Hi Cryptus, I am unable to do so due to the restriction from apple. Each app can only communicate with other apps via URI scheme, which is pretty much what the Quick Dialer uses. Somehow the SMS URI is not registered by bitesms. Perhaps the creator of bitesms can register theirself to the SMS URI which I suppose is hard due to apple own SMS app taking it first

CoffeeLover

Hey TS, maybe you can consider doing a "call divert" app which is similar? Press the "app" all calls divert to that number?

Or better still, add on to quick dailer as update! :p

Just a suggestion. Cheers.
Hi 311286, this is an interesting idea. I will take a look at it. Thanks!

CoffeeLover

i juz bought the app...

Review

Interface: very fast and easy to use. hassle free.

However i found that the icon created, the pic is abit blur as compared to my HD icons. Anyway to rectify it?

Also, the app does not seems to go direct to the phone app as mentioned in the app description. It will open a white screen followed by a black screen and then the phone screen. Initially i tot its something different from others since you mention it directly open phone app. But after purchasing and testing it, it does not seems to be the case. No diff from other apps as they all does not open phone app directly.

Hi Cryptrus,

I will be looking at how to make the picture clearer. I hope this can be done via the server's end. I am sorry about the description which was abit misleading. At the developer's end, I have done whatever I could to make it launch asap. Issue here is that apple does not allows app to create icon on the home screen. Hence, the best I could do at the moment is to do what I have done.

I believe most, if not all, speed dial apps out there will prompt the user when they tap on the photo icon (if they allow it). I had bypassed that which I thought make Quick Dialer better.

CoffeeLover

Productivity category alway is cool category in app store.
Unless really needy need , other wise not easy for ppl to pocket their money on it.

Yes, I guess so. Thankful the bro and sis here are kind enough to support Quick Dialer

CoffeeLover

The suggestions for improving the app are really interesting. If the TS would to incorporate all these other functions, it's highly doubtful that he can maintain the price at US$0.99. By then, there will be another set of KPKB people who will scream murder for the price increase. More functions, I would think it's logical to pay more for it. The present App would then be the Lite version...!

Hi nicefish,

I probably won't increase the price to maintain the competitive edge with the competitions. Like Crytrus mentioned there are other competitions to Quick Dialer. Most of these app priced themselves at 1.99 to 2.99. I want to give back to the users- no increase in price for whatever updates. :)

CoffeeLover

I seriously feel it's a waste of money. It goes to two different pages and then call. About three sec. If I use bitesms less than 2 sec Plus can call from anywhere. Regret buying it

Hi Jownsftw, I am sorry that you do not like Quick Dialer. As this is an app that is done via the the official SDK, there are various restrictions which I had to overcome to make the app works.

I could spend the next 5 minutes describing the difficulities but the bottomline here is you as the user do not like it and me as the developer has in some way failed you.

I could only say from the developer's point of view, this is the best implementation I can offer at the moment.

However, I will continue to continue to improve the app. I will look at try to see if I could add HD icons on the home screen.

CoffeeLover

I seriously feel it's a waste of money. It goes to two different pages and then call. About three sec. If I use bitesms less than 2 sec Plus can call from anywhere. Regret buying it

imagine how much apple have leeched off those developer

Hi JinYuan, this could be a double edge sword in some ways. Apple provided the developers with the infrastructure to host their apps in a uniformed way.
In the past, if anyone remember, Singtel, Starhub has come up with similar app stores for J2ME apps but they failed to take off like the Apple version.

I would think of it as "rent" to host my app at their server. They are also taking a gamble here- if the app don't sell, they are suffering with the developers for that app but unlike the developers, they have a higher chance of success as they will also earn from other apps.

CoffeeLover

True true, ts took damn long to post a lite version so couldn't wait and jump the gun to buy a "kopitiam coke" worth app. the coke would have been worth it

Hi Jownsftw, unfortunately as mentioned before, I am not a full time iphone developer. To come out with a trial version requires me to think carefully about the implementation too. It isn't that simple as you think as I am pretty much a noob

Just for your info, I took up learning about app development in July. I still have no learnt everything about the SDK. I took a good 1+ month of time to develop the app though trial and error and research on how the app to give the user the best and quickest way to speed dial. Apple SDK is pretty muh very restrictive. Alot of what Quick Dialer is doing is going around these restrictions defined by Apple and using some creative ideas that others has come out with.

I am not really that good an developer- I took an entire day to come out with the SMS feature.

Thank you for the suggestion and feedback. I would like to improve the app as much as I can.

Cryptrus

Hi Cryptrus,

I will be looking at how to make the picture clearer. I hope this can be done via the server's end. I am sorry about the description which was abit misleading. At the developer's end, I have done whatever I could to make it launch asap. Issue here is that apple does not allows app to create icon on the home screen. Hence, the best I could do at the moment is to do what I have done.

I believe most, if not all, speed dial apps out there will prompt the user when they tap on the photo icon (if they allow it). I had bypassed that which I thought make Quick Dialer better.

i actually tried one , it will first open its own app and then blank screen and then dial. So baiscally same process flow as your app. But cant really remember which app name coz it was like months ago. I deleted it coz i dun like the process flow.

anyway since its a apple SDK resrtiction to open directly to dial, then i guess there is no choice unless somebody comes up with something in Cydia.

so i can only cross my finger for u to be able to generate at least a proper image for the icon as it really blurry.If my gf see her icon, she will definately make a lot of noise.:o

lonerzboy

i actually tried one , it will first open its own app and then blank screen and then dial. So baiscally same process flow as your app. But cant really remember which app name coz it was like months ago. I deleted it coz i dun like the process flow.

anyway since its a apple SDK resrtiction to open directly to dial, then i guess there is no choice unless somebody comes up with something in Cydia.

so i can only cross my finger for u to be able to generate at least a proper image for the icon as it really blurry.If my gf see her icon, she will definately make a lot of noise.:o

I think got one app got 1 touch dial also have the same function as Quick Dialer.

CoffeeLover

HI Cryptrus, I will try to do something about the image asap.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.