iOS 12 Beta Discussions

SESE75

Any updates on DBS/POSB ibanking crash?

I strongly believe that even iOS 12 Golden Master build is release after sept 12 Apple event, DBS app will still be crashing until DBS developer release an update to make compatible with iOS 12 final release.

rp0116

DBS/POSB shd do something liao. Also need to update before the official release so that they can fix whatever isn’t compatible with the new OS.

renfred89

Compatible app will need to go through UAT. by then it should be available during or before release of commercial ios. GM build is not considered a commercial release of os..

They have all the rights not to support beta software..

DBS/POSB shd do something liao. Also need to update before the official release so that they can fix whatever isn’t compatible with the new OS.

sevensomerset

most likely after ios12 offcially released
after a week or two, most user upgraded to ios12
then more and more ppl start to complaint dbs abt their ios app
then they will debug and release fix after another 1-2 weeks!
LOL welcome to Singapore!

SESE75

Compatible app will need to go through UAT. by then it should be available during or before release of commercial ios. GM build is not considered a commercial release of os..

They have all the rights not to support beta software..

Normally GM build release is the same version as general release according to past record.

123kidy

welcome to 1st world problems!

app can't work on beta also make noise

i love it

renfred89

Developers will tell you, so what.

As long as the commercial ios is not due for release and even if you have the GM build and even if you know that GM is the same as final release, developers can choose to hold the compatible app for release until that ios is commercially available..

Anyway, GM build can be different from commercial build, its been the same past years but doesn't mean it will be this year..

Don't get me wrong for being rude, but it's just how developers work. They wouldnt release something prematurely unless most people are using it..

Normally GM build release is the same version as general release according to past record.

sevensomerset

welcome to 1st world problems!

app can't work on beta also make noise

i love it

yea, in case u not sinkie, and u juz cum sg <1 month
kbkp is the uniquely(or not) sg culture
maybe u r not tat kind, but 80% of the population r tat kind :D

SESE75

Developers will tell you, so what.

As long as the commercial ios is not due for release and even if you have the GM build and even if you know that GM is the same as final release, developers can choose to hold the compatible app for release until that ios is commercially available..

Anyway, GM build can be different from commercial build, its been the same past years but doesn't mean it will be this year..

Don't get me wrong for being rude, but it's just how developers work. They wouldnt release something prematurely unless most people are using it..

I am just quoting that USUALLY GM build and Public release build version are the same.
Not saying that DBS app will works on both.

deathst

You don't understand usually these apps target the latest SDK levels for security reasons. And any level too low their required levels or too high will usually result in an error or lockout to prevent tinkering. OR they are using a specific API call that has been changed from expected behavior resulting in a crash.

Apple at the moment DOES NOT take in any application submission with iOS 12 targetted until GM build is released where APIs are finalized and fixed

sevensomerset

You don't understand usually these apps target the latest SDK levels for security reasons. And any level too low their required levels or too high will usually result in an error or lockout to prevent tinkering. OR they are using a specific API call that has been changed from expected behavior resulting in a crash.

Apple at the moment DOES NOT take in any application submission with iOS 12 targetted until GM build is released where APIs are finalized and fixed

oic, too bad DBS/POSB app happened to hv compatible issue with IOS 12 PB
hope gt update soon as ios12 release

Jirachi

Actually the pop up bug only happens when we are at the lock screen and/or unlocking the phone and when we swipe away from the Notification Center.

So as the Notification Center shares the lock screen, thus the pop up will also appear whenever we leave the NC.

Even a little swipe down from the top for the NC does ‘activate’ the NC (as a whole) and thus the pop up appears.

On the bright side, at least it doesn’t appear randomly and out of nowhere, only when we are at the lock screen or in the NC.

Based on the code it only triggers when the cover sheet is being interacted.

Jirachi

Singapore banking apps are not the only one that are crashing. Most banking apps do not support beta. If they do, consider yourself lucky. This is a security feature.

Most banking apps in this case probably locked the version to the major release and in this context, locked to iOS 11.

Jirachi

I don’t think DBS is that stupid to not have started work. They probably have already fixed the issue internally and is unable to release it into the App Store because Apple does not like apps targeted for Betas.

Developer account had the guidelines as well.

kopi22

Dbs version is now compatible with beta. Not the posb version yet

Sent from Wireless@SG using GAGT

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.