iPhone 12 Can't Start

TyL3r_DuRd3n

Hi guys,
my late mom's phone can't start.
tried the followings but to no avail:
1. charging the whole night but still can't.
2. Force restart method, press and release volume up, press and release volume down, press and holdthe side button. tried this procedure many times, still cannot start.
Before this phone went dead, I noticed the phone's battery will be completely drained after a few days, the phone was turned off after each use.
Not sure if Apple would repair for me as I do not know my mom's Apple ID password but I unlocked it after she passed away, to manage her estates, because we shared the same passcodes when she was alive.
Any idea on how to revive it? Could this battery issue?

reddevil0728

Hi guys,
2. Force restart method, press and release volume up, press and release volume down, press and holdthe side button. tried this procedure many times, still cannot start.
Before this phone went dead, I noticed the phone's battery will be completely drained after a few days, the phone was turned off after each use.
Not sure if Apple would repair for me as I do not know my mom's Apple ID password but I unlocked it after she passed away, to manage her estates, because we shared the same passcodes when she was alive.
Since you aren't looking to crack the code, i think getting it repaired shouldn't be a problem. might be a battery issue

froztheart

Hi guys,
Looks like you can change battery first, still unable to proceed then probably it will be advised by Apple/3rd party shop.

szeli

just make an appt with  support. explain the situation. it sounds like a battery issue. they should be able to help

TyL3r_DuRd3n

Went to apple store, was told motherboard is dead.
Repair will cost $700++
Actually, I want the data inside the phone.
Anyway to revive it? :(

T-Mobile

very common issue , TS mentioned previously phone drains fast even when not in use , commonly caused by a motherboard leakage .

hence if the phone has been left not used for a period of time , usually more than 1-2months . the battery will "die" or "starved to death " .

Apple anything also say motherboard dead one :)

bring to mobile shop and change battery or take out the "dead" battery , put into another ip12/12 pro , it should charge up. charge liao then put back to your ip12

TyL3r_DuRd3n

very common issue , TS mentioned previously phone drains fast even when not in use , commonly caused by a motherboard leakage .

hence if the phone has been left not used for a period of time , usually more than 1-2months . the battery will "die" or "starved to death " .

Apple anything also say motherboard dead one :)

bring to mobile shop and change battery or take out the "dead" battery , put into another ip12/12 pro , it should charge up. charge liao then put back to your ip12
thanks, man. Should have read this earlier.
Sent to Mister Mobile for repair, have to pay $168 for "motherboard repair" :cautious:

T-Mobile

They should have rectify your leakage problem . Previously batt got starved to death probably due to the leakage . Normal phones with a non leaking motherboard should still be able to charge up within 2 years of non usage .

iceanger

Yup TS please keep us posted on the situation and if you managed to retrieve data after the ‘motherboard repair’ at mister mobile. Thanks and hope all goes well for your moms phone!

TyL3r_DuRd3n

Just received a call. They said they repaired it.
I will be collecting soon. They open at 1130hrs. Will keep u guys posted.

TyL3r_DuRd3n

Got the phone.
it is alive now
When asked about what was repaired, the jiuhiu kia just said it’s the “motherboard lor”
when asked about battery leakages, he has no idea what am talking about. :s13:
basically, he jz asked me take care of the phone. Cannot afford a fall, knock etc due to motherboard’s condition.
Now going to apple mbs to change the worn battery which is af 83% now.

szeli

Got the phone.
it is alive now
When asked about what was repaired, the jiuhiu kia just said it’s the “motherboard lor”
basically, he jz asked me take care of the phone. Cannot afford a fall, knock etc due to motherboard’s condition.
I think  won’t change for you? now that there’s an unauthorized part inside the phone.

reddevil0728

Got the phone.
it is alive now
why u never just get them to change the battery?

jq75

Looks like you can change battery first, still unable to proceed then probably it will be advised by Apple/3rd party shop.
U be surprised what Apple can do as long as u can verify it’s your set

jq75

Got the phone.
it is alive now
Quickly back up data now

TyL3r_DuRd3n

why u never just get them to change the battery?
I wanted to change the battery at Apple store but Apple genius said they can't change it for me if I can't start the phone.
They explained to me that the battery maybe is still good, so if motherboard is kaput, changing to the new battery, it will not help the situation.

So, with above information from Apple., I was under the impression the motherboard is kaput lah. I just went to the Mister Mobile, Just wanted them to turn on. Once turned on, I wanna save all data.

Then I read the comments lol. I would have saved $165 :s13:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.