iphone 5 power button faulty

p0is0n

anyone encounter this problem? i got my iphone 5 2 days back only. the problem is that, i have to press the power button 2-3 times before it locks/unlocks. and sometimes, pressing once caused the phone to react like its been pressed 2-3 times immediately (screen goes off and on and off). if bring to apple, can get it repaired on the spot and get back the same phone? or die die must get refurb set?:(

mun

My set is having similar issue - had to press 2-3 times then can on/off the phone. Damn mafan... Plan to go down comcentre next week for repair. Going to do backup soon...

p0is0n

My set is having similar issue - had to press 2-3 times then can on/off the phone. Damn mafan... Plan to go down comcentre next week for repair. Going to do backup soon...

yours is new set? if not, just happened to u recently? i damn suay leh, i bought a bnib sealed set 3 days back. now kena this crap already. if bring to apple store, how they gonna fix it?

1 for 1 exchange new set since its less than a week old?
give me a refurb set?
repair the button issue on my current phone?

i know the 1st option like quite impossible even though its less than 1 week old. but giving me a refurb set like stupid leh, the previous owner may have used it for like 9 mths already? now exchange with my 3 days old phone. or how does refurb set actually works?

mun

mine gotten since last year but issue surfaced last few weeks. No choice but will go for refurb set as still under 1yr warranty.

For your case, dont think they will 1 for 1 exchange new set but replace with refurb set. why spend $$$ to have it repaired since it is under warranty.

p0is0n

i mean apple repair for me not i bring to 3rd party shop to repair.

by the way, just had a chat with apple customer service agent which is only based on USA/Canada for now. told me to backup and restore the phone to see if the problem persists. if it is, bring to apple for exchange. and most importantly, i finally know that apple doesn't give refurbished set for warranty claims. instead, its a replacement set which is specially built for customer, a brand new set without the box.

i always see people say go apple exchange for refurb set and wonder how is that fair if im gonna exchange a 1 week old phone with a 9mths old refurb set.

maxheadroom

U will be surprise how good is the refurb set. Mine got from m1 and I notice eh batt drop within half day. Took and change. Condition is very good

p0is0n

U will be surprise how good is the refurb set. Mine got from m1 and I notice eh batt drop within half day. Took and change. Condition is very good

You mean yours got battery issue and u changed it? But then again, a replacement set like mine, if i ever go change it, the value will drop or not ar? If I sell it in future.

maxheadroom

I forgot to mention mine just got it for 3 day and got it change. Selling value will never becoz it a refrub. Should be higher. U see those selling mention they just got it change. Value still stay.

p0is0n

alright then. but according to the apple service agent i spoke to earlier. he mentioned that replacement and refurbished are different. below are extract of what our convo when i asked him about refurb sets

Advisor [7:48 p.m.]:
The replacement phones we use here at apple aren't actual "refurbished" devices. When you are in need of a
replacement we actually build the phone specifically for your, for your need so the phone is never boxed like a
normal phone and is never been "for sale" Does that make sense?

Customer [7:50 p.m.]:
so all refurb set in apple around the world are actually brand new and not a used and repaired set by previous
owner?

Advisor [7:51 p.m.]:
No exactly. Our replacement phones that are used in cases of warranty claims or insurance claims are that way.
We do actually sell refurbished phones on our website for a discounted price. But that isn't the same things if
that makes sense at all?

Customer [7:53 p.m.]:
oh i see. so in my case where my warranty is still valid, i will
be getting a replacement phone instead of a refurbished phone. is that it?

Advisor [7:54 p.m.]:
Precisely. Its a new built phone that has never been for sale and was build specifically to meet your individual
need.

so a replacement set is actually a brand new set as compared to a refurb set. that is if he didn't lie to me or different practice in apple around the world.

fuzzybear

seem like ip5 got a bad qc in it power button beside the home button which is all known

toiletroll1

No
What I heard is its new because
Parts have been changed
They have spare parts from store
All faulty phones will bring to factory
There they will dismantle and rework
Then mix with all other phones parts
They then assemble them again
So they still considered new since the phone haven't been use after assembled
But those parts I don't think it's together with brand new parts
One side for brand new the other for reimburse sets

toiletroll1

They still will have to get pass QC
so they are just like new sets
Just the parts are from different ways

p0is0n

No
What I heard is its new because
Parts have been changed
They have spare parts from store
All faulty phones will bring to factory
There they will dismantle and rework
Then mix with all other phones parts
They then assemble them again
So they still considered new since the phone haven't been use after assembled
But those parts I don't think it's together with brand new parts
One side for brand new the other for reimburse sets

judging from your explain, dun u think it's a waste of time and money to dismantle the phone and find out which individual part is faulty and which is not? moreover, the cost price for iphone is very cheap. read before its only around USD$200 for iphone 4 or 4s. it became expensive coz of the brand.. thats what i think. anyway i just called singtel cso, he confirmed that the replacement set is brand new.. but then again, maybe its really like what u said...

What's wrong with refurb sets

u do know that refurbished set are sold at a discount rate right? these are the real faulty phones used by others, repaired and sold it as refurb set. defo not brand new.

Parallels

just get a replacement its not different from new as long as there isn't any cosmetic flaws or dead pixels. you're set~

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.