iPhone 6 plus camera issue

melmoth

Hi guys, I just got my iPhone 6 plus and I found out that there seems to be an issue with the camera when taking shots at night... If the camera is pointed in the General direction where there are sources of light (street lamps, fluorescent lamps etc)... There seems to be halo or lens flare artefacts in the darker areas of the photo... I dunno how to describe, but these artefacts look like little specks of light... Wondering if any if any of you guys have this issue.

Salapi

wah that's a very big ISSUE from Apple! :eek:

your iphone is useless now with imperfect photo.

Head to service centre liao.

soulmad

it's called flare. technically any optical lens will not be completely immune to it. so rest assured.

melmoth

But my 5S doesn't have this issue... And it's quite funny how I can't seem to take night shots wherever there are lamps... Cos surely will have those little light specks appearing.. Almost every shot will have... Macam UFO haha.. My other friend's 6 plus did not have this issue... Which led me to suspect that it is an issue with my phone

metamofia89

Sry abit off topic but TS ur photos gives me the creeps leh. Lol. If ur unsatisfied just bring ur phone to Wheelock and get a diagnosis first.

suavegamer30

My fren's iphone 6 dun have this issue at all........most probably u have touched the settings w/o notice.
Read the manual.
Iphone 6 is practically fast and smooth in photo-taking and video streaming....

EldonChew

My fren's iphone 6 dun have this issue at all........most probably u have touched the settings w/o notice.
Read the manual.

There's a option in the Settings that allows you to add a flare/dust object to your photos? :eek:
---

Most likely is the sensor got problem or there's a small micro sized particle on your len

Tong_Zhi

I thought this is normal?
Like purple light when taking photos against sun

melmoth

But this is a reflection, definitely not flare or dust on lens I went down to the apple service center today and asked them. I requested for a one to one exchange but they said no... Wanted me to leave the phone with them to run diagnostics and give me a response. They said it could be a software issue but I really doubt it... Anyway, I did not leave the phone with them but took it home instead.

I also told them about this really strange encounter I had when restoring my iPhone from my iCloud backup... The phone prompted me to key in passwords from two different email accounts I am totally unaware of to restore App Store, iBook and music purchases. It was really fishy as one email was a Russian email and the other one was from the Netherlands. Damn weird ...

fatangel

Read the manual.

It's about ufo in the picture taken.

Confirm it is fast and smooth when taking picture, but that's not the point :)

fatangel

TS, what's the colour of your iPhone?
Try using matt black tape to tape around the camera and see. Especially the plastic line running near the camera across the phone.

jus guessing if the lines would be contrasting and reflected some glare.

tiny

If u take several shots and move a bit, the artifact still appears at the same spot?

doom102938

I believe those are caused by bright spots of light reflecting off your sensor and then reflecting off your lens again.

W8fat9j.jpg

melmoth

I don't think it is a reflection or glare from the phone itself.. I am using the dark leather case from apple. The camera is surrounded by the casing and the light specks are there with or without the case... They appear at different spots and move around as I move the camera around.. So it doesn't appear to be trapped dust... I have snapped a couple more pictures and I will be uploading them later tonight.. I am very troubled

soulmad

But this is a reflection, definitely not flare or dust on lens I went down to the apple service center today and asked them. I requested for a one to one exchange but they said no... Wanted me to leave the phone with them to run diagnostics and give me a response. They said it could be a software issue but I really doubt it... Anyway, I did not leave the phone with them but took it home instead.

I also told them about this really strange encounter I had when restoring my iPhone from my iCloud backup... The phone prompted me to key in passwords from two different email accounts I am totally unaware of to restore App Store, iBook and music purchases. It was really fishy as one email was a Russian email and the other one was from the Netherlands. Damn weird ...

the latter part is very suspicious. could the phone be tampered?

melmoth

the latter part is very suspicious. could the phone be tampered?

I did a Google search and realized that I am not the only one with the problem. Apparently it is some bug that strikes at random iCloud accounts. But that one I'm not as worried, no worried about the fact that I got an iphone 6 plus with a faulty camera. I kinda felt that the apple service centre folks were kinda dismissive when I told them my prob, regardless... Will be reporting this to Apple straight.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.