iPhone 7 Plus Matte Black Peeling Near Speaker Grille

Glaive

I kena tha paint chipping issue, so apple asked if i want to refund anot (no restocking fee). I went ahead with the refund and they asked me to buy another iphone to be entitled to the freebie. Like that also can...

Black or Jetblack ?

shareholder

Paint will peel if a plastic case cover is scraped against the bottom. Best to use apple silicone case, the bottom is open so no scraping.

*adiBOY

Paint will peel if a plastic case cover is scraped against the bottom. Best to use apple silicone case, the bottom is open so no scraping.

Oh really? I've been using Apple Leather Case on my JB iPhone 7 Plus and the paint still peeled off near to my speaker grill. It's not about the plastic case scrapping against the bottom.

hawkz02

Your theory does not stand at all.
There're a few way to protect the paint and your method confirm is not one of it.
1) use a full wrap that cover the phone near to prefection meaning even at the speaker there also only the speaker hole are not covered only. (Slickwrap is one of those wrap)
2) get a waterproof or shock proof case and seal the phone up and do not remove it.

Mach3.2

The colour is anodised onto the aluminium, it's not supposed to come off easy.

Using a different case does not prevent the "paint" from coming off if the anodising process isn't done correctly in the first place.

ragnarok95

Senior Moderator
The colour is anodised onto the aluminium, it's not supposed to come off easy.

Using a different case does not prevent the "paint" from coming off if the anodising process isn't done correctly in the first place.

Finally someone who understand.

eyz

the paint on my power button peel off just by putting in and out the casing! Geez the casing is made of those slightly hard rubber. Luckily matte black is able to be covered up easily using black marker pen, though a little glossy.

Sold off the phone liao

jq75

guess, normal wear and tear and our sweaty hands etc, such peeling and discoloration will happen :(

chenaz

No problem for me leh. Only problem was I put my phone at my ass pocket with coins and the coins cracked the screen when I sit down .
Haha

BraveCloudy

Luckily I bought Jet Black for both my iPhone 7 and 7+
I rather thin line scratches than paint peeling, cannot stand it

Krankier

tats weird, my gold iphone 6s also had paint peeling off when i used vinyl wrap.

i removed the wrap and several spots of paint came out. wrap maker says its a known issue and to email apple. i emailed apple, and they gave me a replacement unit.

i tink u shld make your case with apple again, if its a genuine case of paint peeling

jason910

My 6 plus I use alcohol wipes wipe whole phone once a week till now 2 yrs plus no paint peeling off etc. I'm skeptical about changing my Hp to 7 though.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.