iPhone - Auto Sends roaming Sms

battledome64

Hi Guys went overseas recently and discovered my bill has roaming Sms and they say it's because I used FaceTime.

I didn't use FaceTime and I have incurred roaming Sms charges

Any way to prevent this? I received a 15 minute lecture from the telco which was not helpful

Felt like being bullied

manofsorrows

i kena many times also.... i was wondering how come i didnt send sms but yet kena in the bill.

Turns out it was the offending facetime. what i did was, before departing sg, go into Setting->General-> Restriction.

Disable facetime. so the icon disappears from your home screen. and since i hardly use facetime, i dont even enable it back. so i wont forget the next time i leave sg.

my settings in restriction is disable facetime and disable deleting apps. thats all. i ever kena i accidentally delete an app which i need or if you lend phone to kids to play games etc... they may accidentally delete your apps. so i disable delete apps. if i really genuinely want to delete apps then i go back and turn it on.

as another kiasu precaution, go into setting-> messages, disable "send as sms"

hope this helps....

PetPet

iMessage/Facetime sends an overseas SMS to activate.
So... if you do frequently remove your SIM card. This may be the cause.

elimmel

Ermmm... new phone or restore iOS?
Activating iMessage / FaceTime will incur a global SMS charge. No need go overseas :D

radzkal

if change sim card to local sim card leh? for example, go msia then change to msia sim card, should be no problem right?

revogsx

only data roaming have. on/off switch

if you dont want sms, only airplane mode can prevent it

crystalnox

only data roaming have. on/off switch

if you dont want sms, only airplane mode can prevent it
^ Yup, you cannot disable sending of international sms on the phone.

Recently after porting my number to another telco, I notice the phone automatically sends out an international sms to activate imessage every time I reboot the phone, still can't figure out why it's doing that. Tried restoring already.:s11::mad:

ska13a

^ Yup, you cannot disable sending of international sms on the phone.

got the same issue as you, non stop sending ever since one of the oversea trips.
been month getting such sms charging non stop

revogsx

seems you have changed sim card while roaming.

you may need to go to:
1. settings / facetime and toggle it off
2. settings / messages and toggle off the imessage

then use whatsapp or any chat app.

also, try not to change sim card when roaming.

manofsorrows

What i do is to change the sms message centre number to a ficticious one. Once it detects an error, it wont be able to send out. But before you do that please check whats the original message centre number if not gg !
The caveat is that you will not be able to receive sms while roaming. Including your bank otp sms etc...

xRZ1jPK.jpg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.