iPhone Duo Discussions

twosix

Strange how these's articles seem to insist their preferences are the universal right ones :LOL: o_O
Same like radicals. Why so they think they r right?

All sorts of people in the world. The sooner u realize it, the sooner u just shrud it off. Haha.

Jirachi

You see ah bro, the irony of us Singaporeans is that, or even all the bros & sis here in iPhone hwz thread, we often talk about pricing being high, or just got the 17PM last year, or being guinea pigs for iPhone Duo. When the time comes on the release date Oct 23rd 2026, this iPhone Duo will be the hottest gadget/phone that everyone will shell out to buy. I would even dare to go so far to predict, on that pre-order day 16th Oct, within 1hr, all stocks, all colors, all GB sizes (maybe left the 2TB size, coz it’s the most exp) will be gone or collection/delivery date will be pushed right up till late Nov period.

Our country SG is small and bored enough, and handphone is our everything. From social media, iBanking apps, Apple Pay, web browsing on information on the go, portability. We can do without alot of things, less holidays, less dining in restaurants, less grab rides, but handphone ah…I tell you, is something I believe everyone wants to get and try out the latest. Social status stigma, fomo, influencers’ IG post, you walk on the streets and you see ppl using iPhone Duo… all these factors will push us to get one for ourselves in no time.

2017 when iPhone X was released, everyone couldn’t get used to the swipe gesture w/o physical home button. But still it was a revolutionary invention until 1 year later 2018, Samsung also introduced it in their phones - swipe gesture. Last year everyone couldn’t take it on iPhone 17 Pro big camera plateau, S27 Ultra leaks, they’re gonna use the same design. That plateau actually solves the wobbling effect when typing with the phone resting on the table.

No one predicted Z Fold8 will outsell Z Fold8 Ultra by so much, not even Samsung themselves, that I read somewhere, even they had to use components meant for next year Z Fold9, to continue to produce for Z Fold8’s increasing demands. This 4:3, 3:4 ratio has taken the whole world by storm now, that, almost all phone brand makers are wanting to, or have released this form factor - Xiaomi, Huawei, and soon to be Honor and Motorola. Even in the ah beng stores, ZF8 pricing commands a higher price than ZF8U now (Even though samsung store pricing, ZF8U is S$300 more than ZF8, gb for gb). And that is just 1 month+ from the official SG released date Aug 7th 2026. I have a feeling that the Z Fold8 Ultra form factor will be phased out by Samsung in the coming years just like how they phased out the Note series And integrated it onto the Galaxy S Ultra series. Although I like the slimmer holding feeling of ZF8U that’s why I’m using one now. I wanna keep the 4:3 aspect ratio, new sense of novelty 新鲜感 feeling to the iPhone Duo.

No need to be scared of apps optimization on this 4:3 form factor. In fact, it is the other way round. App developers both in iOS and Android playstore, they’re even more scared that you wouldn’t continue to use or download their apps, that by hook or by crook, their programmers will faster code their apps to fully optimize this new form factor.

Apple they themselves also know that their pricing of iPhone Duo is on the astronomical side. That iPhone Duo pricing (S$3099, $3399, $3999, $4899) is even more exp than a MacBook Pro or iPad Pro. But I believe Apple SG is confident in their pricing coz of the factors I mentioned in my paragraph 2 above - social status stigma, phone is our everything, etc. My personal analysis is that the Star White iPhone Duo will be in higher demand than the Night Sky color. And the most popular size will be 512GB.
Just sharing what I heard when I spoke to different Apple staff from different stores. In SG, the max storage is always the first being sold out. I am not going to be surprised if the 2TB are gone in an instant.

argentinafa

I’d gladly buy it for her if she wanted it, but she doesn’t want to haha. On the other hand, she actually wants to upgrade but downsize from the 15 Pro Max to the 18 Pro. 😂 For us, upgrading every 2–3 years is pretty normal. It’s not really about being frugal,we just don’t see enough of a spec bump to justify changing every year. I used to upgrade yearly too, but as I got older, the “new toy” syndrome slowly faded. 😂

I think app optimization ultimately comes down to how quickly the developers update their apps. Back then, a few of the apps and games I commonly used took 1–2 months to optimize for the iPhone X, so I ended up getting another iPhone 8 Plus to tank through the early period haha.

I’m interested in the Duo, but I’m not in a rush. It’s a new design, so that’s what interests me about it. I’m perfectly fine getting it a few weeks after launch. Will KIV for now haha.
iPhone 18 Pro/PM & Duo are really worth to upgrade. First hp to use 2nm chip. 2 interesting factors that captivated me on Duo are 1) That it has vapour chamber inside the Titanium frame, since Apple swapped back to using Aluminium for their 17 Pro series and they said Aluminium can dissipate heat better, which in scientific sense it’s true lar. 2) That it can have IP68 rating on their first release foldable, whereby I thought phone companies as big as Apple always like to play the game of incremental upgrade factor.

Google Pixel 10 Pro Fold was the 1st foldable to have this highest accorded IP68 rating last year. Followed by Honor Magic V6 in this year June. In Aug, I thought Samsung will follow suit with IP68 on their ZF8/ZF8U, but no, they still used IP48, same as last year’s ZF7. Granted, they might keep this incremental upgrade on their ZF9/F9U.

Haha bro you still bought 8 Plus. By then I skipped 8 Plus during Sep, just waited till Nov 2017. I continued to use my 7 Plus. Yes I still rem some of the phone apps & games on iPhone X had optimization problems due to the notch.

4:3 foldable form factor phones will redefine and obsolete the previous conventional shape foldables world. Just like how my iPhone 2G back in 2007 stopped me from using my last Nokia phone in N95 haha. :s13:. Wah thinking back, I still miss those jailbroken iPhone days.

argentinafa

I got the feeling there will be a delay for the 2nd wave.
Yes bro. It will be a long delay predictably. It’s Apple’s way of doing things, hyping up the market by creating scarcity. It’s either we ride on the 1st wave on Oct 23rd, else the wait for 2nd wave could be late Nov, or worse, till X‘Mas time liao.

Banana?

Just sharing what I heard when I spoke to different Apple staff from different stores. In SG, the max storage is always the first being sold out. I am not going to be surprised if the 2TB are gone in an instant.

Idk man, sounds like reverse psychology to me. Either the highest-storage models are stocked in much lower quantities because of lower demand, so they naturally sell out faster, or the super rich are buying them just for the flex of owning the “most expensive iPhone.” Or maybe Apple staff are just saying that to hype it up and push people towards the highest storage option.

Just like how some people claimed Apple staff said the Blue Titanium iPhone 15 Pro Max was the best-selling colourway, but the fact that it was always readily available kinda says otherwise..

argentinafa

Apple is the 1st phone company to come out with the 2TB variant last year in the Pro series. It’s really time in the near future that they phase out the 256GB variant. Since all along, it has always been 3 different phone storage sizes. With better cameras taking up bigger MB pics, really no point to spend so much for a phone and yet having to worry about inadequate file size. 512GB is the sweet spot for me, with all my photos & my .flac songs on my ZF8U, or .m4a songs on iOS, I still have 3/4 storage size left.

2TB on last year’s 17 Pro Max was $3099. That price point of 2TB, still can stomach I feel. 17PM price point last year was S$1899, $2199, $2499, $3099. You see the jump between 256 to 512 to 1TB is $300, then 1 to 2TB is $600. 18PM, as expected for the price hike due to memory chip price increase across all board for phones, retail price will be S$2099, $2399, $2999, $$3899. 512GB to 1TB is a $600 jump. 1TB to 2TB is a whopping $900 jump.

Duo’s pricing on 2TB maybe will leave everyone thinking “Do I really need that big file storage size 2TB, at S$4899?“ My own analysis for sweet spot pricing and storage needs for Duo will be 512GB at $3399, 1TB at $3999. Given that Apple don’t have discount for early birds pre-orders unlike Samsung ZF8 1TB official price S$3398. Pre-order days minus $150, ITRYGALAXY code minus $300, chat with Samsung advisors online minus $50 code, sign up for early bird pre-order minus $38. $3398-150-300-50-38=S$2860 For 1TB.

I think Singaporeans sweet spot in buying a handphone is around S$3000ish. Ofc then again, we can’t underestimate everyone’s threshold in spending capacity, especially when it comes to Apple products. :s22:.

Ok half an hour more to 18PM pre-order. Burgundy 512GB & 1TB!!!

jianrong

Does anyone know when you flip to use Duo. Does the front display still show whatever you view?

This mean other peoples could see your messages or videos..

ragnarok95

Senior Moderator
Nonsense la… i got many female friends using pro max all also put inside their small bag. So even carry another small phone.

twosix

Looking at a lot of YouTube, it seems like the unfolded Home Screen cannot be rotated like iPad?

Ok I stand corrected. It can rotate.

kashix

My f8 with case already 260g. With magnetic stand another 50g. Dun feel anything in my bermudas lah.
Duo already 250g+ without anything. You add casing and glass, very substantial le. Need to feel the actual thing to see the weight distribution.

obichacha

Duo already 250g+ without anything. You add casing and glass, very substantial le. Need to feel the actual thing to see the weight distribution.
iPad mini about 290g with case and screen protector 😂😂😂
I can imaging the weight

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.