iPhone Duo

Loser

App developers have to update their apps, else also look weird. Too bad Google and Samsung fails to make it their top priority to optimize how the apps look. But still, I'm more a functional person than looks. Android apps look very good already compared to the past, and all the different gestures really help to get what I want to do easily.

Iphone to me is the top notch secured and locked iOS. I dun fancy the slow animation, although they look nice. But after a while they look the same to me.
Android different, too many OEMs with different hardware and aspect ratios...

Hard to fix if google don't do something to their AOSP to help devs.

Jurong640

i wonder if the display sammy supplies for apple duo is much better than the one they use for their own fold 8 lol..
this one hopefully someone will compare both panels. I remember when S26 ultra as released, someone went to check and it's using a physical 8bit display, whereas they display samsung sell to one of the company is 10-bit.

twosix

iPhone Duo 256GB.

iPhone Duo (256GB) Global & SEA Selling Prices

Country / MarketRegionLocal Currency PriceApprox. USDSales Tax / VAT Status
United StatesNorth AmericaUS$1,999.00$1,999Excluded (0%–10% added at checkout)
CanadaNorth AmericaC$2,999.00~$2,190Excluded (PST/GST/HST added at checkout)
Hong KongEast AsiaHK$17,499~$2,245No Tax (Duty-free)
UAEMiddle EastAED 8,499~$2,314Included (5% VAT)
MalaysiaSoutheast AsiaRM 9,499~$2,334Included (Local tax/SST included)
JapanEast Asia¥364,800~$2,402Included (10% Consumption Tax)
ThailandSoutheast Asia฿79,900~$2,427Included (7% VAT; refund eligible)
SingaporeSoutheast AsiaS$3,099~$2,451Included (9% GST)
United KingdomEurope£1,999.00~$2,723Included (20% VAT)
GermanyEurope€2,299.00~$2,550Included (19% VAT)
PhilippinesSoutheast Asia₱159,990~$2,810Included (12% VAT)
VietnamSoutheast Asia64,999,000₫~$2,841Included (VAT included)

Banana?

Abit gian for the Duo, but I think I’ll probably wait till next year de. Don’t really wanna be the guinea pig during the early stage while apps are still optimizing for the Duo’s resolution and interface, like what I experienced with the iPhone X. Furthermore I just got 17PM last year so I don’t think my finance minister at home will approve this upgrade :whistle:

Computeron

Abit gian for the Duo, but I think I’ll probably wait till next year de. Don’t really wanna be the guinea pig during the early stage while apps are still optimizing for the Duo’s resolution and interface, like what I experienced with the iPhone X. Furthermore I just got 17PM last year so I don’t think my finance minister at home will approve this upgrade :whistle:
Just buy one for her n u. Both happy. Best of both worlds

argentinafa

You see ah bro, the irony of us Singaporeans is that, or even all the bros & sis here in iPhone hwz thread, we often talk about pricing being high, or just got the 17PM last year, or being guinea pigs for iPhone Duo. When the time comes on the release date Oct 23rd 2026, this iPhone Duo will be the hottest gadget/phone that everyone will shell out to buy. I would even dare to go so far to predict, on that pre-order day 16th Oct, within 1hr, all stocks, all colors, all GB sizes (maybe left the 2TB size, coz it’s the most exp) will be gone or collection/delivery date will be pushed right up till late Nov period.

Our country SG is small and bored enough, and handphone is our everything. From social media, iBanking apps, Apple Pay, web browsing on information on the go, portability. We can do without alot of things, less holidays, less dining in restaurants, less grab rides, but handphone ah…I tell you, is something I believe everyone wants to get and try out the latest. Social status stigma, fomo, influencers’ IG post, you walk on the streets and you see ppl using iPhone Duo… all these factors will push us to get one for ourselves in no time.

2017 when iPhone X was released, everyone couldn’t get used to the swipe gesture w/o physical home button. But still it was a revolutionary invention until 1 year later 2018, Samsung also introduced it in their phones - swipe gesture. Last year everyone couldn’t take it on iPhone 17 Pro big camera plateau, S27 Ultra leaks, they’re gonna use the same design. That plateau actually solves the wobbling effect when typing with the phone resting on the table.

No one predicted Z Fold8 will outsell Z Fold8 Ultra by so much, not even Samsung themselves, that I read somewhere, even they had to use components meant for next year Z Fold9, to continue to produce for Z Fold8’s increasing demands. This 4:3, 3:4 ratio has taken the whole world by storm now, that, almost all phone brand makers are wanting to, or have released this form factor - Xiaomi, Huawei, and soon to be Honor and Motorola. Even in the ah beng stores, ZF8 pricing commands a higher price than ZF8U now (Even though samsung store pricing, ZF8U is S$300 more than ZF8, gb for gb). And that is just 1 month+ from the official SG released date Aug 7th 2026. I have a feeling that the Z Fold8 Ultra form factor will be phased out by Samsung in the coming years just like how they phased out the Note series And integrated it onto the Galaxy S Ultra series. Although I like the slimmer holding feeling of ZF8U that’s why I’m using one now. I wanna keep the 4:3 aspect ratio, new sense of novelty 新鲜感 feeling to the iPhone Duo.

No need to be scared of apps optimization on this 4:3 form factor. In fact, it is the other way round. App developers both in iOS and Android playstore, they’re even more scared that you wouldn’t continue to use or download their apps, that by hook or by crook, their programmers will faster code their apps to fully optimize this new form factor.

Apple they themselves also know that their pricing of iPhone Duo is on the astronomical side. That iPhone Duo pricing (S$3099, $3399, $3999, $4899) is even more exp than a MacBook Pro or iPad Pro. But I believe Apple SG is confident in their pricing coz of the factors I mentioned in my paragraph 2 above - social status stigma, phone is our everything, etc. My personal analysis is that the Star White iPhone Duo will be in higher demand than the Night Sky color. And the most popular size will be 512GB.

twosix

You see ah bro, the irony of us Singaporeans is that, or even all the bros & sis here in iPhone hwz thread, we often talk about pricing being high, or just got the 17PM last year, or being guinea pigs for iPhone Duo. When the time comes on the release date Oct 23rd 2026, this iPhone Duo will be the hottest gadget/phone that everyone will shell out to buy. I would even dare to go so far to predict, on that pre-order day 16th Oct, within 1hr, all stocks, all colors, all GB sizes (maybe left the 2TB size, coz it’s the most exp) will be gone or collection/delivery date will be pushed right up till late Nov period.

Our country SG is small and bored enough, and handphone is our everything. From social media, iBanking apps, Apple Pay, web browsing on information on the go, portability. We can do without alot of things, less holidays, less dining in restaurants, less grab rides, but handphone ah…I tell you, is something I believe everyone wants to get and try out the latest. Social status stigma, fomo, influencers’ IG post, you walk on the streets and you see ppl using iPhone Duo… all these factors will push us to get one for ourselves in no time.

2017 when iPhone X was released, everyone couldn’t get used to the swipe gesture w/o physical home button. But still it was a revolutionary invention until 1 year later 2018, Samsung also introduced it in their phones - swipe gesture. Last year everyone couldn’t take it on iPhone 17 Pro big camera plateau, S27 Ultra leaks, they’re gonna use the same design. That plateau actually solves the wobbling effect when typing with the phone resting on the table.

No one predicted Z Fold8 will outsell Z Fold8 Ultra by so much, not even Samsung themselves, that I read somewhere, even they had to use components meant for next year Z Fold9, to continue to produce for Z Fold8’s increasing demands. This 4:3, 3:4 ratio has taken the whole world by storm now, that, almost all phone brand makers are wanting to, or have released this form factor - Xiaomi, Huawei, and soon to be Honor and Motorola. Even in the ah beng stores, ZF8 pricing is commands a higher price than ZF8U now (Even though samsung store pricing, ZF8U is S$300 more than ZF8, gb for gb). And that is just 1 month+ from the official SG released date Aug 7th 2026. I have a feeling that the Z Fold8 Ultra form factor will be phased out by Samsung in the coming years just like how they phased out the Note series And integrated it onto the Galaxy S Ultra series. Although I like the slimmer holding feeling of ZF8U that’s why I’m using one now. I wanna keep the 4:3 aspect ratio, new sense of novelty 新鲜感 feeling to the iPhone Duo.

No need to be scared of apps optimization on this 4:3 form factor. In fact, it is the other way round. App developers both in iOS and Android playstore, they’re even more scared that you wouldn’t continue to use or download their apps, that by hook or by crook, their programmers will faster code their apps to fully optimize this new form factor.

Apple they themselves also know that their pricing of iPhone Duo is on the astronomical side. That iPhone Duo pricing (S$3099, $3399, $3999, $4899) is even more exp than a MacBook Pro or iPad Pro. But I believe Apple SG is confident in their pricing coz of the factors I mentioned in my paragraph 2 above - social status stigma, phone is our everything, etc. My personal analysis is that the Star White iPhone Duo will be in higher demand than the Night Sky color. And the most popular size will be 512GB.
There are many well to do people around. And with Indonesia not launching in the 1st wave, you can expect them to be queuing overnight for it too. We will see the long long queue outside apple stores again, like we have not seen for years. And everyone will be happily using touchid. Faceid? What’s that? Haha

argentinafa

There are many well to do people around. And with Indonesia not launching in the 1st wave, you can expect them to be queuing overnight for it too. We will see the long long queue outside apple stores again, like we have not seen for years. And everyone will be happily using touchid. Faceid? What’s that? Haha
Yes bro, we really cannot underestimate Apple iPhone fans‘ willingness to spend. Wah you even know the 1st wave 2nd wave launching countries. I think besides Indonesia, China & Vietnam apple fans also like to buy from SG market. You see them with their luggages full of iPhone crowding outside Apple Orchard, storming and swarming by coming to you when they see you stepping out with paper bags of Apple products on launch day haha. It has been a familiar scene since 2017 when Apple Orchard first opened. Or before 2017 era, it was long queues at EpiCentre (before they closed down in 2018). Whether these ppl are real fans or flippers, it doesn’t really matter.

iPhones are THAT popular. And the iPhone Duo will be on another level of popularity I would say, judging by the mass volume on how popular the ZF8 is selling now. And we know, coupled with Apple’s strategic periodical release of stock product, slowly by slowly, creating that real (or fake) stock availability rareness, just makes the brand holds the value of their iPhone so much more, so long more. After I watched Apple keynote on Sep 10 1am, with popular iPhone influencers like iJustine, MKBHD & Mrwhosetheboss further HYPING up the popularity of iPhone Duo, I said to myself “Siao liao, this iPhone Duo is gonna create another storm in SG (and the world)”.

Banana?

Just buy one for her n u. Both happy. Best of both worlds
I’d gladly buy it for her if she wanted it, but she doesn’t want to haha. On the other hand, she actually wants to upgrade but downsize from the 15 Pro Max to the 18 Pro. 😂 For us, upgrading every 2–3 years is pretty normal. It’s not really about being frugal,we just don’t see enough of a spec bump to justify changing every year. I used to upgrade yearly too, but as I got older, the “new toy” syndrome slowly faded. 😂

No one predicted Z Fold8 will outsell Z Fold8 Ultra by so much, not even Samsung themselves, that I read somewhere, even they had to use components meant for next year Z Fold9, to continue to produce for Z Fold8’s increasing demands. This 4:3, 3:4 ratio has taken the whole world by storm now, that, almost all phone brand makers are wanting to, or have released this form factor - Xiaomi, Huawei, and soon to be Honor and Motorola. Even in the ah beng stores, ZF8 pricing commands a higher price than ZF8U now (Even though samsung store pricing, ZF8U is S$300 more than ZF8, gb for gb). And that is just 1 month+ from the official SG released date Aug 7th 2026. I have a feeling that the Z Fold8 Ultra form factor will be phased out by Samsung in the coming years just like how they phased out the Note series And integrated it onto the Galaxy S Ultra series. Although I like the slimmer holding feeling of ZF8U that’s why I’m using one now. I wanna keep the 4:3 aspect ratio, new sense of novelty 新鲜感 feeling to the iPhone Duo.

I think app optimization ultimately comes down to how quickly the developers update their apps. Back then, a few of the apps and games I commonly used took 1–2 months to optimize for the iPhone X, so I ended up getting another iPhone 8 Plus to tank through the early period haha.

I’m interested in the Duo, but I’m not in a rush. It’s a new design, so that’s what interests me about it. I’m perfectly fine getting it a few weeks after launch. Will KIV for now haha.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.