iPhone Plan Scam

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info

Cryptrus

seriously regardless of the mailing address, the liability party is still the person who registered the line.. so if bills not paid, telco will look for u

seller4

I find it strange that no one question why just need your name to sign the contract? I mean if the address is theirs and they will pay the bill n get the phone, why not just use their name? It is so obvious that you are being scammed leh. Surprise still got people fell for it. Hmm.......

naruto13

maybe get $ first then cry for foul play think can be let off.

can is can, blacklisted lo, telecom will ban u from taking up future services with them.

Modd-36

I find it strange that no one question why just need your name to sign the contract? I mean if the address is theirs and they will pay the bill n get the phone, why not just use their name? It is so obvious that you are being scammed leh. Surprise still got people fell for it. Hmm.......

i think for first time sign ups, you cannot change the address. IIRC, you can only change the address after 1 week after sign up. :(

froyotrading

This is stupid..can't believe anyone would fall for that. It's like borrowing a bank loan under your name and gives the money to a stranger and expect him to pay the installment.

Devil_in_Blue

Hahaha things people will do for $200??? Sorry but I don't symphatise with you. You maybe a nice person and epole know they can make you a fool. Hope you learn from your lesson

aileen99

Last time happen to see such a case in the newpaper. Frontline story, same scenario, NS or working guy got $$$ for every iphone line he sign up then he went to max out to the maximum line he can sign up from M1, Singtel and starhub. All the iPhone he sign up is the 32gb one. And he pass the line and phone to the middleman.

The middleman also told him he will pay for the line usage. But few months later no payment, telco chase him and impose early termination fees on top of the ldd calls that was make on those lines. In the end middleman cannot be found and he still have to pay for all those outstandings.

So 2 words for u. Wise up and good luck

naruto13

now adays u sign 1 line with high end plan they flag u liao, 2nd set etc must pay deposit. lol.
or they will restrict u from owning many high end plan.

well if u gona be blacklisted, must sign many.

if for 1line kena this ****, its not worth it.

telecom are not stupid too, they see such problem since donkey years back.

roslee7

200 for iphone is to cheap...they should give u more. By right, U should take the iphone and if u dont need it, u can even sell at 700-900 sin. That time, i did approached this guy but they sincerely told me that u still need to pay the bill every month and depends what plan u take. I had an experienced before when i sign up for 3 guys for the telephone line coz they are malaysian. Later, they play me up and not paying the bills and i have to called singtel to terminate all the lines and with the termination fees. The customer service still insist me that i am responsible for that coz its my name. So the bills almost like 2k. I did pay partially but once, the customer service called me and ask me to pay within 3 months. I told them that i am in financial also and will pay monthly 100 each month but they dont accept it. So i decided not to pay at all. After that, so many lawyers letter came in and i ignored it..i have asked few friends and they told me to ignored it also. The telco cant do anything also except that u will be blacklisted.

naruto13

200 for iphone is to cheap...they should give u more. By right, U should take the iphone and if u dont need it, u can even sell at 700-900 sin. That time, i did approached this guy but they sincerely told me that u still need to pay the bill every month and depends what plan u take. I had an experienced before when i sign up for 3 guys for the telephone line coz they are malaysian. Later, they play me up and not paying the bills and i have to called singtel to terminate all the lines and with the termination fees. The customer service still insist me that i am responsible for that coz its my name. So the bills almost like 2k. I did pay partially but once, the customer service called me and ask me to pay within 3 months. I told them that i am in financial also and will pay monthly 100 each month but they dont accept it. So i decided not to pay at all. After that, so many lawyers letter came in and i ignored it..i have asked few friends and they told me to ignored it also. The telco cant do anything also except that u will be blacklisted.

if u going to be blacklisted, u shouldnt had paid in the first place. but its not worth it to get blacklisted.

but there are always alternative, family members name.

but they will always minimze the risk one, example only 1 high end plan allowed or pay deposit for high end plan. cos phone r heavily subsidize for higher end plan.

roslee7

actually i am gentle enough to pay it monthly even at 100 dollars per month but the customer service insist me to pay within 3 months. so i am a bit of fed up with them and decided to ignored it. i already paid about 600 already. My friends told me that all this lawyer letters or representatives from lawyer firm just to scared u only. Even if u go to small tribunal court, the judge will let u pay whichever amount u can afford. Its already almost 7 years from now and i dont receive any more letter from them..the only bad things is that i will be blacklisted from singtel especially applying for mio tv....huh

Vynn

OT a bit.

When you are blacklisted, and you decided to pay it. Once after you pay everything, will the blacklist removed?

elu

actually i am gentle enough to pay it monthly even at 100 dollars per month but the customer service insist me to pay within 3 months. so i am a bit of fed up with them and decided to ignored it. i already paid about 600 already. My friends told me that all this lawyer letters or representatives from lawyer firm just to scared u only. Even if u go to small tribunal court, the judge will let u pay whichever amount u can afford. Its already almost 7 years from now and i dont receive any more letter from them..the only bad things is that i will be blacklisted from singtel especially applying for mio tv....huh

You will be blacklisted from taking any new services with ANY telcos in Singapore. Not only Singtel.

When you're young and still living off your parents, it's fine. Wait till when you get married or move out and need to get telco services registered under your own name.

elu

OT a bit.

When you are blacklisted, and you decided to pay it. Once after you pay everything, will the blacklist removed?

Yes. You will be free to sign up for new services once the due amount has been fully paid up.

tekster

If you got sign a black and white contact, maybe got case.

naruto13

You will be blacklisted from taking any new services with ANY telcos in Singapore. Not only Singtel.

When you're young and still living off your parents, it's fine. Wait till when you get married or move out and need to get telco services registered under your own name.

singtel is singtel, not cross link lah.
u sure they are cross link?

dont anyhow say haha. else alot of ppl would be affected trust me.

naruto13

OT a bit.

just clear the outstanding amount.
then for sure they remove u, cos u paid what.

naruto13

every year they got amount that cant be recovered.
something like $ written off from profit.

i think they have a certain % of revenue every year due to such thing.
but they will try to minimize it lah, afterall its their profit affected.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.