iPhone Plan Scam

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info

naruto13

Duno whether to feel sry for u or not. Sometimes i pity own sporean for being too gullible. Well, living in a caged country for too long maybe. Anw, weigh the consequences whether to pay or get blacklisted wrt the suggestions. I do not have 1st hand exp in this matter. Its your responsibility/liability.

That is correct. Telco dont share info. Else would have heard of ppl saying they have no phoneline, mobile, internet which is not poss in todays context. Similarly these are minority cases which at most they write off, still highly profitable or 3 telcos wont survive for so long.

Similarly, cbs has no such data of telcos like what naruto mentioned for obvious reasons. Only banks will do that.

actually my current new case with singtel is somewhere along the line. duno what happen but i will dig it out.

jokerpoker81

Hi people,

Just wondering, anyone ever encountered/got involved in this 'scam' where someone(usually a friend) asks you to sign an iPhone plan with any of the telcos in Singapore. You don't get to keep the iPhone but you get paid about $200. The plan is registered under your name but they tell you that they'll foot all the bills as long as you change your billing address to their address.

Some friends and I fell prey for this and now we are receiving lawyer letters here and there. They have not paid a cent and the bill is at a whopping $1.3k.

Should I bring the police in on this? Anyone with advice would be much appreciated.

go police no use lah...what can they do except to tell u settle with telco amicably? unless it becomes a serial cheater kinda case, then maybe they look into it lah....otherwise, gd luck.

it's an old school scam, surprised u fell for it...hope telcos dun really sue bah...

they have to spend more money recouping that small amt...nt worth it

Firestone

That is correct. Telco dont share info. Else would have heard of ppl saying they have no phoneline, mobile, internet which is not poss in todays context. Similarly these are minority cases which at most they write off, still highly profitable or 3 telcos wont survive for so long.

Similarly, cbs has no such data of telcos like what naruto mentioned for obvious reasons. Only banks will do that.

I remember when number portability got introduced, Syniverse Technologies got the bid to get build the central database. all the records should be there for all the telcos to search

but whether anyone actually goes to that trouble to check whether a potential customer is blacklisted by other telcos is another story

amberlight

I remember when number portability got introduced, Syniverse Technologies got the bid to get build the central database. all the records should be there for all the telcos to search

but whether anyone actually goes to that trouble to check whether a potential customer is blacklisted by other telcos is another story

I believe Syniverse Technologies is appointed by ida to do number portability centralized database administrator only. Gd info though. :)
Found this: Press Releases | News/Events | Syniverse Technologies

So i reckon telcos will never share their biz database for sensitive reasons. This is esp so for ST hahaha. Actually, same family afterall if u knw what i mean... :(

Spirax

nope, i felt they don't share. someone i know own telco A $500 plus, blacklist by them since 10 years back. But still able to sign up with telco B and C. No deposit to pay and still can sign up high plan.
They will notified all telecos 'ic/name/outstanding balances' as blacklisted after 3yrs from termination.

Of course it is up to each telco discretion for any new approved sign up.

amberlight

They will notified all telecos 'ic/name/outstanding balances' as blacklisted after 3yrs from termination.

Can verify how true is this and how does it work?

whaleshark87

Sorry ar, Telcos are not allowed to do that. Unless you have proof of that. Else don't just any how blurt out incorrect info. :s13:.
Sharing of personal information with other telcos will just jeapodise their own business and being getting sued.
Unless the person has been issue with a bankruptcy order from gov, then the 3 telcos will stop the person from signing up new contract.

amberlight

Sorry ar, Telcos are not allowed to do that. Unless you have proof of that. Else don't just any how blurt out incorrect info. :s13:.
Sharing of personal information with other telcos will just jeapodise their own business and being getting sued.
Unless the person has been issue with a bankruptcy order from gov, then the 3 telcos will stop the person from signing up new contract.

I was thinking on the same line. Thats why im asking him for verification on how it is being done.

naruto13

u got insider info on the policy etc arh?
able to share? maybe via pm.

zaza11

Hi people,

Just wondering, anyone ever encountered/got involved in this 'scam' where someone(usually a friend) asks you to sign an iPhone plan with any of the telcos in Singapore. You don't get to keep the iPhone but you get paid about $200. The plan is registered under your name but they tell you that they'll foot all the bills as long as you change your billing address to their address.

Some friends and I fell prey for this and now we are receiving lawyer letters here and there. They have not paid a cent and the bill is at a whopping $1.3k.

Should I bring the police in on this? Anyone with advice would be much appreciated.

Me! Guess i'm on the same boat as u. I was scam by this guy called James. *I'm not sure whether his real name is James but what i know is that he stays in hougang last time. He now currently in working in SAF if i'm not wrong. I signed up 2 lines, M1 and Starhub back in 2010 with 3 of my friends. Till now, he haven't clear our bills. He only pay a some of money for us to pay by installment. Only $50 a month. Sometimes nvr even pay. Then need to keep msg and call. But most of the time he won't pick up the call. Damn f up this kind of ppl.*

zaza11

About 2 months ago, me and my friend went to his house at sengkang. When we reached there, we found out that he has alr move out somewhere. The person say that a lot of ppl beat up that james liao. This one his old address.

James address: Blk 316B #06-191 Anchorvale Link

Hi people,

If friend, just confront him la. If not friend why would anyone so stupid to use his name and address to sign plan?

chenaz

With so many ppl reporting the same guy. This can consider as a scam case already.

Just report police and let them settle. But usually police do thing very slow for this kind of case. U need to keep pushing them and push them then they will start doing.

After that u just tell SingTel that u fall into a scam and I think they will understand your circumstances and won't ask u to pay for sometime .

heysayse7en

With so many ppl reporting the same guy. This can consider as a scam case already.

Just report police and let them settle. But usually police do thing very slow for this kind of case. U need to keep pushing them and push them then they will start doing.

After that u just tell SingTel that u fall into a scam and I think they will understand your circumstances and won't ask u to pay for sometime .

sorry i deleted my messages because i showed the guy the link that this was a scam

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.