iPod nano (1st generation) Replacement Program

RICHY8

I'm gonna send in mine. Hope I'm still eligible.

Becareful Apple is not replacing your 1st Gen with a similar 1st Gen.
Only some low end 8 Gb Nano 6th Gen (possibly a refurnished product - S$130 in Apple store) is offered.

The set I handed for the battery replacement (4 Gb White), was very well maintained and specially kept.
The existing battery still have enough juice (fully charged) to last 3 to 4 hrs.

I still have the orginal boxes and a few sets of 3rd party protective cases for this 1st gen unused,some still unopened, ready to receive my newy replaced 1st gen nano.

If I known that was going to happen I would have just kept mine. It was in good working order and used a lot. I just sent it in to get the battery replaced in case what they recalled would happen.

The first gen had so much value. The scroll wheel was great. The size was prefect to carry around.

Anyway, the "offer" to replace my top of the line (at the time of purchase) 4 Gb Nano with the present lowest value 8Gb Nano 6th gen is not of equal or same same value.
Unless the Nano you sent in is not in working condition.

Have a pending case no. with Apple.com now!
Wish me luck!

jekslee

I just called the Apple SG toll line and based on the serial number,they confirmed that my 1st Gen iPod nano is eligible. They gave me a Case ID to note down. Thereafter, I went to Sapura@Funan and was given a Receipt. According to the service personnel, the new iPod 6th Gen will only be available for collection in 6 weeks, and only colour is silver.

email received today asking me to collect. total 10 days wait.

tekster

Becareful Apple is not replacing your 1st Gen with a similar 1st Gen.
Only some low end 8 Gb Nano 6th Gen (possibly a refurnished product - S$130 in Apple store) is offered.

The set I handed for the battery replacement (4 Gb White), was very well maintained and specially kept.
The existing battery still have enough juice (fully charged) to last 3 to 4 hrs.

I still have the orginal boxes and a few sets of 3rd party protective cases for this 1st gen unused,some still unopened, ready to receive my newy replaced 1st gen nano.

If I known that was going to happen I would have just kept mine. It was in good working order and used a lot. I just sent it in to get the battery replaced in case what they recalled would happen.

The first gen had so much value. The scroll wheel was great. The size was prefect to carry around.

Anyway, the "offer" to replace my top of the line (at the time of purchase) 4 Gb Nano with the present lowest value 8Gb Nano 6th gen is not of equal or same same value.
Unless the Nano you sent in is not in working condition.

Have a pending case no. with Apple.com now!
Wish me luck!

U jin bo liao...

tekster

20120323_124446.jpg

Yay, just collected mine today!
21days wait

RICHY8

U jin bo liao...

Not everyone likes the 8 Gb 6th Gen Ipod Nano! :s11:

tried the 6th Gen: call me old styled.
don't like the Fit (in my hand) and Feel (touch) controls. :o

There is no size fit all for everyone!

Anyways, the 4 Gb 1st Gen Nano is a piece of history! :D
It will be very hard or expensive to get a set in this pristine condition AND working fit.

Just warning those who would rather treasure their 1st Gen Nano for sentimental reasons. ;)

tekster

Not everyone likes the 8 Gb 6th Gen Ipod Nano! :s11:

tried the 6th Gen: call me old styled.
don't like the Fit (in my hand) and Feel (touch) controls. :o

There is no size fit all for everyone!

Anyways, the 4 Gb 1st Gen Nano is a piece of history! :D
It will be very hard or expensive to get a set in this pristine condition AND working fit.

Just warning those who would rather treasure their 1st Gen Nano for sentimental reasons. ;)

I'm not saying you must like the nano shuffle.
What i meant was, news already out that when u send yr old nano, u will get a current gen one. So since u know, yet u still go send in exchange and now u want it back EVEN THOUGH u still find the battery life great. Thus u r jin bo Liao.

RICHY8

I'm not saying you must like the nano shuffle.
What i meant was, news already out that when u send yr old nano, u will get a current gen one. So since u know, yet u still go send in exchange and now u want it back EVEN THOUGH u still find the battery life great. Thus u r jin bo Liao.

It's the 1st Gen Ipod Nano, a great piece of history! not the Shuffle.

Apple sent me an email, that goes something like this:

Apple - Support - iPod nano Replacement Program

Nothing in it says that we will not be getting back a similar 1st Gen Nano: little to much to be expecting my own Nano to be returned back!
It does not indicate Apple is gonna scrap the collected 1st Gen and replace them with a current low end 6th Gen Nano.

And I did ask at Wheelock before handing it in. :s11:

wai

any deadline for this replacement program? may be i can wait for the next gen of nano then replace?

smz

Went to Wheelock Place today for replacement. Was told it will take six weeks. But if I were to go to 313, it will be on the spot replacement. Lazy to go there so I proceeded with the six weeks wait.

So can consider heading to 313 for replacement if you want it on the spot.

tekster

It's the 1st Gen Ipod Nano, a great piece of history! not the Shuffle.

Apple sent me an email, that goes something like this:

Apple - Support - iPod nano Replacement Program

Nothing in it says that we will not be getting back a similar 1st Gen Nano: little to much to be expecting my own Nano to be returned back!
It does not indicate Apple is gonna scrap the collected 1st Gen and replace them with a current low end 6th Gen Nano.

And I did ask at Wheelock before handing it in. :s11:

hahaha i'm not emotionally attached to historical stuff. so good riddance to mine which was faulty anyway.

well, sad for you la. hope you get it back.

tekster

Went to Wheelock Place today for replacement. Was told it will take six weeks. But if I were to go to 313, it will be on the spot replacement. Lazy to go there so I proceeded with the six weeks wait.

not necessary 6 weeks. mine took 21 days to come back.

anywhere to hoot a nice strap?

james87lin

Ipod Nano Recall

Anyone knows if there is a dateline for the recall? I'm overseas and will be back to singapore by early July. Please kindly advise.

Many thanks

joetan123

Ooooo i didn't email to check. Heng mine can change.

My iPod was dissected, lcd screen also crack Liao. Heng can change. Really glad i never throw away last time.

Really? Crack liao still can change? Mine also cracked already, I emailed all 3 of them, wondering which one you wen to, maybe I go over and try my luck also. Hehe.

tekster

Really? Crack liao still can change? Mine also cracked already, I emailed all 3 of them, wondering which one you wen to, maybe I go over and try my luck also. Hehe.

coz the screen cracked, so i took the nano apart several years ago and used it as thumbdrive only. so after hearing of this replacement, i put it back and brought it to sapu something at funan.

i never emailed nor checked, juz bring in. after they verify the s/n, asked me to sign liao. juz bring in la.

tekster

Anyone knows if there is a dateline for the recall? I'm overseas and will be back to singapore by early July. Please kindly advise.

Many thanks

i asked, but they said dunno when. i think it's whilst stocks last.

rhizopus

just got my replacement from 313@sommerset.

Instant replacement. No need to make prior appointment.

Come, take queue number, wait about 10 minutes, surrender my full-of-battle-scar ipod nano gen 1, fill up some form, and then i walk away with Ipod nano Generation 6 :D

rhizopus

just got my replacement from 313@sommerset.

Instant replacement. No need to make prior appointment.

Come, take queue number, wait about 10 minutes, surrender my full-of-battle-scar ipod nano gen 1, fill up some form, and then i walk away with Ipod nano Generation 6 :D

oh forgot to add... no option to choose color.
Only silver color is available.

No need to bring original earphone and charger. They just take the ipod.

flaveur

wheelock e-serv told me the same, 4-6 wks. but i dropped it off on a Friday and got the replacement 3 days later on a Monday.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.