iRobot Scooba experience

mariatan

sAxman, when u buy, was it for a brand new, used or remanufactured? If u buy from ebay n there's fraud, can't u report the seller to ebay so they could freeze his/her membership? If u paid with a credit card then u could maybe call the bank n file a 'report' or whatever they call it,u know, kind of a disclaimer thing, I did that once when an online seller shipped my order to a wrong address n i ended up getting a full refund.anyhow, wish u good luck, do keep us updated.

sAxman_Returns

i believe the unit is a 335. But the box and the warranty card is 340.

He did mention 335 in the ebay page and I paid through paypal. The issue is, he claimed that he took out the whole set and try it for me to see if it's working. However, I only asked him to test the power adapter and the battery is working.

the base is soooo dirty, I dun think it's a "testing" kind of thing....more like a "raped" set.....

spa0142xq3.jpg

damn pissed lar. bought the automatic transformers 80W one for $30, brought home, not working....sigh....

sAxman_Returns

buay tahan liao, just filed a paypal/ebay dispute. I have my buyer protection right to claim back the amount I paid. But I will lose the $100 of freight from US to SG sigh.....

ktee

i believe the unit is a 335. But the box and the warranty card is 340.

He did mention 335 in the ebay page and I paid through paypal. The issue is, he claimed that he took out the whole set and try it for me to see if it's working. However, I only asked him to test the power adapter and the battery is working.

the base is soooo dirty, I dun think it's a "testing" kind of thing....more like a "raped" set.....

spa0142xq3.jpg

damn pissed lar. bought the automatic transformers 80W one for $30, brought home, not working....sigh....

Cant see pic leh. Sad to hear tat. Ebay is luck esp. from abroad. :s31:

However, the seller did mention 335 so you cant complaint if he didnt ship to you 340. But if he mentioned new set and shipped to you used set, you hv the right to kick his a**. If he mentioned used set, then u LL loh.

sAxman_Returns

he bite the word "335", so I LL for that part.

But the set is not new for sure, he stated "NEW" in his auction, so I am biting his tail on that now. full or scratches at the bumper, dirty sand, sticky stuff, and hairs stuck in the brush, vacuum duct etc. You call this NEW/used for 1 time testing?

He gave me these crap reasons:
1.the 335 box was damaged when he asked UPS to bring it back to correct my shipping address. I emailed him so many times and asked him to include everything clearly in the address, and also telephone, he simply ignore and went ahead, now still want to complain how much he actually paid it for the re-shipping. The box sent to me was so nice, how can UPS screwed up a box within US shipment? KNS lar.
2.I asked him to test the power adapter, battery and virtual work, just to make sure they are working and not faulty. He said he took my set and full charge it, happily run it for 1 full cycle....WTF, he is an experienced ebay seller, how can he did such thing without double confirm with me?! 1 time trial testing, but how come it is so dirty? walao eh......he has so many Scooba at home, why must he test those stuff on my new set?

I'm not going to let him go and most probably this case would be escalating to paypal to resolve. He KPKB liao, coz his paypal kena freezed....

jc777

But the set is not new for sure, he stated "NEW" in his auction, so I am biting his tail on that now. full or scratches at the bumper, dirty sand, sticky stuff, and hairs stuck in the brush, vacuum duct etc. You call this NEW/used for 1 time testing?

1.the 335 box was damaged when he asked UPS to bring it back to correct my shipping address. I emailed him so many times and asked him to include everything clearly in the address, and also telephone, he simply ignore and went ahead, now still want to complain how much he actually paid it for the re-shipping. The box sent to me was so nice, how can UPS screwed up a box within US shipment? KNS lar.
2.I asked him to test the power adapter, battery and virtual work, just to make sure they are working and not faulty. He said he took my set and full charge it, happily run it for 1 full cycle....WTF, he is an experienced ebay seller, how can he did such thing without double confirm with me?! 1 time trial testing, but how come it is so dirty? walao eh......he has so many Scooba at home, why must he test those stuff on my new set?

I'm not going to let him go and most probably this case would be escalating to paypal to resolve. He KPKB liao, coz his paypal kena freezed....
haha, that seller is so funny, trying to smoke you out ah. how to freeze others paypal account? keep on bitting on this and dont like it go until he makes restitutions!

ktee

Wrongful description - Against eBay rule -> bro, u hv a case!

But, "hairs" - :eek::eek: Sue him for pyschological and "hygiently" damage.

Testing a scooba needs to install the battery and press clean. If it moves ok liao. why need to move til pick up sand, hairs, other PERSONAL things, omg. :s16:

naxchua

ho seh liao... my mum told me tat Vpost delivered my roomba in the noon.... i haven't open up cos still at work... got to buy the transformer tonight...... so just to double confirm, i just need to buy 100W or above right?

:D:s12::s12::D

HyperD_

ho seh liao... my mum told me tat Vpost delivered my roomba in the noon.... i haven't open up cos still at work... got to buy the transformer tonight...... so just to double confirm, i just need to buy 100W or above right?

:D:s12::s12::D

For crying out loud, huai the fug does chiu guys lub to use the word "Double Konfirm"? all from malaysia one si bo?

Yes, 100W n above will do.

mariatan

When I first got my Trilobite a couple of months ago, i was also concerned to see the original electrolux tab broken,a fair bit of dust on the shiny front bumper of the robot, the filter was new n dustbin clean though.I emailed my seller in Europe n he assured me that all electrolux appliances would be taken out for a one time test run by the manufacturer for QC. I believed him for i recall that a local Taiwanese sales person from electrolux also mentioned this QC proceedure when i bought my upright canister some years back.The point is, test runs (by that, it usually means a one full cycle until batteries are depleted) would not get your machine scratched n it definitely will not get hair etc in the brushes.The seller is lying for sure .

naxchua

For crying out loud, huai the fug does chiu guys lub to use the word "Double Konfirm"? all from malaysia one si bo?

Yes, 100W n above will do.

wah lao... dun like that la... my 1st 110V device mah... cos later ish buy wrongly then problem leh... :(

mariatan

BTW,like I mentioned, i just got my scooba 380,roomba 570 and dirt dog.Is there anything that i sure take note of before charging?I think since power supply here in Taiwan is same as US(110 V),i don't need a transformer but what about power surge?Do u guys use a surge protector?Read something about risks of over charging,should i leave the robot on the charger all the time like suggested on the irobot manual?

pinkiez

transformer

one quick qn :

Newstar 230V able to support a roomba 570 & scooba 580 together?

Is a power surge protector necessary?

thewiseone

Do u mean Newstar 230W? If its a 220V -> 110V Newstar stepdown transformer rated for 230W, yes it will be able to support BOTH a Roomba 570 and a Scooba (580?? Do u mean 380?).

A surge protector is not ABSOLUTELY NECESSARY (well it still works fine w/o one) but HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!
one quick qn :

Newstar 230V able to support a roomba 570 & scooba 580 together?

Is a power surge protector necessary?

thewiseone

sAxman, do u mind telling us this ebay seller's nick so that we can all stay clear of this seller?

sAxman_Returns

how come you all buy so big power one? I got a Super 80W automatic transformer.

anyway, here was the auction:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=200186474525

I seriously need some advice as to escalating this case to paypal. Coz if I get a refund, I still have to ship it back to US leh.....how how how?

I'm thinking of requesting a set of all replacable parts and close the case, how do you guys think? bohbian lar, 335 then 335 lor....or shall I push him for 340? but he said his post stated 335 woh...

mariatan

Pardon me for asking this stupid question, but with so many types n brands of surge protector in the market, what are the specs that we should look for?

sAxman, how much would it take for u to ship back to US? If the spare parts that u were going to request include a battery n charger then, maybe OK to let go loh, afterall, he sell u cheap mah.

sAxman_Returns

sAxman, how much would it take for u to ship back to US? If the spare parts that u were going to request include a battery n charger then, maybe OK to let go loh, afterall, he sell u cheap mah.

that's not the point you see. I placed a maximum bid of USD199 and it was just lucky that nobody bidded beyond USD167.50. Cheap is one thing, integrity is another thing. How can we let such thing happen? I do not doubt his integrity, perhaps he mixed it up with another Scooba of his or he "accidentally" tested it extensively.

I just need a fair treatment when things turn out sour......frankly speaking, I dun mind he pass me a set of replacement parts and I can simply clean it myself and forget about it. But that won't remind him for the next deal that he should have double confirm with the buyer if he should actually tested it blindly without much thinking.....

as for shipping it back, I can use a snail moving EMS to ship back to him. I think it would still cost $100 at least :( but heck, I am prepared for this, if he want to be GL with me. Anyway, I have taken the 2 serial number to both HSN and iRobot to pass me the manufacturing date, shipping date to HSN from iRobot warehouse and also the purchase date details. The sequence is important, that will shows if he's got integrity....by right he should ship me the "newest" unit since he mentioned "extra unit" in his ebay post. But given the fact that what I have on hand is so dirty and scratched, I really dunno what to believe already sigh....

now he's threatening me that he may want to file an appeal for lesser refund coz it will not be new anymore when I ship back to him. kns.....

maria, can share more about your paypal claim experience in more details? kamsia :D Did you get any refund from your Trilobite and did you return the set to him eventually?

oh yah, now talking about the surge....I'm wondering which shall I buy, those comes with multiple plugs extension one not good enough meh?

croc1977

how come you all buy so big power one? I got a Super 80W automatic transformer.

anyway, here was the auction:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=200186474525

I seriously need some advice as to escalating this case to paypal. Coz if I get a refund, I still have to ship it back to US leh.....how how how?

I'm thinking of requesting a set of all replacable parts and close the case, how do you guys think? bohbian lar, 335 then 335 lor....or shall I push him for 340? but he said his post stated 335 woh...
mine is 100 newstar cost $25...

his 200W?? i think $40...++

btw guys need to check is it nesscary need on the roomba 24/7? and keep chaRGING IT...will it spoilt the batt bor? i don't dare to off...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.