iRobot Scooba experience

Wow.. why not just clean twice.. scooba pretty expensive to ship.. my one now waiting at vpost.. but somehow they dun accept my uob credit card, so cant get discount :(

mosmos

whypurplishblue said:
Wow.. why not just clean twice.. scooba pretty expensive to ship.. my one now waiting at vpost.. but somehow they dun accept my uob credit card, so cant get discount :(
battery not enough. :(

should have bought another battery that time. :(

Oh, the UOB promo code can only use once per card holder.

mosmos

whypurplishblue said:
:eek:

have you paid the vpost bill?

there's another 10% promo code

CyberMew said:
10% discount code: 051GZMG
10% discount code till sept 30: 072D51C

mosmos said:
:eek:

have you paid the vpost bill?

there's another 10% promo code

Oh nooooooooooo I just paid before checking back the forumm :eek: oh well.. impatient ppl normally learn the hard way hehe..

Zapper

p3c_sgd said:

Hi, I am thinking of modifying my roomba psu too. But I notice the 47uF 400V capacitor from ur picture is modded at different position as compared to that from http://gianmauro.wordpress.com/2006/12/29/irobot-roombascooba-110v-to-220v-mod/. Ur capacitor is at the output side (nearer to the dc out) where the other website is at the centre of the circuit board. I wonder is that the one modded from gkrobot? :s11:

ktee

Wat p3c has is a Scooba. BUT his charger is a roomba 2nd edition (w varsitor)!!! Hmmm... as he bought fr court, it cant be from gkrobot, it shld be fr the local dist.

Perhaps they didnt remove the varsitor but chg it to 360v type. But they chg the 100uf cap & not the 47uf cap for the Roomba charger is puzzling. :s11:

Any help? :s12:

Zapper

I just got mine from US. It is Roomba PSU 2nd edition. Exactly the same as p3c. Now I am confused!!!! Anyone modded their successfully?

p3c_sgd

The pictures I shown is the roomba charger, not scooba. I bought it from gkrobots. Seriously, i know nothing about all this. Anyway, I did not turn off the charger since the first day I used it...this was advised by gk....no problem leh...

ktee

Oh... I see. So u hv a roomba & a scooba.. I shall join ur rank when my sets arrived (scooba is on the way, roomba is in vpostusa)... I need to mod 2 sets!!! Hope i will not fry any... :s7:

Can you show us the photos of your scooba charger? & wat is the varsitor at your roomba charger, is it 360v? If it is modded by gk or local dist, they shld be alright & the way to follow for us non-electrician! :o

Zapper

Everyone in other forum is talking abt the 47uF and when I saw urs is the 100uf that why I am a little puzzled. Thanks for the reply.

ktee

zap, after u mod, pls tell us wat you do. We want to learn fr ur experience. & where u get the short 47uf@400v cap? How long is it... i can only find 3cm cap at SLT. can a 3cm tall cap fit into your charger? If can, i dont need to look for shorter type. =:p

thewiseone

Just a Qs here, why is everyone so interested in opening yr power supply and modifying it to accept 240V AC? Granted its a more elegant solution to an additional step down transformer but u r after all takng a risk modifying a perfectly working power supply. U are not covered by any local warranty and if u screwed up in the process, its going to cost u $$$ to purchase and ship a new power supply over.

You may have read abt bad experiences with voltage converters but pls do not mistake an electronic voltage converter with a step down transformer. The Roomba / Scooba will work reliably for years with any decent step down transformer u can find in SLT. Its only going to cost u $20 +/-. Just my 2 cents opinion on this.

jasonllh

hi! can anyone tell me if the new discovery roomba has the new swivel castor wheel (black and white colour). Just recently bought one (early July) and found that it has repeatedly scratched my parque floors . The original wheel is all black in colour with 2 pointed ends on both sides. Is the discovery series still using this wheel? anyone can help esp those who just bought a new discovery from irobot. thanks.

jasonllh said:
hi! can anyone tell me if the new discovery roomba has the new swivel castor wheel (black and white colour). Just recently bought one (early July) and found that it has repeatedly scratched my parque floors . The original wheel is all black in colour with 2 pointed ends on both sides. Is the discovery series still using this wheel? anyone can help esp those who just bought a new discovery from irobot. thanks.

have you tried taping the wheel with a thin layer of electrical tape? its more for making your wheel last longer.. but it might help you with your scratching problems :)

thewiseone

Over time, even the latest swivel castor wheel gets sand and dirty accumulation, thereby possibly scratching yr parquet flooring. Suggest u regularly clean the wheel to prevent the accumulation. If u have the original black fixed castor wheel, then taping it will help. Rather than using black tape, i found that using felt material (its smooth and a little furry) instead of black tape gets better results. The latest series of Discovery comes with the swivel castor wheel, unless u r buying off old stock from merchants.

jasonllh said:

jasonllh

thewiseone said:
Over time, even the latest swivel castor wheel gets sand and dirty accumulation, thereby scratching yr parquet flooring. Suggest u regularly clean the wheel to prevent the accumulation. The latest series of Discovery comes with the swivel castor wheel, unless u r buying off old stock from merchants.

tell me you are not joking.....i got it from gkrobots!!! they told me and on receipt that it is new and just came in from the customs??? old stocks?? i just got it last weekend!! think got to check with them already. got to go home check serial number.

thewiseone

Hang on, dont jump the gun. Getting a Discovery w/ a fixed front castor wheel does not mean its an old/used item. Merchants may be holding buffer stock of earlier batches of Discoveries with the fixed castor wheel. Usually, these items will be selling at a slightly cheaper price than the new batches with the swivel castor wheel.

p3c_sgd

My scooba bought from Courts but now I am in HK. When I am back in Sing, I will take a photo of the charger...You guys really pro leh...try to mod here and there...at the end of the day, becareful lor...cos I duno whether it will catch fire or not after long term usage if you mod urself....

Jason, i bought a sage from gkrobots. It is caster wheel. They show me discovery(white, without caster wheel), a sage (green, without caster wheel) and a sage(silver, with caster wheel). They explain to me the difference. Finally I took the caster wheel silver sage but it still scratch my parquet. I could see lines on the floor. I think it scratch the wax.

I regretted getting the caster wheel because it always stuck at the balcony window's rail. You know caster wheel can turn 360 degree, so when it goes to the rail, the wheel turns 90 degree and it sits directly into the rail and get stuck! Everytime I have to close balcony window. I remember when I loan the demo set from GK, it was a white discovery without caster wheel. It does not have this problem because the wheel is fixed and it goes to the rail and reverse. Do you wana swap with mine :) mine is less than a mth old...haha

I read in roombareview that not all roombas come with caster wheel. If you are lucky, you get it cos irobot will send out with or without caster wheel. Be it new or old stock. You go roombareview and do a search. You shld be able to find the answer. I hope it helps. Anyway, my mum's marble floor was badly scratch by my scooba haha.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.