iRobot Scooba experience

XxDrAg0nxX

yes, I think at least the new one does. That's why if we get a 22V adaptor it won't work cos it'll consistantly output 22V right from the beginning: Even when the battery is low at 14V.

For computation of power, you can use this formulat

Power (W) = Current (A) x Voltage (V)

Wow.. my secondary school physics teacher's face just flashed before my eyes :s22:

I think I get what you mean :D

Sian, tot it was an easy way out :(

sAxman_Returns

saxman mind sharing how much u got your 5th gen roomba for? from ebay right?

USD26 is cheap indeed. never kena tax or duty?

USD250. Actually comgateway dun bother about you sending them invoice, you just key in whatever sh*t you want ICA to see will do. SGD$400 then will kena 7% tax. I got 1st kg waived so only USD26 nia. Scooba is much bigger and heavier......

but hoh, there is no similar offer in ebay, dunno why......now all above $300 one de neh.....

ebay one ish by luck one de neh. This seller was offering very ridiculous price but there was an "best offer option". Being hand itchy, I just sent $250 best offer, he accepted it and sh*t then I realized I have to pay! should have sent a much lower price :s22:

jc777

yah, my cousine shipped to me using USPS express. $84 from California.

Quite expensive but sent on Friday afternoon I received Monday afternoon. damn fast.
US$84 or S$84? that is for 1 roomba or averaged out for 2 roombas?

mingkiat

US$84 or S$84? that is for 1 roomba or averaged out for 2 roombas?
US84 for express air shipping.

the non express cost USD$81 but takes 6-8 business days.

This is for 1 roomba. Total will bring the price of roomba to about S$530 if u can get 560 at about USD290. But now buy.com promotion over and at $345, the price should be much higher may be about $600.

The costco 550 mentioned by someone in this thread looks like a better package at the current pricing.

thewiseone

At these shipping prices, there is already a markup possibliy for the handling/packaging/profit. You can cross ref with USPS website for exact shipping charges. I paid US$72 for a Scooba 350 via USPS International Priority, a Roomba should not be higher.

US84 for express air shipping.

the non express cost USD$81 but takes 6-8 business days.

This is for 1 roomba. Total will bring the price of roomba to about S$530 if u can get 560 at about USD290. But now buy.com promotion over and at $345, the price should be much higher may be about $600.

The costco 550 mentioned by someone in this thread looks like a better package at the current pricing.

mingkiat

At these shipping prices, there is already a markup possibliy for the handling/packaging/profit. You can cross ref with USPS website for exact shipping charges. I paid US$72 for a Scooba 350 via USPS International Priority, a Roomba should not be higher.
No lar, my cousine shipped for me. She bring the box down to her USPS office to ship. Actual stamps shows on the box is about $84 so no markup or profit.

From USPS website, by entering the dimensiona nd weight, it's about US$80+ also

thewiseone

Really strange, never incur this much shipping charges for my Roombas and Scoobas. Maybe the new Roomba package is a whole lot bigger? :s11:

No lar, my cousine shipped for me. She bring the box down to her USPS office to ship. Actual stamps shows on the box is about $84 so no markup or profit.

From USPS website, by entering the dimensiona nd weight, it's about US$80+ also

sAxman_Returns

Really strange, never incur this much shipping charges for my Roombas and Scoobas. Maybe the new Roomba package is a whole lot bigger? :s11:

very simple, walk in rate vs corporate/bulk discounts.....

it's the same for all freight company.

Yes, go for 550 if you're getting roomba, no point getting anything higher coz they are all the same, except some additional accessories which you can buy separately at much cheaper price.

The Costco 550 I got has free batteries for the lighthouses as well as additional 3 filters.

thewiseone

I dont think so, take a look here http://ircalc.usps.gov/default.aspx?Mode=Intl_Single&CID=10378

A Roomba Scheduler (4230) based on volumetric shipping weight is 12.0lbs. Checking with the table using International Priority Shipping, the charges should be US$67.50, online price is US$64.13! Even on a bigger shipping weight of 14lbs dont go beyond US$80.

very simple, walk in rate vs corporate/bulk discounts.....

it's the same for all freight company.

Yes, go for 550 if you're getting roomba, no point getting anything higher coz they are all the same, except some additional accessories which you can buy separately at much cheaper price.

The Costco 550 I got has free batteries for the lighthouses as well as additional 3 filters.

hansolo76sg

thanks for the reply.

i've not been able to get from US retailers so tats why considering ebay as you suggested. think use250 is already a very good price already. count yourself lucky :)

USD250. Actually comgateway dun bother about you sending them invoice, you just key in whatever sh*t you want ICA to see will do. SGD$400 then will kena 7% tax. I got 1st kg waived so only USD26 nia. Scooba is much bigger and heavier......

but hoh, there is no similar offer in ebay, dunno why......now all above $300 one de neh.....

ebay one ish by luck one de neh. This seller was offering very ridiculous price but there was an "best offer option". Being hand itchy, I just sent $250 best offer, he accepted it and sh*t then I realized I have to pay! should have sent a much lower price :s22:

XxDrAg0nxX

Jesus Christ...

I unleashed the roomba on my shop...

In less than 1 hr, bin full.... :s11:

XxDrAg0nxX

:s11: have you 1st charge your battery for 16hr?

so is the bin full already?

I use the fuzzy logic charger to pump in as much as it can accept already... I also lazy to overnight charge... I dun believe its necessary also... its NIMH, not NICAD...

I didnt know my shop so dirty sia...

U open it up... POOM... all the dirt fell out :s22:

sAxman_Returns

I dont think so, take a look here http://ircalc.usps.gov/default.aspx?Mode=Intl_Single&CID=10378

A Roomba Scheduler (4230) based on volumetric shipping weight is 12.0lbs. Checking with the table using International Priority Shipping, the charges should be US$67.50, online price is US$64.13! Even on a bigger shipping weight of 14lbs dont go beyond US$80.

you still dun get it. freight forwarders dun follow a specific pricing for all. Different channel got different pricing. That's why you can see all sorts of freight charges for identical item from 1 single freight forwarder. It's up to you to find the best rate.

I can't be bothered so much, just hoot an account in CGW and get your 1st kg waived and subsequent 0.5kg is USD2 each, cheap cheap.

thewiseone

I'm afraid u did not get my point. USPS in US is like what Singpost is in Singapore. If u have actually followed the link i posted above, these are rates to END USERS. Mingkiat mentioned that his cousin shipped the Roomba for him (in reply to my suggestion of higher postage paid for coverage of admin/box/profit, suggesting profiteering to be out of the Qs). My Qs becomes why they have to pay a higher rate (even higher than end user pricing? unless of course the new Roomba 500 series comes with a much larger packaging). I'm clearly aware of the freight industry, having been in the industry for years.

you still dun get it. freight forwarders dun follow a specific pricing for all. Different channel got different pricing. That's why you can see all sorts of freight charges for identical item from 1 single freight forwarder. It's up to you to find the best rate.

I can't be bothered so much, just hoot an account in CGW and get your 1st kg waived and subsequent 0.5kg is USD2 each, cheap cheap.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.