iRobot Scooba experience

sAxman_Returns

if i help u mod at half that price, you want anot?

sure! if you are also providing the power supply :D

if just modding alone, I can get it done for free hehe....

I think in the end the transformer is the easiest way liao if dunno how to ownself mod...

Can use for other things next time also mah :D

I already have transformers, but the thing is, it's eating up too much electricity.....

never mind, I go measure the exact power drawn and see if it's really wasting power.....

thewiseone

The population of forummers here dont really represent a significant % of the population in Singapore. Yes, the lightning surge is not common like an everyday affair but its not as isolated as many people perceived. You have to check this out from people in the related fields such as managing agents, electrical contractors, etc.

No, my electrical circuits are properly wired up.

oic, what i am saying is not that it is impossible, but given everybody here, anybody else experience that? and staying HDB/private?

probably your case was isolated one. maybe the electric circuit was not wired up properly, then caused 2 times power surges.

sAxman_Returns

wow, the speakers of Roomba 550 is damn solid. the sound also improved much and it's not that noisy compared to scooba. Upon pulling of the battery protector, the lady voice come out liao lol!

Anyway, decided to measure exactly how much power it's drawing. To my surprise, this transformers seems very efficient. Currently it's drawing 34-36W to charge the Roomba for the first 16 hr! Actually do we need to run the battery dry first b4 charging? opps.....When the power supply is idle, it's drawing a few watt only, forgot to take this picture just now.... So I think dun need to mod liao lar......not really wasting electricity as expected.... the docking process damn fast and accurate, just 1 time and pop! it's IN! 5th generation, woohoo!
spa0033kv4.jpg
spa0034hp9.jpg

anyway, confirm our voltage is 240V :s22:
spa0035qv2.jpg

actually the current drawing is 0.2A that makes the VA to be 48W. Waliew. 0.75 factor? luckily i'm only charged for Watt......if not jialat liaoz menz...I think that's the disadvantage of transformers ----> lower factor....which may not affect our final bill though....

XxDrAg0nxX

Guys...

The stupid roomba keep climbing on top of shallow stuff...

Is there anyway to mod it so that it doesnt climb up stuff and get stuck? :(

XxDrAg0nxX

Ok did something simple...

I stuck 2 wooden chopsticks into the hole in front :D

Marked off the floor level and snip it off...

Hope it works :D

wbz94x.jpg

bahang

wbz94x.jpg

This roomba front wheel is rotatable, my scheduler one is the fixed front wheel.

Anybody got idea how to change to ratotable one? or where to get the rotatable front wheel.

mosmos

:s22: roomba wheels have spring / suspension. Putting 2 stick infront may lift it up, hinder its smooth movement around or it's ability to clean the floor properly.

sAxman_Returns

Wah u also go and buy that power measure thinggy...

How much was it?

actually i can't remember exactly how much, but roughly around $50 like that lar. Locally not available at all....

anyway, the correct power needed for Roomba 550 and above should be 28.125W only. So if my transformers is drawing 34W, that means the efficiency is 83%, not so bad for a transformers. I thought it's always been <= 50%. Anyway, a 80W transformers can easily host 2 Roomba without problem.

It's reaching its 15hr now,
spa0046cj1.jpg

and guess what? it's only drawing 6W,
spa0044mq3.jpg

not sure about normal idling power, will report sometime later.....the total power drawn so far is only 0.13kWh.
spa0045mr9.jpg

A good vacuum cleaner can draw 2000W during operation, if Roomba 5th generation is more effective, efficient and able to cover more than 90% of what a normal vacuum cleaner is doing, it's really good value for money. Save the world, save energy, save your pocket too :s22:

mosmos

This roomba front wheel is rotatable, my scheduler one is the fixed front wheel.

Anybody got idea how to change to ratotable one? or where to get the rotatable front wheel.
I don't think you can change it.

mosmos

actually i can't remember exactly how much, but roughly around $50 like that lar. Locally not available at all....

anyway, the correct power needed for Roomba 550 and above should be 28.125W only. So if my transformers is drawing 34W, that means the efficiency is 83%, not so bad for a transformers. I thought it's always been <= 50%. Anyway, a 80W transformers can easily host 2 Roomba without problem.
<= 50% means the max power the transformer can supply. :o

so you put 2 roomba at 80w may stress the transformer.

XxDrAg0nxX

:s22: roomba wheels have spring / suspension. Putting 2 stick infront may lift it up, hinder its smooth movement around or it's ability to clean the floor properly.

Actually it worked leh! :eek:

I pushed it all the way down and made sure the chopsticks never touch the floor, just nice 1mm above.

Now it doesnt go over shallow stuff! hehehe.. :)

thewiseone

Its not so simple, think u have to replace the entire assembly to accomodate the swivel caster wheel. The kit should be available at www.roombaexchange.com if i recall correctly.

mosmos

Actually it worked leh! :eek:

I pushed it all the way down and made sure the chopsticks never touch the floor, just nice 1mm above.

Now it doesnt go over shallow stuff! hehehe.. :)
becareful the stick may "draw" permanent lines and circles on your floor when bins are heavy.

thewiseone

Meaning that many of these transformers are optimally rated. Some may not be able to sustain stable operation, especially when operating close to its max power handling capacity 24/7

stress in what way?

34W x 2 < 80W.......tough maths?! :s22:

thewiseone

U can just simply stick those rubber stud / protectors u can find in many DIY stores, should be easier on the floors and other items should there be contact.

becareful the stick may "draw" permanent lines and circles on your floor when bins are heavy.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.