zzzz73

Inside Box!

ROOMBA 535

07042009001.jpg

Under Belly of Roomba

07042009002.jpg

Woohoo... New improved CHM version! HUAT AH!!!!

I'm keen to know if new ones come with NiCD or NiMH battery.

Is it possible for you to give a picture of the battery?

Christa

oh no... help!

I just received my 535 from woot too..

Went to homefix and challenger to find the NewStar 100W transformer as suggested here.

But.. both dun carry the 100w...

so the challenger person ask me to get a Newstar 230watts max one...

i plugged in.. and the charger light dun light up. Neither does my roomba..

How ar? issit i burnt something or the charger is faulty?

*ultra clueless*:s22:

Christa

Hmmm my dad open up the charger, and inside is ok, not burnt. Got electricity passing through also, but no lights....

Can i still continue to charge?

Or issit better to bring somewhere to mod the chargeR?

Only mod the charger or need to mod the roomba also?

sgbikee80

Anyone has the following items for roomba 400 series? Kindly pm me.

Battery(working or non-working)
home base
schdule remote control

boluilang

Hmmm my dad open up the charger, and inside is ok, not burnt. Got electricity passing through also, but no lights....

Can i still continue to charge?

Or issit better to bring somewhere to mod the chargeR?

Only mod the charger or need to mod the roomba also?

measure the voltage on the charger. should be about 23V

boluilang

I haven't dismantle the roomba. maybe i will do that next week. any difference between nicd or nimh?

kangkeng

It is definitely a NiMH battery. They haven't used NiCD batteries in the Roomba for a long time.

Anyway, my 535 runs for way over an hour, so it is unlikely to be a NiCD.

Christa

measure the voltage on the charger. should be about 23V
Uh? Measure voltage? Hmmm I only have the test pen. That means nothing wrong with the convertor then. Dunno is it my charger faulty.

I am very tempted to use my oto slimming belt charger to charge leh. Also around 20v can use or not?

thewiseone

Is there a switch to select AC input voltage? If there's one, make sure its correct selected at 220V AC input and NOT 110V AC.

Uh? Measure voltage? Hmmm I only have the test pen. That means nothing wrong with the convertor then. Dunno is it my charger faulty.

I am very tempted to use my oto slimming belt charger to charge leh. Also around 20v can use or not?

boluilang

Think get a cheap multimeter to test. Cheap one cost abt 10 to 15. Each house should have one.

zzzz73

I haven't dismantle the roomba. maybe i will do that next week. any difference between nicd or nimh?

Energy density. NiMH is more dense thus providing energy for a longer period.

If I am not wrong, iRobot NiMH batteries have yellow shrink-wrap. NiCD ones are wrapped with black ones.

zzzz73

It is definitely a NiMH battery. They haven't used NiCD batteries in the Roomba for a long time.

Anyway, my 535 runs for way over an hour, so it is unlikely to be a NiCD.

My Roomba 560 bought a year ago comes with NiMH.

The recent one that my sister bought comes with NiCD.

When the NiMH battery is fresh, I managed to get it running for about 2.5 hours before it docks.

It is only recently that I realised that my 560 worked for about an hour only when it docks. Time to change my battery.

alanseah

My 1 yr plus 500 series battery already totally dead. I try search around for replacement battery but fail to find any better or cheaper one.

Anyone have any idea where to order?

mosmos

My 1 yr plus 500 series battery already totally dead. I try search around for replacement battery but fail to find any better or cheaper one.

amazon selling those battery. :o

you can also go SLS rebuilt one. :o

not sure will it be cheaper. :o

thewiseone

Go Roomba review to check if the Li-Ions are out for the 5xx series. For Roombas, the best choice is to get a Li-Ion replacement if u can. Should see u through a longer period b4 replacement, not to mention yr Roomba has less weight to lug around as well.

jipnggc

Roomba battery 5XX

Anyone can advise how to get 5xx series battery from Irobot? The google checkout icon was disabled leh

Thank you

dankoo

Anyone can advise how to get 5xx series battery from Irobot? The google checkout icon was disabled leh

Thank you

I believe once you select batt, they will remove the google check out option. Borderlinx concerige service or thru ebay...

alanseah

Nope...no Li-ion batt for 500series yet.

Yes I'm also waiting for the Li-ion for 500 series...but too bad 1 plus yr and still no news. Thinking of keeping the 500 series and then continue run my 400 series until the li-ion battery for 500 series is out.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.