iRobot Scooba experience

android

Any expert can answer my question ?I'm found out eBay selling irobot roomba model:440 only SGD220 include shipping with USPS. It's only clean 2 room and u can buy high capacity battery from eBay too ~ SGD56 . Total ~ SGD 280 I can get my roomba to clean 4/5 room similar with model :560 which cost > SGD500. As I know model:560 got additional auto docking and time schedule but this function is not a must if comparing the price. Worth to buy ??
why dun u try to hunt for a refurbished roomba 530 from ebay.... got auto dock function.....

leong3k

why dun u try to hunt for a refurbished roomba 530 from ebay.... got auto dock function.....

Refurnished irobot 530 not cheap also ~SGD400.Irobot 440 brand new only ~SGD220.Since all the robot vacuum not perfect compare with normal vacuum cleaner ,at the end still need to use vacuum cleaner to complete the job.As I use roomba only to maintain floor clean as such no need to spend additional $ to hv extra function.Actually for ~SGD400 I can get 2 set of roomba 440.I can assign 1 maid(roomba) to clean living hall ,another maid(roomba) to clean living room , eventually my task wlll complete faster 50%,Self docking base is not necessary but fun to see roomba back to docking base if u like.Roomba 440 also can clean edge and along the wall like other 500 series roomba and with clean & spot function. This only my view , welcome any comment as still deciding which model to buy.

leong3k

Refurnished irobot 530 not cheap also ~SGD400.Irobot 440 brand new only ~SGD220.Since all the robot vacuum not perfect compare with normal vacuum cleaner ,at the end still need to use vacuum cleaner to complete the job.As I use roomba only to maintain floor clean as such no need to spend additional $ to hv extra function.Actually for ~SGD400 I can get 2 set of roomba 440.I can assign 1 maid(roomba) to clean living hall ,another maid(roomba) to clean living room , eventually my task wlll complete faster 50%,Self docking base is not necessary but fun to see roomba back to docking base if u like.Roomba 440 also can clean edge and along the wall like other 500 series roomba and with clean & spot function. This only my view , welcome any comment as still deciding which model to buy.
As I heard if roomba battery low , it will go back to charge but after full charge it will start over vacuum but not resume the job.If it's really then no point having self charging ..just my view.

uno_bliss

As I heard if roomba battery low , it will go back to charge but after full charge it will start over vacuum but not resume the job.If it's really then no point having self charging ..just my view.
U're absolutely right that 2 Roomba running simultaneously in their own "zone" will get job done faster & probably more thorough, since being focus is always good.

Without Home Base, each Roomba will stop & play "job done" tune, I estimate "job done" will happen after 1 hr cos Roomba typically assign 1 hr to do large area.
In that case, u won't even need to upgrade battery since 440 comes with 70 mins blue NiCD battery.
The advantage of Home Base is that battery will not be "starved" for long period after it gets depleted. Prolonged flat battery situation is bad for NiMH battery, but I think should be alright for the 70 mins blue NiCD battery.
iRobot manual says NiCD should be empty during long-term storage.

So a typical dual 440 scenario:
- u disconnect chargers & press Clean for both Roomba
- u leave house
- u come home (say 10 hrs later), both Roomba stopped, probably with Orange or Red power indicator
- u connect both to charge until next morning
- cycle repeats

All in all, I don't see anything wrong with such scenario.
6 mths later u take a peek inside Roomba, and u realise OMG there's so much coiled hair & cakes of dust. Welcome to the 400 series world...:o

mosmos

:o Maybe if you can wait, you can go for woot.com sale or try your luck at hsn.com

leong3k

U're absolutely right that 2 Roomba running simultaneously in their own "zone" will get job done faster & probably more thorough, since being focus is always good.

Without Home Base, each Roomba will stop & play "job done" tune, I estimate "job done" will happen after 1 hr cos Roomba typically assign 1 hr to do large area.
In that case, u won't even need to upgrade battery since 440 comes with 70 mins blue NiCD battery.
The advantage of Home Base is that battery will not be "starved" for long period after it gets depleted. Prolonged flat battery situation is bad for NiMH battery, but I think should be alright for the 70 mins blue NiCD battery.

- u leave house
- u come home (say 10 hrs later), both Roomba stopped, probably with Orange or Red power indicator
- cycle repeats

6 mths later u take a peek inside Roomba, and u realise OMG there's so much coiled hair & cakes of dust. Welcome to the 400 series world...:o[/QUOTE
No need 6 month to empty the dustbin lah , every day b4 plug in the charger just empty it.Whatever vacuum sure got dust one lah, if not that vacuum useless.

leong3k

- u leave house
- cycle repeats

6 mths later u take a peek inside Roomba, and u realise OMG there's so much coiled hair & cakes of dust. Welcome to the 400 series world...:o[/QUOTE
No need 6 month to empty the dustbin lah , every day b4 plug in the charger just empty it.Whatever vacuum sure got dust one lah, if not that vacuum useless not do work at all.

uno_bliss

No need 6 month to empty the dustbin lah , every day b4 plug in the charger just empty it.Whatever vacuum sure got dust one lah, if not that vacuum useless not do work at all.
The 6 mths Easter Eggs is inside Roomba 440, cos it's based on similar structure as 400 series, which has plenty of openings for hair & dust to hide.
iRobot realised that, so 500 series was completely re-designed with air tight structure.

400 series will still function well, and u can open up to clean inside every 6 mths. If got dust related malfunction, cleaning inside would resolve.

The loudness that Jubooo mentioned comes from the bottom brushes, they rattle more with wear & tear. Changing new brushes won't help cos it's the gear mechanism that's shaking.

Jubooo

The dust we are refering to is not in the bin. No doubt the 400 series does a good job in vacuuming INTO the bin, it does a greater job in RETAINING those dust bunnies in the mainboard, sensors, bumper, you name it..........it's everywhere :s22::s22::s22:

I am not detering you to get it, basically I think roomba is a great product. Go for it!!!!!

kimsim

My new look of faceplate color

DSC_6362.jpg

DSC_6355.jpg

DSC_6347.jpg

DSC_6346.jpg

uno_bliss

:eek: so nice~

for me, at first use very heart pain when see scratches, but after many use don't really care liao~ :(
I agree with Mosmos.

Bumper padding is more to protect furniture.
The screen protector film on control panel is nice, provided it doesn't obstruct view of control display. I use moist cloth to wipe my control panel, then I noticed micro scratches. Scratches from moist cloth??? Gosh! Fed up!

Since many of us treat Roomba like part of the family, plus to the guys... it's a high-tech gadget. Cleaning & protecting it is normal.

In US, Roomba owners dress up their Roomba and paste googly eyeballs on it.:s13:
http://www.irobotskins.com/

kimsim

haha

actually i'm also same facing like you said.
got many scratche on top with Roomba lable is disappear.

so i thinking to spray with pearl-blue color, so now i feel like very satisfied.

on control panel i use laptop keyboard protected
for the original silicon bumper double sidetape is lose then i just find at hardware shop for window and seal gap, it's very used full for house furniture.

DSC_6371.jpg

DSC_6374.jpg

DigDub

anyone got sell just the yellow brush bearing for roomba brush?

pearlypearl

So which Roomba, please?

If I were to get one in Singapore, can it be used in Australia? I will be bringing it along with me to Aussie for 2 years...

Amongst the 500 series, which is the most popular and friendly model? I do not have a pet and will be staying in a 2-bedroom apartment in Aussie and a 3-bedroom apartment in Singapore. I checked the webbie at http://robovac.weebly.com/roomba.html and realised there are a few models that are already out of stock. Do you provide demo on the products? Thanks!

uno_bliss

If I were to get one in Singapore, can it be used in Australia? I will be bringing it along with me to Aussie for 2 years...

Amongst the 500 series, which is the most popular and friendly model? I do not have a pet and will be staying in a 2-bedroom apartment in Aussie and a 3-bedroom apartment in Singapore. I checked the webbie at http://robovac.weebly.com/roomba.html and realised there are a few models that are already out of stock. Do you provide demo on the products? Thanks!
Do check out my eBay store: http://shop.ebay.com.sg/uno_bliss/m.html
U can email queries to unobliss@yahoo.com

Units sold by me will work fine in S'pore, Australia & even USA. I've got cheap & good models.
Oh yah... I do free delivery & demo.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.