iRobot Scooba experience

ritomax

mosmos said:
it will bang slightly, thought it sounds hard, the furniture still on the same place. :s22:

how many rooms i am not very sure now, cos i mostly use on balcony only to vacuum dry leaves.

But i once tried before, it can vacuum whole of 5 rm flat excluding balcony. :o

My concern is if it will scratch the wooden furniture. Battery life seems good though. :s12:

mosmos

ritomax said:
My concern is if it will scratch the wooden furniture. Battery life seems good though. :s12:
:o I don't think it will scratch the furniture.

if you are worried, you can paste something infront of the bumper such as foam or bubble pack to prevent scratching yr furniture.

for battery life, it will sure last abt 100mins for APS battery. :o

appiez

is it Scooba for floor washing and roomba for vaccums?

bakasa2002

Actually my 535 does bang into wooden furniture as well, it all depends on how in approach the them. If it's at 45deg, I guess, it will still bang into the corner of the furniture. Anyone else using the 5th gen roombas care to share experience?

Thanks mosmos for the buy.com deal n google chkout. Any idea will the deal go on for a while or is it a 1-day thingy? ;)

mosmos said:
it will bang slightly, thought it sounds hard, the furniture still on the same place. :s22:

how many rooms i am not very sure now, cos i mostly use on balcony only to vacuum dry leaves.

But i once tried before, it can vacuum whole of 5 rm flat excluding balcony. :o

mosmos

bakasa2002 said:
Actually my 535 does bang into wooden furniture as well, it all depends on how in approach the them. If it's at 45deg, I guess, it will still bang into the corner of the furniture. Anyone else using the 5th gen roombas care to share experience?

Thanks mosmos for the buy.com deal n google chkout. Any idea will the deal go on for a while or is it a 1-day thingy? ;)
:o no idea how long it will last.

kelvar

I'm running a 530 for some time now. I realise it doesn't slow down under the following conditions:

- Thin objects like legs of chairs
- Non glossy black objects

The angle of approach does affect it but it will even slow down when it is going into a wall at a very small angle so there is definitely sensors at the sides.

mosmos

appiez said:
is it Scooba for floor washing and roomba for vaccums?
:o yah.

scooba can also do a little bit vacuum like hairs, strings and small leaves before spraying water.

mosmos

appiez said:
thankie mosmos :)
can advise me again which to get for a 4rm flat? thanks again :)
getting scooba? I am not sure what is yr budget. :o

If you have read the previous posts, new scooba 5800 is $199.99. Price really too attractive. But only covers 250sq, not enough for 4rm. If get another scooba battery, may have problem sending back on vpost.

Or you can get 2 scooba 5800. :s22:

Scooba 380 got $50 off + 10% discount. Good price. Enough battery for yr whole 4rm flat.

appiez

hmm cheapest model possible :o I wanted to try scooba, but can only use their clorox solutions right? if thats the case i would go for roomba.

mosmos

appiez said:
hmm cheapest model possible :o I wanted to try scooba, but can only use their clorox solutions right? if thats the case i would go for roomba.
:o scooba 5800, 350 and 380 can just use tap water.

I am using tap water everyday, no problem.

i still got a small bottle of clorox left, don't like to use, bec got chlorine smell. :crazy:

In that case, guess get scooba 5800 from LNT lor. :o

appiez

mosmos said:
In that case, guess get scooba 5800 from LNT lor. :o
just tried, no box for me to fill in discount code and no more free ship :(

still can't decide get 5800 or 4220roomba ..

thanks mosmos.. you are helpful :)

mosmos

appiez said:

:s11: for LNT? I am not sure whether got free shipping now.

For 20%, you can't use google checkout. You need to fill in address details, etc and click next until to payment then can fill in 20% discount code. :o

kangkeng

ritomax said:

In my HDB flat, the Roomba Red can do 3 bedrooms in "clean" mode before the battery goes flat.

bakasa2002

Yeap, agree with what you've mentioned. It's not 100%, still need a few virtual walls or putting up some bumper strip if you have delicated wood furniture, esp those made of veneer. :) btw, my roomba tried climbing the base of my floor standing fan, left quite a few scratches on it ...:(

mosmos, i tried your coupon code 223823997733 for 20% OFF YOUR ENTIRE ORDER. It works, no need registered, just need to key in shipment details, but there's not more free shipping currently.:(

If you getting the 5800 at LNT, might wan to consider amazon as well, it's selling 229 inclusive of free shipping, about the same, but I wld buy fr Amazon.

kelvar said:
I'm running a 530 for some time now. I realise it doesn't slow down under the following conditions:

- Thin objects like legs of chairs
- Non glossy black objects

The angle of approach does affect it but it will even slow down when it is going into a wall at a very small angle so there is definitely sensors at the sides.

bakasa2002

hi appiez, get a roomba if you wan to 'sweep/vacuum' your flr quite frequently, like 2-3 times a week. With the auto return to home base, roomba is more 'automated' than a scooba in that sense, require less human intervention

For a scooba, though it preps the flr, b4 washing, you will still hv to help it refill or clear dirty water and maybe charge it, so it will still require a certain degree of human intervention, plus it doesn't have a docking base. Also, your startup cost of trying a robot vacuum/washer is also likely to be higher, like abt usd220+ for 5800 at LNT n also 420+ at irobot for the 380 excluding shipping.

I currently own a roomba and believe I will still get a scooba later, cos' the 'sweep/vacuum' is really effective, to the extend the flr feels clean even wo mopping! haha .... I still try to manual mop with water once every 2 wks lah ...

appiez said:

appiez

thanks bakasa2002, shall follow your advice get a roomba first :)

aware if roomba 4420 enough to cover 4rm flat?

bakasa2002 said:
hi appiez, get a roomba if you wan to 'sweep/vacuum' your flr quite frequently, like 2-3 times a week. With the auto return to home base, roomba is more 'automated' than a scooba in that sense, require less human intervention

For a scooba, though it preps the flr, b4 washing, you will still hv to help it refill or clear dirty water and maybe charge it, so it will still require a certain degree of human intervention, plus it doesn't have a docking base. Also, your startup cost of trying a robot vacuum/washer is also likely to be higher, like abt usd220+ for 5800 at LNT n also 420+ at irobot for the 380 excluding shipping.

I currently own a roomba and believe I will still get a scooba later, cos' the 'sweep/vacuum' is really effective, to the extend the flr feels clean even wo mopping! haha .... I still try to manual mop with water once every 2 wks lah ...

kangkeng

appiez said:
thanks bakasa2002, shall follow your advice get a roomba first :)

aware if roomba 4420 enough to cover 4rm flat?

Er... you do understand that you can't just turn the roomba on and expect it to vacuum the entire house in one go right? It just isn't clever enough to properly distribute the cleaning between rooms. Plus the battery will only be able to handle only about 3 rooms before it goes flat.

What I do is usually have it clean one part of the house at a time. Typically, just before leaving the house in the morning, I turn it on in the living room(for example), close the bedroom doors and block off the kitchen(with a virtual wall or chair). So when I get back in the evenings, the living room is clean. If the battery isn't flat, I'll get it to clean one of the bedrooms. Charge and repeat elsewhere the next day.

appiez

hmm i get what you mean le.. thanks for the explanation :)

kangkeng said:
Er... you do understand that you can't just turn the roomba on and expect it to vacuum the entire house in one go right? It just isn't clever enough to properly distribute the cleaning between rooms. Plus the battery will only be able to handle only about 3 rooms before it goes flat.

What I do is usually have it clean one part of the house at a time. Typically, just before leaving the house in the morning, I turn it on in the living room(for example), close the bedroom doors and block off the kitchen(with a virtual wall or chair). So when I get back in the evenings, the living room is clean. If the battery isn't flat, I'll get it to clean one of the bedrooms. Charge and repeat elsewhere the next day.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.