iRobot Scooba experience

thewiseone

1) Used to own the Cleanmate QQ1 many moons ago. Unless there's a change in its cleaning system, the old one was plagued by a very small intake path. What happens in actual usage is larger debris tends to get trapped in the path, leading to a loss of performance and often needs attention to clear the path. IMO, u are better off with a Roomba (any model) vs the Cleanmate. Its navigation system is neither as good as Roomba's (for a non smart mapping bot).

3) Yes u can but it will not be as effective as wet mopping. In addition, the mop attachment cannot be used if u intend to use the bot on carpets.

like to find out:

1) Any comment on this Cleanmate QQ3 (the new 3rd
generation). I read some review that QQ2 is pretty ok
except it has hard time finding its charging base. Price wise
is much cheaper then irobot/LG.

2) Another question is any local seller carry Evolution Robotics
Mint?

3) LG roboking comes with mop (dry) function. Does it mean
the robot can sweep and vacuum and mop at time? How it
fair on the mopping capability when compare to the Mint?

LG price still abit steep that may puts me off (at the moment). I am thinking whether to make a combination to get a cheaper robot like QQ3 for sweeping and vacuum + sterilize using the UV and the Mint for mopping.

aklryan

2) Yes, the 'local seller' is me lor ... I been trying to sell my Mint for a while, you keen? Under-utilised. Do note Mint and Mint+ is diff hor. ;)

Oh i mean real local seller like Juboo. Yes understand Mint and Mint+ got difference.

Can consider lah.
1) How long you own it already?
2) How under utilised?
3) Come with any accessories like the microfiber cleaning cloths (new or used before already)
4) Important how much you intend to let go.

Don't mind PM me

aklryan

This is what i found on the New QQ3 spec. Some improvment on the features but not sure if the cleaning logic got improve.:s11:

CleanMate QQ3 is the next generation of QQ2. It has all the good features of QQ2 and more. Two-stage cleaning with strong vacuuming power[/COLOR], QQ3 can clean dirt, dust and pet hair. Optional sonic wall to confine cleaning area; its function is similar to virtual wall. QQ3 has better intellegent to search and locate charging base quickly. QQ3 can work ceaselessly up to 100 minutes on a single charge.
Product Description
Features:

Compact body enables to clean hard-to-reach place.
With Remote control, easy to adjust its walking direction.
Five kinds walking lines ensure anywhere you allowed at home. Special bounce, sprial, along wall, S shape, and polygonal spiral.
Gentle-touch bumper design ensure not missing the dust in the corner.
2PCS of S-shaped rolling brush and big capacity trash box helps in cleaning big trash.
Sweep function, can be run at the same time of cleaning.
Virtual wall parts prevents the main unit going anywhere you don't want it to go.
Timed-cleaning, it will remember your order as preserved to clean the floor.
With UV light, can kill the bacturiem up to 90% on your floor.
Side brushes enlarge cleaning area with hair, dust or tassels.
Built-in cliff avoidance sensors prevent from falling down stairs.
Self-recharging function, automatically search dock station to recharge as weak power.
Big capacity of rechargable battery, enough for 120minites working on the ceramic tile and 80minutes on the carpet.
Works quitely, with only 68dB noise.
RoHS, GS, CE, UL certificate.
Warranty period: 1 year, Battery warranty 6 months.

Specifications:

Size of machine: 36.2(Diameter) *9.2cm(Diameter)
N. W. Of machine: 3.2KG (machine)
Power consumption: 20 W
Battery: Ni-MH 14.4V 2200mAh (machine); NiMH 1200mAh(dummy wall)
Charging time: 2.5~3.5h (machine); 5~8h (dummy wall)
Working time: >90 min (machine); >72h (dummy wall)
Remote distance: >3m (remote control); 1.5m(dummy wall)
Wind power: 3.8m/sec
Trash box capacity: 0.67L
Available color: Green

Vachel Chan

like to find out:

2) Another question is any local seller carry Evolution Robotics
Mint?

3) LG roboking comes with mop (dry) function. Does it mean
the robot can sweep and vacuum and mop at time? How it
fair on the mopping capability when compare to the Mint?

LG price still abit steep that may puts me off (at the moment). I am thinking whether to make a combination to get a cheaper robot like QQ3 for sweeping and vacuum + sterilize using the UV and the Mint for mopping.

Yup the LG rooking 617X ($799) may be a bit steep indeed. The Mint is $350 and Mint plus around $100 more, Still savings of around 50% from the roboking. Do drop me a PM me interest. All brand new sets and in stock. The Mint Plus comes with an added accessories, like a cleaning base which allows you to store water inside and it will release the solution as it mops. Function and Movement-wise, both are similar.

bakasa2002

Keep an eye on Woot, Scooba 385s have been selling at a discounted price. Worth grabbing one to keep as a spare if u can. :)

I am definitely waiting for the nx Woot given the pathetic state my 340 is in ... Hahahha .... Pls share here if such a deal come along and I happen to miss it. :)

bakasa2002

They actually removed the 380 off their site.

I think 380 and 390 is same price so it make sense to remove it rather than sell it cheaper since the only significant improvement is batt mgt. I do agree with wiseone bro that iRobot tech improvement seems to have stagnant over the years. To me, only gd part was aerovac fr a end user experience perspective. :)

bakasa2002

Oh i mean real local seller like Juboo. Yes understand Mint and Mint+ got difference.

Can consider lah.
1) How long you own it already?
2) How under utilised?
3) Come with any accessories like the microfiber cleaning cloths (new or used before already)
4) Important how much you intend to let go.

Don't mind PM me

Wah ... So much details needed ... Hehehhe .... I think you need to know Mint/Mint Plus != Roomba/Scooba and it doesn't thoroughly clean yr flr like a Roomba/Scooba does. As in one of them is a like a magiclean mop kind of action, no suction, while the other has sweeping/suction kind of cleaning.

Maybe you share w us the budget and we be able to advice you on what combination is best for your requirement?

If you are looking for a 2-in-1, the best bet today is the Mint Plus. I have a friend who really like hers and find it really helpful cos' she just wanted a automatic magicmop kind of bot which Mint Plus did exactly that. :)

aklryan

Yup the LG rooking 617X ($799) may be a bit steep indeed. The Mint is $350 and Mint plus around $100 more, Still savings of around 50% from the roboking. Do drop me a PM me interest. All brand new sets and in stock. The Mint Plus comes with an added accessories, like a cleaning base which allows you to store water inside and it will release the solution as it mops. Function and Movement-wise, both are similar.

Woh... vachel really sell all kind of robots. You name it he has it.....:s13:
Is good to know now someone has it so i could decide later on.

aklryan

Wah ... So much details needed ... Hehehhe .... I think you need to know Mint/Mint Plus != Roomba/Scooba and it doesn't thoroughly clean yr flr like a Roomba/Scooba does. As in one of them is a like a magiclean mop kind of action, no suction, while the other has sweeping/suction kind of cleaning.

Maybe you share w us the budget and we be able to advice you on what combination is best for your requirement?

If you are looking for a 2-in-1, the best bet today is the Mint Plus. I have a friend who really like hers and find it really helpful cos' she just wanted a automatic magicmop kind of bot which Mint Plus did exactly that. :)

Are basis questions mah if buy from 2nd hand seller. :s8:

I initially have just thought to get a robot to help me out on the floor sweeping, then i mop the floor my own. i usually sweep and mop weekly (due to only got some free time during weekend but sometime miss it then will have to do it the following week). My sequences involve sweep the floor, then mop my 3 rooms using dry/wet magic clean fibric and mop the other floor using traditonal mopping with pile of solution water inside. No carpet in my hse but some small fibric mats lay around.

After much readup on the bot and checking on the review. Come across bot like irobot, roboking (which has a dry mop feature which is good for me), mint which mainly use for mopping inlcude dry/wet (seem can replace me to mop the 3 rooms inlcude under the bed as well as drp mop my living room n kitchen), QQ3/mami robot (which is an cheaper alternative to those branded robot).

Budget wise using the roboking $799 as reference... still figuring out if is good to spend heavily just on roboking or split into 2 bots to perform what i use to do.

uno_bliss

Are basis questions mah if buy from 2nd hand seller. :s8:

I initially have just thought to get a robot to help me out on the floor sweeping, then i mop the floor my own. i usually sweep and mop weekly (due to only got some free time during weekend but sometime miss it then will have to do it the following week). My sequences involve sweep the floor, then mop my 3 rooms using dry/wet magic clean fibric and mop the other floor using traditonal mopping with pile of solution water inside. No carpet in my hse but some small fibric mats lay around.

After much readup on the bot and checking on the review. Come across bot like irobot, roboking (which has a dry mop feature which is good for me), mint which mainly use for mopping inlcude dry/wet (seem can replace me to mop the 3 rooms inlcude under the bed as well as drp mop my living room n kitchen), QQ3/mami robot (which is an cheaper alternative to those branded robot).

Budget wise using the roboking $799 as reference... still figuring out if is good to spend heavily just on roboking or split into 2 bots to perform what i use to do.
Lemme emphasize few things:
1) Roomba is the ONLY vacuum robot with patented counter-rotating brush system with self-adjusting brush height to prevent motor overload in the case of carpet (due to much higher resistance), video: iRobot Roomba: How it Works

Roomba 500 series onwards have anti-tangling brush system, the revised versions from late 2009 onwards have improved green Cleaning Head Module (CHM), which greatly reduces likelihood of hair/fur entering into gearbox. The Aerovac bin brings things to the next level by further reducing hair entanglement on the bristle brush. So readers should read iRobot reviews from 2010 onwards, and not to get all worried about problems which were pre-2010.

Why iRobot insist on retaining their bristle brush design, instead of just rubber beater brush like Neato XV11/12 is bcos bristle brush is required for proper sweeping of dust & hair in carpet.
Neato gets good review in US bcos there's no hair/fur to remove from the rubber beater brush, such simplistic design was done purposely to avoid the complains which people give Roomba. But at what cost? Neato isn't very clean on hard floor, let alone carpet with embedded hair/fur.
Roomba users know that Roomba leaves floor very clean, while Neato doesn't handle sandy debris very well, bcos it relies purely on the vacuum to suck up the sand.
Even if we compare Vorwerk Kobold VR100 (the i dunno what to call... cousin? of Neato) which has half bristle brush instead of full rubber beater brush, the ability to pick debris is still limited cos it's not counter-rotating brush system like Roomba.

2) Mint Plus is a wet magic clean broom on wheels. Scooba is a wet-washing robot that scrubs with clean water & immediately sucks away dirty water.
Qs. Will germs & dirt from point A be transported to point B?
As. Mint Plus - Of course! Scooba - No way!

So regarding Wiseone's comment that "the lack of competitors means there's no pressure to innovate", I couldn't agree more. THERE IS NONE!

If a user wants similar "wet wiping" effect like Mint, iClebo & LG Roboking, they can always get the Robot Add-on attachment for Roomba, Here: Hard Floors
If I don't already own Scooba, I would have DIY something similar.

3) For vacuuming chores, the cheaper alternatives can be:
a) QQ2 or QQ3 (as I've written here: http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/51917497-post7485.html)
b) Mami robot
c) My Genie (as I've written here: http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/62153564-post8739.html)
d) Paranello (as I've written here: http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/61756648-post8702.html)
e) V-bot (as I've written here: http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/55066329-post8009.html)

But let's face it, after u've read thru my brief write ups, u'll think twice. I can't say anything about Mami, can anyone else here who's used Mami before comment? Anyone?... I didn't think so.

Vachel Chan

Neato has Newer accessories coming out soon in April, Comes with bristle Brushes and newer filters. The newer accessories come with the Neato XV-21, The bristle brushes and filters can purchased separately to be fixed to the existing XV-11, Though the XV-21 would come with software 2.6, the XV-11 can be updated too. Actually in the Newer batches of Neato XV-11, the wheel Spring module has also been improved. (according to Neato Robotics.)

Can check the info of the XV-21 here.
Neato XV-21 bot announced, no reason for existing owners to upgrade

Would have the new brushes and filters available soon. :)

bakasa2002

This is what i found on the New QQ3 spec. Some improvment on the features but not sure if the cleaning logic got improve.:s11:

CleanMate QQ3 is the next generation of QQ2. It has all the good features of QQ2 and more. Two-stage cleaning with strong vacuuming power[/COLOR], QQ3 can clean dirt, dust and pet hair. Optional sonic wall to confine cleaning area; its function is similar to virtual wall. QQ3 has better intellegent to search and locate charging base quickly. QQ3 can work ceaselessly up to 100 minutes on a single charge.
Product Description
Features:

Compact body enables to clean hard-to-reach place.
With Remote control, easy to adjust its walking direction.
Five kinds walking lines ensure anywhere you allowed at home. Special bounce, sprial, along wall, S shape, and polygonal spiral.
Gentle-touch bumper design ensure not missing the dust in the corner.
2PCS of S-shaped rolling brush and big capacity trash box helps in cleaning big trash.
Sweep function, can be run at the same time of cleaning.
Virtual wall parts prevents the main unit going anywhere you don't want it to go.
Timed-cleaning, it will remember your order as preserved to clean the floor.
With UV light, can kill the bacturiem up to 90% on your floor.
Side brushes enlarge cleaning area with hair, dust or tassels.
Built-in cliff avoidance sensors prevent from falling down stairs.
Self-recharging function, automatically search dock station to recharge as weak power.
Big capacity of rechargable battery, enough for 120minites working on the ceramic tile and 80minutes on the carpet.
Works quitely, with only 68dB noise.
RoHS, GS, CE, UL certificate.
Warranty period: 1 year, Battery warranty 6 months.

Specifications:

Size of machine: 36.2(Diameter) *9.2cm(Diameter)
N. W. Of machine: 3.2KG (machine)
Power consumption: 20 W
Battery: Ni-MH 14.4V 2200mAh (machine); NiMH 1200mAh(dummy wall)
Charging time: 2.5~3.5h (machine); 5~8h (dummy wall)
Working time: >90 min (machine); >72h (dummy wall)
Remote distance: >3m (remote control); 1.5m(dummy wall)
Wind power: 3.8m/sec
Trash box capacity: 0.67L
Available color: Green

How much is it selling?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.