iRobot Scooba experience

Jubooo

i see... cos i thot of getting 1 and see roomba or neato better... =:p

From what I see, I prefer the Neato's smart navigation but I also like Roomba's iAdapt which is more realistic as a single pass imho is not able to properly clean the area. If roomba can map the room, that will be great. I also like the efficiency of roomba's brushes. Though there is additional things to clean, it is still relatively easy to complete the task.

I've seen many complaining of cleaning but if you do it on a rugular basis and not let the hair accumulate, it is a pretty simple task except for those who have fur balls at home. 8 out of 10 roomba that come to me for servicing had so much hair accumulate on the brushes till they look like a felt washer. :s22:

alanseah

From what I see, I prefer the Neato's smart navigation but I also like Roomba's iAdapt which is more realistic as a single pass imho is not able to properly clean the area. If roomba can map the room, that will be great. I also like the efficiency of roomba's brushes. Though there is additional things to clean, it is still relatively easy to complete the task.

I've seen many complaining of cleaning but if you do it on a rugular basis and not let the hair accumulate, it is a pretty simple task except for those who have fur balls at home. 8 out of 10 roomba that come to me for servicing had so much hair accumulate on the brushes till they look like a felt washer. :s22:

For me which I had own a roomba since the 4xx time which is like 2~3 yrs back till now the 5xx series. i also lazy to clean the brush daily.. sometime it will be like few months then I clean once...

So I found an easy way out.. whenever cleaning the brush u use a small scissor or a pen knife and all those trap hair or fur will be very easy to remove.

Jubooo

haha ya I know.. but then why we all brought roomba because we are lazy right...=:p

:s13: But not to the extreme like not cleaning for several months. It takes only 5-10 mins to empty the bins and clear the brushes. It is easy to just pull a few strands of hair than cutting a bunch of hairs that is stuck so tightly.

I get roomba for daily maintainance for the children's sake :o It's simply amazing :eek: that it can pick up so much dust even on a daily run.

naxchua

i see... The only thing i dun like is the bearing box... dirt will go in the box (from my past roomba 4290)... i have no issue with the brush...

naxchua

:s13: But not to the extreme like not cleaning for several months. It takes only 5-10 mins to empty the bins and clear the brushes. It is easy to just pull a few strands of hair than cutting a bunch of hairs that is stuck so tightly.

I get roomba for daily maintainance for the children's sake :o It's simply amazing :eek: that it can pick up so much dust even on a daily run.

esp roomba come with the cleaning kit to remove hair from brush... not difficult afterall...

Jubooo

I don't understand why everone had this issue while I had been using for 2 years with 3 JRTs and my gearbox is in great condition 6 months I open up to clean and lubricate. Those who own JRT will know that they shed tremendous amount of fur.

This lead me to conclue that with regular cleaning of the brushes (don't need extensive one, just remove those few strands of hairs and dust off all the dirt every 3-4 runs) can prevent debris from entering the gearbox.

Jubooo

actually that one also got solution... just purchase the mod CHM will do...

There had been people reporting the modded one also allows dirt and hair to enter. I believe it all boils down to regular maintenance.

naxchua

I don't understand why everone had this issue while I had been using for 2 years with 3 JRTs and my gearbox is in great condition 6 months I open up to clean and lubricate. Those who own JRT will know that they shed tremendous amount of fur.

This lead me to conclue that with regular cleaning of the brushes (don't need extensive one, just remove those few strands of hairs and dust off all the dirt every 3-4 runs) can prevent debris from entering the gearbox.

Dunno leh... hahaha... i clean my roomba everyday leh... somemore got buy airduster to blow out those dust stuck at the void below the buttons...

btw, can u still remember what happen to the roomba i donated to you? :D

mosmos

Dunno leh... hahaha... i clean my roomba everyday leh... somemore got buy airduster to blow out those dust stuck at the void below the buttons...

btw, can u still remember what happen to the roomba i donated to you? :D

:s22: the dust at the void below no need use airduster~

just use a thin long watercolor brush to brush all the dust everytime you empty the bin~ :o

naxchua

:s22: the dust at the void below no need use airduster~

just use a thin long watercolor brush to brush all the dust everytime you empty the bin~ :o

aiya, everytime clean sensor and bin, i will see the dust deep inside... just spray lor... hahaha...

now u still using roomba? i am feeling lazy again... lol... now woot also dun have roomba liao...

kimsim

Ermm....which one? You're the one in HG?

Hi, bro

Can I asking the time schedule setting, how to cancel if not using at all.

Because I only set in per week a one, but today not in the schedule with I did't put at home base with power switch off.

After I come back home I saw my Roomba still working and stop there, cause my home base power not switch on.
Looks like my Roomba wanna do home work as much I expected.
Ask him for rest at home then he doing works ha ha.

I just want to know, when the Roomba not use at all, how to cancel for schedule with how I know it can be runs out of the day schedule setting.

Thanks.

Thanks.

uno_bliss

Hi, bro

Because I only set in per week a one, but today not in the schedule with I did't put at home base with power switch off.

After I come back home I saw my Roomba still working and stop there, cause my home base power not switch on.
Looks like my Roomba wanna do home work as much I expected.
Ask him for rest at home then he doing works ha ha.

I just want to know, when the Roomba not use at all, how to cancel for schedule with how I know it can be runs out of the day schedule setting.

Thanks.

Thanks.
Simple way to bypass schedule, connect charger direct to Roomba charging port, charger needs to be on.
I've never tried off charger & make Roomba start to see if it'll drag charger. It's a 10 sec test, but since it's so illogical, I never bothered.

Another more hardcore way, flip Roomba over. Roomba won't move when all sensors indicate it's not on solid ground.

I know some users will off charger when fully charged.
When charger is off, Roomba can't detect Home Base. Roomba motherboard will very quickly drain the battery to flat (less than 5V sometimes) within 1 wk.
That's cos all electronic circuits consume some power, now we know why aircon & TV remote always kena battery leak. Batteries leak when over-drained.

Jubooo

Hi, bro

Hold on th schedule button. Scroll to the day you want to cancel with the day button and hold it till you see the display becomes -------.

Another way is to reset roomba by holding spot & dock for around 15 seconds and let go. You will hear a series of assending and desending tone and this will wipe out all sehedule including your clock.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.