iRobot Scooba experience

uno_bliss

uno bro, you shd test the Dyson, v impressive cleaning! ;)
If u're talking about Dyson Root 6 handheld, I know it's got strongest suction among all handheld (at high setting) but battery life is extra short when set at high. Also, Dyson's selling point is in the centrifugal filtration system which requires no filter of any sorts, except maybe HEPA at the exhaust.
The true cyclonic centrifugal action is like a tornado picking up cars & lifting roofs, then tossing them sideways.

The trade-off of Dyson Root 6 is the high price & short running time. Which makes it less viable as home cleaning tool.
I've owned 9.6V vacuums before, they're reasonably strong enough for dust.

The nozzle of handheld plays a big part too in ease of use. Most handheld are shaped like this:
31PRZcC6ccL._SL500_AA300_.jpg

Which means u have to do weight lifting ~1.5 kg as u clean say on top of ur PC or TV.

The best part about Black & Decker Flex PD1200 is the flexible hose: http://www.blackanddecker.co.uk/homeproducts/productdetails/catno/PD1200/
1015250_PD1200_A8.jpg

U can go really fast cos u're holding only the nozzle/brush while ur other hand is hold the unit or even setting it down on the floor or table.

bakasa2002

You are truly the vacuum guru! ;P

Dyson prob is batt life and price, you are right. For problem no 1, it can be get around w more $, additional batt. ;)

uno_bliss

You are truly the vacuum guru! ;P

Dyson prob is batt life and price, you are right. For problem no 1, it can be get around w more $, additional batt. ;)
Anything without flexible hose is a pain to use.
I believe ur KONE is non-cyclonic, just a cup shape nylon mesh or paper filter, cos the Abusive Lab test shows KONE will blow out flour on the exhaust. That's typical when fine particles clot the filter and eventually break thru the micro pores of filter.

Do note that only Dyson is true cyclonic filtration, debris is tossed into a dust container and will not cos clotting even if u do not empty for long long time.

The other so called cyclone action is just to spin the dust ball round & round so that it doesn't stay in one place & get more & more compacted. There is still filter & u'll still need to empty & scrape filter clean to restore full suction.
U may have seen Shimono cyclone vacuum being sold at booths or outside NTUC: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6HiKJG3View
I didn't buy but I did stop to observe. It's 7.2V, pretty sad actually cos my older 9.6V black & decker couldn't pick up rice grains on a quick pass. The Shimono demo uses... styrofoam beads ~2mm dia, wow, my home is so full of styrofoam, I can't wait to get one.=:p

FruitPunch

I saw on autovacstore.com, selling neato VX-11for $599, with free delivery and 6 months warranty, brand new roomba 560 is about $500 i think, anyway seems like if u buy with scooba or roomba in a bundle with the neato can get further discount. can safe some trouble of self importing, about the same price.

I noticed there's a wide difference in price (based on brand new model) among brothers selling roomba which leads me to conclude that there's something we newbies don't know about the reason behind the difference.

Motherboard?
Parts?
Aftersales service?

Perhaps seniors can shed some lights?

desmond1974

I noticed there's a wide difference in price (based on brand new model) among brothers selling roomba which leads me to conclude that there's something we newbies don't know about the reason behind the difference.

Motherboard?
Parts?
Aftersales service?

Perhaps seniors can shed some lights?

Actually, I honestly feel that its just about how much the particular seller wants to earn from selling the iRobot or the Neato.. We all know from the iRobot US Store Site that the Roomba 560 retails for USD 349.99 with warranty and free delivery, so the selling price after USD50 of shipping(MAX) and GST 7% should be USD 428 or SGD 535.. Neato retails for USD 399 exc shipping, they dont ship to sg direct.. Considering that our fellow brothers should be able to save on shipping and enjoy discounts with bulk purchases, the price should better than US Store Price!! Anyway, I did some research cos i wanted to self import, but i do not have a US Vpost a/c, lazy to create.. hehe..

Maybe we are just not getting "BROTHER" prices from our fellow brother forummers.. that would be sad..

uno_bliss

Alter Ego for self-appraisal

Alter Ego for self-appraisal is the oldest trick in the book, and I've seen it so many times among my competitors.

Step 1) Use ur alternate account to give urself +ve feedbacks. Create as many as u like, and keep giving urself fake feedbacks.
Step 2) Wait for suckers to fall for ur trick, there u go, u've managed to kick start ur biz.
Step 3) Set up a website using free templates, give urself some fake testimonials, u don't even need to register so many eBay accounts to do this. Easy!

Case Study #1
Now let us see who is Autovacs 1st eBay customer, a certain "Bao23"
http://feedback.ebay.com.sg/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewFeedback2&userid=autovacstore_sg

Why it's the SAME person!!! Can't be!!!
http://cgi.ebay.com.sg/Brand-New-iRobot-Roomba-560-Auto-Vacumm-Cleaner-/260783445850
http://cgi.ebay.com.sg/Factory-Refurb-iRobot-Roomba-560-Auto-Vacumm-Cleaner-/260783454635

desmond1974

Alter Ego for self-appraisal is the oldest trick in the book, and I've seen it so many times among my competitors.

Step 1) Use ur alternate account to give urself +ve feedbacks. Create as many as u like, and keep giving urself fake feedbacks.
Step 2) Wait for suckers to fall for ur trick, there u go, u've managed to kick start ur biz.
Step 3) Set up a website using free templates, give urself some fake testimonials, u don't even need to register so many eBay accounts to do this. Easy!

Ya. he's really dumb loh.. haha.. must be the same person buying from the same person. must be a ebay newbie.. Anyway his price is really the cheapest la!! lol!! Anyway uno bliss, can u lower your prices? cos i really like your repair works!!

tekster

Case Study #1
http://feedback.ebay.com.sg/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewFeedback2&userid=autovacstore_sg

http://cgi.ebay.com.sg/Brand-New-iRobot-Roomba-560-Auto-Vacumm-Cleaner-/260783445850
http://cgi.ebay.com.sg/Factory-Refurb-iRobot-Roomba-560-Auto-Vacumm-Cleaner-/260783454635

hahha...thanks for this bro. how funny can it be indeed.

so the mystery's solved. bao23 is autovac.

tekster

Ya. he's really dumb loh.. haha.. must be the same person buying from the same person. must be a ebay newbie.. Anyway his price is really the cheapest la!! lol!! Anyway uno bliss, can u lower your prices? cos i really like your repair works!!

i wonder if you are bao23.

i suggest you either buy from the local distributor which i'm sure you know will cost like $800-$1000, or alternatively, send your irobot back to the USA. the shipping and cost itself, you can ask bakasa2002. his is scooba 230 though.

bakasa2002

i wonder if you are bao23.

i suggest you either buy from the local distributor which i'm sure you know will cost like $800-$1000, or alternatively, send your irobot back to the USA. the shipping and cost itself, you can ask bakasa2002. his is scooba 230 though.

Tekster bro, I was reading and found Desmond n fruit punch a bit like alter ego, but didn't know much, so didn't want to second guess but I like bao23. He's cute!

Btw, don't remind me of my 230 leh, I sibei sianz alrdy. Don't treat me like that leh, I cfm nt alter ego, juboo n UNO can verify this. At most I go viewing at foresque, so u can triple cfm? =:p

desmond1974

Anyway, why when another seller really sells the same thing cheaper, other forummers don't like?? Dont we all like to enjoy savings on our purchases?? WE should be happy that competition has brought the prices for our beloved robots down, so more of us can enjoy the cleaning benefits of these great machines. Anyway, i am not him, just feel that we as owners of these robots should be happy of the friendly competition among the sellers. So our fellow friends and relatives can enjoy the more affordable prices!!

tekster

Tekster bro, I was reading and found Desmond n fruit punch a bit like alter ego, but didn't know much, so didn't want to second guess but I like bao23. He's cute!

Btw, don't remind me of my 230 leh, I sibei sianz alrdy. Don't treat me like that leh, I cfm nt alter ego, juboo n UNO can verify this. At most I go viewing at foresque, so u can triple cfm? =:p

*laughs* your response makes my day. damn funny.

aiyah, no worries la, i know you. dun view la, buy 1 ok? hee... paiseh to use your beloved robot to prove a point.

tekster

Anyway, why when another seller really sells the same thing cheaper, other forummers don't like?? Dont we all like to enjoy savings on our purchases?? WE should be happy that competition has brought the prices for our beloved robots down, so more of us can enjoy the cleaning benefits of these great machines. Anyway, i am not him, just feel that we as owners of these robots should be happy of the friendly competition among the sellers. So our fellow friends and relatives can enjoy the more affordable prices!!

1st of all, you have less than 50 posts.
2nd, your account started in jun 2011.

your previous account got banned ar?

being cheap is good, but being cheapskate is not. i hope you understand the difference.
which works best for you bro.
i've do appreciate cheap prices, but being cheapskate may not be a good thing. you think of it this way, everyday at your job you do the same thing over and over again without adding anymore portfolio, what if your boss come and tell you, "aiya! you doing the same thing, why should i give you pay increment?"

there are people who are genuinely here to help and offer their skills (uno_bliss and juboo). whereas there are those who are here just to sell and make money out of you. you're entitled to take your pick. :)

desmond1974

1st of all, you have less than 50 posts.
2nd, your account started in jun 2011.

your previous account got banned ar?

being cheap is good, but being cheapskate is not. i hope you understand the difference.
which works best for you bro.
i've do appreciate cheap prices, but being cheapskate may not be a good thing. you think of it this way, everyday at your job you do the same thing over and over again without adding anymore portfolio, what if your boss come and tell you, "aiya! you doing the same thing, why should i give you pay increment?"

there are people who are genuinely here to help and offer their skills (uno_bliss and juboo). whereas there are those who are here just to sell and make money out of you. you're entitled to take your pick. :)

Ya. i agree that being cheapskate is bad, but i wouldn't pay more for the same thing, either self importing or buying locally. I just feel that overcharging is really not the way to go. Isn't it that by overcharging, they actually do make more money out of us, if they are really genuine to help, which i feel they are, maybe its not the way to go??

Jubooo

Ya. i agree that being cheapskate is bad, but i wouldn't pay more for the same thing, either self importing or buying locally. I just feel that overcharging is really not the way to go. Isn't it that by overcharging, they actually do make more money out of us, if they are really genuine to help, which i feel they are, maybe its not the way to go??

OK lah, enough of this. Cheapest is import yourself as you can see then if you got problem, just send an email to uno. Isn't it simple? I solved your problems!!! Next episode please.

....... At most I go viewing at foresque, so u can triple cfm? =:p

Foresque si beh qui leh!!!!

Jubooo

Case Study #1

He got more ebay account than this. ;):s8:;)

tekster

Foresque si beh qui leh!!!!

hahha.... now everyone will say it's expensive one de.

wait 3-4 years later it'll normalise. anyway, next door Tree Lodge was sold out. so i believe it'll be worth watching this spot.

FruitPunch

Thanks Seniors, you have answered my doubt.

So the "一分钱一分货" theory does apply here...

I'm seriously looking for an iRobot to help in my housework which made me raised such a blunt question.

Hope this do not hurt anyone's feelings/business.

bakasa2002

hahha.... now everyone will say it's expensive one de.

wait 3-4 years later it'll normalise. anyway, next door Tree Lodge was sold out. so i believe it'll be worth watching this spot.

Juboo, wait till u see My Manhattan, that is damn qui ..... I think CEL is a bit kuku alrdy ... price until like FEO's Centro just becos near MRT. I really wonder how much Capland will price theirs in Bedok Central!

Tekster bro, u marketing that? Any indicative price or estimate?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.