Is 1-year degree recognisable?

prodigy88

I see many private schools offering 1-year direct degree.

Is it safe to take?

Will employers recognise these degrees? Any feedback?

blurbloco

Is it safe to take?

One year degree is normally a top up degree with reference to your diploma. Singapore's diploma is highly regarded in overseas countries which can sometime give up to 2 years off a 3 years general degree course or a 1 year off a 3 years honours degree course.

I figured the course you see might be from Australia, which is a 3 years general degree course.

Whether the employers recognise it or not will depends on the employers themselves. No one can say on behalf of all the employers (I know, however, most civil service does not really recognise 1 year top up degrees. It is ranked even lower than Distance Learning degree of full 3 years).

Kyoji83

If you have no working experiences, it matter a lot.

However if you have working experiences, it does not matter much.

But if all candidates have similar working experiences as you, it still matter a little bit.

Is it safe to take?

malicious_

Is it safe to take?

its very good. saves you money and opportunity costs related to time. private degree low prospects anyway. might as well take the shortest and cheapest route.

sdh1234

Is it safe to take?

which program & industry are you looking at?
refer to the job postings of that particular industry in Straits Times, jobscentral, jobsdb and jobstreet to give you a general indication whether the degree cert is recognised or not

blurbloco

which program & industry are you looking at?
refer to the job postings of that particular industry in Straits Times, jobscentral, jobsdb and jobstreet to give you a general indication whether the degree cert is recognised or not

Straits Times, jobscentral, jobsdb and jobstreet will not tell you whether 1 year degree is recognised by employers or not.

You can be called up for interviews, but once the prospective employer saw that it is a "1 year degree", he/she might compare you with others who had studied their degree like for 3 years and see you under a bad light.

freakerzoid

Is it safe to take?

IMO , it would be better to complete your degree within (1.5 - 2 yrs or at least 10 Modules ) As i think many employers will bedoubting whether the knowledge gained through 1 year/6-7 Modules by the applicant is sufficient or not.

voiceoflove

IMO , it would be better to complete your degree within (1.5 - 2 yrs or at least 10 Modules ) As i think many employers will bedoubting whether the knowledge gained through 1 year/6-7 Modules by the applicant is sufficient or not.

wad abt 2 yrs of working exp in both gov and mnc and a 1 yr pvt degree?

i am on my path to this

sdh1234

Straits Times, jobscentral, jobsdb and jobstreet will not tell you whether 1 year degree is recognised by employers or not.

You can be called up for interviews, but once the prospective employer saw that it is a "1 year degree", he/she might compare you with others who had studied their degree like for 3 years and see you under a bad light.

to be frank, i'm not sure what the TS is concerned about... whether its the duration or the cert or something else...

anyway, job posting sites is another guideline for TS. i can't deny the fact that certain companies recognise well-known degree certs higher than "top-up" degree certs but still at the end of the day, what matters is the way you impress the interviewer...

i am on my path to this

depends which industry you wanna pursue a career and what kind of positions you held in govt and MNC. some will take into account. Some do not.

blurbloco

i am on my path to this

No difference.

A 1 year degree is a one year degree, may it fresh grad or a person with 20 years working experience. The only difference is the person with 20 years working experience might needs it as the next available position might need a degree.

Chances of you getting into government sector to be confirmed under a degree level position might be very slim (not impossible, but very slim). For private sectors, again, it is up to the employer.

blurbloco

to be frank, i'm not sure what the TS is concerned about... whether its the duration or the cert or something else...

anyway, job posting sites is another guideline for TS. i can't deny the fact that certain companies recognise well-known degree certs higher than "top-up" degree certs but still at the end of the day, what matters is the way you impress the interviewer...

depends which industry you wanna pursue a career and what kind of positions you held in govt and MNC. some will take into account. Some do not.

Probably concerned about the recognition of the degree.

Even if there are two candidates, both from the same University by Distance Learning (For example), one having a "top up" degree of 1 year, the other studied 3 years for the degree. You can't deny the fact most employers will be looking at the person who studied 3 years for the degree under a more favourable light, can you?

Even if the top up degree is from a more reputable university than the person who studied 3 years, for example the person who studied the top up degree from say Monash vs a person who have a 3 years degree from say Charles Stuart University. Chances are the person from Charles Stuart University will have stand better chance.

blahblah08

Bro, it depends on your field of work. Haha, I don't see the differences between a 1 year second upper honors degree and someone who studied for 3 years and obtained a normal degree. (Please note that I mentioned depending on your field, my assumption is based in my field of work)

The money is the same, high chances is a second upper class degree with >2 working experiences is worth more.

voiceoflove

so meaning study more yrs, more advantages?

of cos i wont want to, 1 yr sch fee is 12-15k already

3yr will cost a bomb liao.....

FrostWurm

don't say the obvious leh. if 1 year is enough, all unis worldwide would be 1 year already. Still have 4 years for wad. 1 year is even less than JC, what can you possibly learn? -.- of course if you don't give a damn but just want a degree to your name then go for it lor

Kyoji83

Not more years mean more advantages.

It depends on modules as well.

Mostly 1 year have 3 terms & each term have 4 modules for UK Uni (Uni A) which mean 1 year you are taking 12 modules & 2 years will be 24 modules.

However some of those UK Uni (Uni B) 1 year course only have 4 modules while some of those 2 years course have only 8 modules.

So if compare to Uni A & Uni B, Uni A 1 year of studies can beat Uni B 2 years of studies.

If compare to Uni A & Uni B for 2 years course, Uni B cannot even compare to Uni A for the knowledge & skill learn in Uni (8 modules for Uni B vs 24 modules for Uni A).

See my point?

of cos i wont want to, 1 yr sch fee is 12-15k already

3yr will cost a bomb liao.....

malicious_

don't say the obvious leh. if 1 year is enough, all unis worldwide would be 1 year already. Still have 4 years for wad. 1 year is even less than JC, what can you possibly learn? -.- of course if you don't give a damn but just want a degree to your name then go for it lor

just like private degrees :)

malicious_

Not more years mean more advantages.

It depends on modules as well.

Mostly 1 year have 3 terms & each term have 4 modules for UK Uni (Uni A) which mean 1 year you are taking 12 modules & 2 years will be 24 modules.

However some of those UK Uni (Uni B) 1 year course only have 4 modules while some of those 2 years course have only 8 modules.

So if compare to Uni A & Uni B, Uni A 1 year of studies can beat Uni B 2 years of studies.

If compare to Uni A & Uni B for 2 years course, Uni B cannot even compare to Uni A for the knowledge & skill learn in Uni (8 modules for Uni B vs 24 modules for Uni A).

See my point?

what about the content of these modules?i can break one module down into 10 modules with 1 chapter each.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.