Is EC a sure thing?

kuang89

Why people make it as it EC is such a good catch? Almost better returns than a condo, if sure win why priced lower in the first place?

Flex11

Don't understand what you mean by sure thing. Please note that there are restrictions for EC:

- you have to fulfill the 5 years MOP before you can sublet or sell unlike condo
- it will only become a full condo after 10 years, i.e can sell to foreigners

The above is a deal breaker for alot of people.

kuang89

yes, but i have a lot of ppl telling me that buying EC as an investment is a sure earn thing with high yields all that, the returns are good also..

alot of people being some property agents and some buyers of EC.

wahkao3

yes, but i have a lot of ppl telling me that buying EC as an investment is a sure earn thing with high yields all that, the returns are good also..

tok kok one lah,hahahahahaha:s13::s13:

Genosis

Nothing is a sure thing in life except taxes and death......:(

luvalist

haha same here. my agent also kept telling me to buy EC as the next property. I think last time EC prices were lower and more competitive compared to private condo but nowadays it's not so far away liao.

Whether sure anot, we don't know. So far away - after 3 years of waiting + 10 years if fall below value, agent already gone. And the loan amt plus cash outflow is quite daunting for us so we decided to go for a resale instead.

Shion

Senior Mentor
Recently I just visited my friend's EC, a 4-room EC, buy 900k

The living space is simply horrible

01asdf

It's a sure high commission for them you mean?

SBC

Surely higher exposure during its application. While you had OTP for new EC under construction, your existing hdb is not sold.

What if hdb resale continue to drop further?

Genesisz

It is horrible. :s13:

Anyway, I am overqualified for EC and at that point in time, I decided to go for a HDB resale. Bigger space area, nearby amenities and transportation infrastructure and best of all, lower price.

A lot of factors have to be considered before taking this route.

If one can afford and undertake the commitments, then he or she can consider to take this plunge.

Recently I just visited my friend's EC, a 4-room EC, buy 900k

The living space is simply horrible

SBC

Very often is not the no of rooms or total size. The layout matters as well for efficient usage.

Viewed quite a number of new private projects last year, size does not fit my requirement. Psf wise is rather ex.

Eventually, gotten a 20-year apartment from secondary mkt.
size is close to 1400 sqf. Freehold private apartment at EC pricing.
Still got chance for enblock in years to come. Good chance in 15 to 20 years time.

Flex11

Property market depends alot on timing. 5 years MOP is not short. Anything can happen.

microtek

If the location of the EC is good (ie: Next to MRT + big mall) and it's priced competitively I think it's a good deal since it's heavily subsidized by the government.

SBC

I would say timing superceeding choice of location.

In best timing, worst location also makes money.
Reversely, in worst timing, best location may be loosing money.

Shion

Senior Mentor
BTW my friend's EC, they are regretting the choice.

Expensive, poor layout, lousy noise insulation and the location is not that fantastic to begin with

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.