Is it true by 30yo, your life is more or less set already?

cosmothecat

Yea moi took paycut thinking can huat, but one thing lead to another n i am back to my original wage back then in public sector oni after so many years.

Moi have grossly overestimated moi calibre. :(
Stay in public sector, steady steady eat beehoon will get yearly increment and every few years promotion

Too bad you made the wrong choice

mummynew

Yea moi took paycut thinking can huat, but one thing lead to another n i am back to my original wage back then in public sector oni after so many years.

To me it's an okay journey coz if you don't try, you may forever have the doubt of 'why I didn't try bla bla bla' that kind of nagging regrets for the rest of you life.

Life is about adventuring and we have to accept that not all adventures going to be successful and that's perfectly alright.

ahboy82

To me it's an okay journey coz if you don't try, you may forever have the doubt of 'why I didn't try bla bla bla' that kind of nagging regrets for the rest of you life.

Life is about adventuring and we have to accept that not all adventures going to be successful and that's perfectly alright.
Yea thats true, many of moi frens oso say the same thing :(

mummynew

Yea thats true, many of moi frens oso say the same thing :(

My son has a 'business idea' that he intends to launch it 3-5 years later with his savings.

That will be his adventure.

If it fails, I definitely would think that it is OK coz he has legs and hands and still can go and find a job and I hope he can have the same mentality too (I would think he will be so coz he is trained under me to be 'adventurous' and dont need a lot to live a reasonably contented life).

*I started a business at 30 yo and sold it as a huge loss at 35 yo. I was still feeling 'ok' coz I kept my 3-room HDB intact for the family (that was my 'baseline' that I couldnt lose it then).

mummynew

I want to share one thing that I believe deeply - the concept of 磁场 (energy field).

In my house, everyone has positive energy field coz we are hopeful regardless of situations, feeling 'rich' almost all the time (despite house full of second hand stuff). We have 'peace/stability' in our hearts.

This positive field sort of attracts many 贵人s to my kids. A recent example will be my girl applied for a job along with 100+ competitors and she was selected (just started new job) coz one of the panel interviewers was her ex-mentor (of course plus she also has something to offer to the new job).

My whole life has been filled with 贵人s coz I believe I seldom sulk and very cheerful regardless of setbacks.

Summary:
贵人s or 小人s are most time attracted by self. So try to be positive in life and the magic will appear by itself.

Eliwood

How to believe when life keep wanting me fail?

The day I born the baxtard higher up decided hell 999 mode is for me. People do 1,2,3 get 123. I try harder do 1,2,3,4,5,6 just hoping to at least get 123 also can end up 000. How? Try so hard for what. Seriously, don't think not so pissed now that I think about it. Really what's the point.

I try I fail. I give up I want go die. Upstairs also don't let me die. Then what? Live don't want let me live properly keep intrude my life with obstacles. Then I want end my life, yet send me people save me. Fun meh.

Are u holding a silver serpent job now and waiting for ur bto?

Thought things shd be looking up for u?

Why still so pessimistic?

Eliwood

Very rare to hear of paycut when moving from public to private sector sia.

Loratadine10mg

I realised a pattern. Many people I deemed "successful", by 30yo they already kinda set for life already.

They either belong to 1 or more of these categories:

1. Born rich, have a parents who are doing well and can guide them. Or just be ASK/ASB shake leg.

2. Normal family, but results quite good, so go through the typical gov job route or careers that requires good academic qualifications.

3. Normal family, results so so, but good at work, managed to take up more portfolio and by mid 30s already director level.

4. Normal family, results so so, work also so so, marry a rich man.

5. Normal family, but since campus or army days already a lot friends, end up at least 1 of their contact bring them up together and huat together.

It's almost impossible if you are an average joe and without any of those, you will get any much significantly better. Basically if you are not lucky enough to breakthrough by 30yo, you can kiss goodbye to a "successful" life and just admit you are nothing but a behkan waiting for end time already.

And I belong to #6 the behkan nothing but wasting Earth's resources. In 1 month time is 2025 and I'll be 30yo. I achieve nothing and will continue achieve nothing but just continue slog very hard just for the pathetic survival and remain in the lowest tier of Maslow's hierarchy - Physiological needs

I once was young and naive and believe that if I just work a bit harder, and each time, I'm dealt with the worst cards, I encourage myself that just try a bit harder, I'll get out of the tunnel eventually.

But as time passes, I came to my conclusion, everything is kinda set. And unless a special miracle happens, my life is just gonna be like this. I will never be able to breakthrough significantly more than what was already destined for my behkan suay life.

In before yet another depressing thread.

Just wanna see how everyone feel about their life so far?
U become poorer if u r not careful

runicz

so what did you do after ORD
I went uni to get FCH in engineering, then later went into Oil & Gas, and back to uni/ but because Im overaged, even though I make way more than my peers for the last 2years, my savings is quite just like my peers with just a bachelor degree, and nowhere near the bz owners without degree.

Most of my saving comes from my Nvidia stocks.

My 5 figure salary is useless considering the cost and time it takes to reach. (For example 4 years bachelors no income, nearly 100k education expenses, 2 years army no income etc etc).. and with those degenerative woke liberals constantly protesting about the gender wage gap, i dont think wages are allowed to rise any faster in the coming decades, especially if you are in the so called privileged gender they always wants to peck on for free cookie.

it is quite evident working on a small business model at a younger age will lead to a more financial state by the time you reach 30s.

Around me, most other bachelors degree in the 30s still making 5-6k a month..
Those social science even lesser. And the uni fee keeps increasing lol. Funny thing is, during uni days, some people from bio science was giving me the irk for choosing engineering.

All in all, the endless rising tuition fee, and 4 years of income gap for a poorly acknowledged certificate is a killer for many youth when you don't understand why they are here for the cert.. unlike the older days where being a degree just alone means something.. since so few people can qualify for uni education..

I did relate back why reading a degree can equate to sending your child to financial doom, but guess some boomer just cannot relate it in any sense. so good luck. some people are doom to be losers gen after gen. lmao

Min Min

I went uni to get FCH in engineering, then later went into Oil & Gas, and back to uni/ but because Im overaged, even though I make way more than my peers for the last 2years, my savings is quite just like my peers.

Most of my saving comes from my Nvidia stocks.

My 5 figure salary is useless considering the cost and time it takes to reach. (For example 4 years bachelors no income, nearly 100k education expenses, 2 years army no income etc etc)

Most bachelors degree in the 30s still making 5-6k a month..
Those social science even lesser. And the uni fee keeps increasing lol. Funny thing is, during uni days, some people from bio science was giving me the irk for choosing engineering.

All in all, the tuition fee, and 4 years of income gap for a poorly acknowledged certificate is a killer for many youth when you don't understand why they are here.. unlike the older days where being a degree just alone means something..

I did relate back, but guess some boomer just cannot relate it in any sense. so good luck. some people are doom to be losers. lmao

O&G got chiobus ornot ah?
then and now

mummynew

I went uni to get FCH in engineering, then later went into Oil & Gas, and back to uni/ but because Im overaged, even though I make way more than my peers for the last 2years, my savings is quite just like my peers.

I had an O&G good friend making millions and staying in bukit timah landed.

He passed at 38 yo from nasal cancer (other than genetic, probably was also due to 'too many good things/women').

Another living one in O&G trading. His yearly bonus is in the range of 7 figures. He offered to bring my son into O&G but I politely declined.

*if you are in O&G, you have a high chance of hitting your millions soon.

Travis_Touchdown

no wonder chiu seem sho sianz about chiur career all the time... :frown:

public and private jinz different de... cannotch anyhowly assume can huatz... :frown:

moi know a few from public sector hop to private sector... huatz until notch bad... :frown:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.