Is my PSU Faulty?

Leaper_SG

Hi Guys,

Please advice if my new PSU is faulty :

Motherboard : GA-H87N-WIFI (Rev 2.0)
PSU : SilverStone ST45SF-G 450W (Gold)
CPU : Intel i7 4771

Installed CPU and RAM only, haven't mount cpu cooler. Just wanted to make sure PSU works. connected cables but PSU fan not spinning at all. :(

8Pin Cable :
33ej139.png

24 Pin Cable :
122233r.png

Motherboard :
2wfskt4.png

Motherboard Diagram
2yv56kk.png

jtjt00

High efficiency PSU such as 80+ Gold and above, fan usually does not spin at low to mid load.

My superflower golden king platinum fans never spin from day one.

Leaper_SG

High efficiency PSU such as 80+ Gold and above, fan usually does not spin at low to mid load.

My superflower golden king platinum fans never spin from day one.

PSU molex cable to case fans, fans also not spinning :(

zetken

not sure is this is right.. if high efficiency meaning less heat is produce. more power is produce. meaning less loss conversion to dc. correct me if i am wrong. thanks!

hmmm have u try using the paper clip to start up? it wont up until u put in the paper clip on the 3rd and 4th pinout from 24 atx pin. if u have done so. then might be psu faulty. =D

Hailgod

Not bad, you know the meaning of efficient.
Not more power is produced though, you can't create energy. More power is converted.

Leaper_SG

not sure is this is right.. if high efficiency meaning less heat is produce. more power is produce. meaning less loss conversion to dc. correct me if i am wrong. thanks!

hmmm have u try using the paper clip to start up? it wont up until u put in the paper clip on the 3rd and 4th pinout from 24 atx pin. if u have done so. then might be psu faulty. =D

I don't dare to mess with the paper clip jumpstart method.

Worst case scenario, bring PSU to RMA. Only bought last night sia... I just need to confirm whether is it me or the PSU issue.

thegamer1907

u should try the jump start method. its a pretty good confirmation of psu problem. just attach a single fan to a molex connector and jump start the psu without connecting the other cables including the 24pin, 4+4pin etc

zetken

uhhh then i know why u think not working. coz u nv jump start. haha anyway jump start is really very safe lolol

but even no cooler. the thing should start up leh. maybe 5 sec. then overheat then shut down. hmmmm

Leaper_SG

u should try the jump start method. its a pretty good confirmation of psu problem. just attach a single fan to a molex connector and jump start the psu without connecting the other cables including the 24pin, 4+4pin etc

PSU Molex(Female) to "Phobya 4Pin Molex Male to 6x 3Pin Fan Splitter PCB" to 2 different noctua fans(4pin). They are not spinning.

Phobya 4Pin Molex to 6x 3Pin Fan Splitter PCB :
htvt.jpg

zetken

Not bad, you know the meaning of efficient.
Not more power is produced though, you can't create energy. More power is converted.

thank you. i think alot people keep thinking is more power produce.. :s13:

Leaper_SG

this is during jumpstart? did u try connecting just one fan directly to psu?

Haven't Tried the jumpstart/connecting metal pin method.
Removed all cables from PSU and only tried the following :

Just PSU -> Phobya molex to 3 pin -> 4-pin noctua fans.

Sorry for the large image :
v7v6zb.png

zetken

i dun think u can start up it without connecting the 24 atx pin with paper clip.

Phelan

TS, I don't know WTF you're doing. Powering up the motherboard WITHOUT a cooler in place, you may have just fried your CPU. Even for tests, you should have the cooler mounted, be it the stock one or what you're going to use.

Also, the PSU will not power up unless you short the green wire in the 24 pin and a black wire. No exceptions.

Your 'don't dare' may have cost you your CPU. Congrats.

thegamer1907

err.. if u disconnect everything except the molex then how did you attempt to start the psu?
dont tell me you press your casing power on button, you realised it wont work like that because your 24 and cpu 4+4 pin isnt connected right?

the only way is still to jumpstart.

edit dafuq i just read your first post again. you connected your 24pin + cpu power and press the power button without a cooler on? i think you have just fried your cpu or something else, which may be the cause why you arent able to start it at all!

Maeda_Toshiie

TS, I don't know WTF you're doing. Powering up the motherboard WITHOUT a cooler in place, you may have just fried your CPU. Even for tests, you should have the cooler mounted, be it the stock one or what you're going to use.

Also, the PSU will not power up unless you short the green wire in the 24 pin and a black wire. No exceptions.

Your 'don't dare' may have cost you your CPU. Congrats.

Hmm, I recall that one guy tried to run a SB-E CPU without a cooler because he was a little impatient while waiting for a 3rd party cooler to arrive (SB-E did not ship with stock coolers).

TS too ge kiang liao...

ykgoh

Hmm, I recall that one guy tried to run a SB-E CPU without a cooler because he was a little impatient while waiting for a 3rd party cooler to arrive (SB-E did not ship with stock coolers).

TS too ge kiang liao...

Sounds like this guy.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.