Is performance at work usually subjective?

Laguna123

Those company without distinct KPI, usually see boss like you or not.

Bui Kia

If boss like you then good performer, if not bad performer?

boss like you .... normally exceed expectation and got chance for pay increment (MORE SAI TO WORK)
Don't like you ... meet expectation and need for improvement (ACT BLUR 混口饭吃)

Tsoukalos

As long as your boss is human and there is this assessment criteria called potential, it is always subjective.

"Potential" is based on your boss's imagination on what he or she think you can do in future.
Wow 1st time I hear ppl say boss is human sia

ramlee

As long as your boss is human and there is this assessment criteria called potential, it is always subjective.

"Potential" is based on your boss's imagination on what he or she think you can do in future.
Another term for it ish 胡思亂想? :(

pwillie

everyday buy coffee for your boss can guarabtee yearly promotion..... true story

Hakuna Matata

of cos is subjective look at the famous example

reddit-jpg-1769652825-7483-176-5554-7715-1770200512.png
Depends on how deep is the love lor. 😂

cet87

On my last job, I was tanking 3 persons workload. And had more conflict with the boss. I got only 1 month that year.

when I knew the less workload colleagues have 3 months. I quit. :)

AcquiT

I think my boss dont like me always talk back but constructively and stand point at company view so she cant fault me on my overall performance.

At least appraisal time she still quite fair and acknowledged it.

She also cant fault me when i go office v late n leave on dot or earlier because she knew i am ops side so also bo pian lol

Notbbfa

Last time, my colleague , every morning, went canteen with boss to drink coffee.

During retrenchment.. he has saved.
Hope that boss tio difficult project and can only depend on that wayang social coffee corklig to complete difficult project 😒

Notbbfa

On my last job, I was tanking 3 persons workload. And had more conflict with the boss. I got only 1 month that year.

when I knew the less workload colleagues have 3 months. I quit. :)
How are they coping with the heavy workload nao :s42:

anchoraz

If plp is the only way to go, the company bound to collapse 1 day.

Cos nobody work liao. All sit beside boss plp. No sales oso ok. Fail delivery oso ok. Hi cost oso ok.

In the end, owe supplier or bank come after company. Liquidate and close down.

Qiu toh lao gao suah (tree fall monkeys run)

Shinning_Wolf

Short answer, Yes.

That is why KPIs are important.

My immediate ex-boss hates me, always say why I do things in xyz manner, how come never consider abc... it never ends.

His boss, my ex-chairman, loves me. Cos I am always best 1-2 in KPIs where RESULTS not chemistry matters.
FYI, KPIs can be rigged and lied to.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.