Is second hand car repair and maintenance very high?

Ethan_

got $$ just buy new car since got warranty lah

i kept my car for 16 years+, i think almost everything change liao

even pistons and transmission synchro also change liao

this is me knowing my own car and when to change parts due to wear and tear

can u imagine u buy a 2nd hand car and u dunno its history
Think buy used car need to know history. Especially proper maintenance record. If not, have to slash price gao gao. Cause wear and tear part failure sure will come.

Especially those with high mileage. Sure will have alot of things going to fail fast, as their change is due but previous owner maybe never do. Best is to have a mechanic around look see, if own self don't know. And look at the manual see what are due for change at what mileage did the previous owner change or not.

So, unless the previous owner have record change what and do what. If not if buy such, have to factor in the potential repair cost and slash price gao gao. So as to cover for own loss when take over. A ball park figure perhaps. Of course is those can foresee one, as in due for change in manual. Those cannot foresee can LLST.

billiejoe

Buy toyota cars can last long. Just need to check the auto transmission gear. Cos if it is spoilt, it will cost 2-3k to repair or replace it. Other than that, do the every 10k oil maintenance would be fine.

Flexamoria

烧机油 — 气门油封老化
漏水 — 进水管老化
漏油 — 胶套硬化
维修宝马,一定要用原产配件。千万不要用小猫牌配件。

Yup, that is engine side
Havent include multi link suspension bush.
Conti car many many links rubber harden, crack

Jian19

Depends , if never get into accident before probably worth it

If crash before not worth to buy

LoUsyGamER

Don’t know should I buy new car or second hand car.
Buy new.

Most of the time, when an owner wants to sell their cars. A lot of non major faults will not repair. Like ac evaporator, condenser, all these are not critical for vehicle driveability but expensive to repair.

Foetid

I see. Looks like really depends on luck.
If you are experience driver with bit of knowledge you will know. I bought a COE Hyundai avante left 3 or 4 years, think 5 owners or so.

I did a thorough inspection myself, thereafter I did all the necessary changes myself, including oil changes, coolant change, clean butterfly valve, change timing belt, brake fluid, transmission fluid, fixed the window panel button, cigarette lighter fuse blown, change brake pad, change 1 engine mount (the others I couldn't do it wo another help) no issues whatever so...

I not mechanic by training, only watch the YouTube. Car never went workshop.

Before this I had Volkswagen caddy, bought second hand left 4 years, did some simple basic maintenance myself, 😁 😉

testart

Ya lor. Oso sales guy lor
My 2nd hand latio knn tat sale guy pull me off. Reverse gear faulty, radio connection breaking, but when test drive, he off the radio saying wanna me hear the engine sound, when parking, he say he will park since it's a cramp space n he afraid i buang the car muz pay, really clever🤣
The sales guy so many pattern one ah? Or he just want to close deal only.

Flexamoria

If you are experience driver with bit of knowledge you will know. I bought a COE Hyundai avante left 3 or 4 years, think 5 owners or so.
I did a thorough inspection myself, thereafter I did all the necessary changes myself, including oil changes, coolant change, clean butterfly valve, change timing belt, brake fluid, transmission fluid, fixed the window panel button, cigarette lighter fuse blown, change brake pad, change 1 engine mount (the others I couldn't do it wo another help) no issues whatever so...
I not mechanic by training, only watch the YouTube. Car never went workshop.

How u change timing belt

Ethan_

Yes gearbox and engine all will cost engine 5 to 7k gearbox 3 to 5k allot 15 to 16k max
Think impression these two unless abuse and/or high mileage. If not, think usually under normal use within 10 years most should be still ok one. Quality defect aside.

But if buy COE car, more than 10 years. Think usually they might be due for some overhaul of sort. If never do. Then is see luck liao. As the point of failure differ for users. So, won't know when fail. Most should be still ok one if normal car no high mileage. But high mileage car cannot guarantee liao.

Foetid

Think impression these two unless abuse and/or high mileage. If not, think usually under normal use within 10 years most should be still ok one. Quality defect aside.

But if buy COE car, more than 10 years. Think usually they might be due for some overhaul of sort. If never do. Then is see luck liao. As the point of failure differ for users. So, won't know when fail. Most should be still ok one if normal car no high mileage. But high mileage car cannot guarantee liao.
I buy COE car with 5 owners but never go workshop, see earlier post. :ROFLMAO: :)

Foetid

Yup, timing belt not easy, one wrong diagnose of the timing marking, the valve can bengkok wor
I guess if I live in Australia or USA with a house with garage, I will perform every single maintenance myself since so easy to DIY. I just need a spare cheap 5k USD car. In sengkapoor how to . ..

Flexamoria

I guess if I live in Australia or USA with a house with garage, I will perform every single maintenance myself since so easy to DIY. I just need a spare cheap 5k USD car. In sengkapoor how to . ..

Correct, that is what americans do... what job they do also dont know, like so much free time :s8:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.