Is this a scam?

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info
Hi there, kinda new to HWZ. Am I even in the right forum? But just wanna ask for some advice as I'm wondering if this is a scam. I encountered a seller that claimed that his MacBook Pro w/ Retina Display is directly shipped from MaryLand, USA. IT ONLY COSTS $850?! LIKE WTH. And its BNIB. Oh and it has 2 years intl warranty from Apple.

This is the specs that he sent me in an email. Seems damn freaking suspicious. Any advice peeps?

"Thanks for your mail and busines inquiry,

Deatils
Screen Size 15.4 inches
Screen Resolution 2880 x 1800
Max Screen Resolution 2880x1800 pixels
Processor 2 GHz Intel Core i7
RAM 8 GB DDR3L
Memory Speed 1600 MHz
Hard Drive 256 GB
Graphics Coprocessor Intel Iris Graphics
Wireless Type 802.11A, 802.11B, 802.11G, 802.11n
Number of USB 3.0 Ports 2
Other Technical Details
Brand Name Apple
Series me293
Hardware Platform Mac
Operating System Mac OS X Mavericks
Item Weight 4.5 pounds
Item Dimensions L x W x H 9.73 x 14.13 x 0.71 inches
Color Silver
Processor Brand Intel
Processor Count 1
Computer Memory Type SDRAM
Flash Memory Size 256
Hard Drive Interface Serial ATA
Optical Drive Type No
Audio-out Ports (#) 1
Battery Type Lithium Polymer (LiPo)

With fourth-generation Intel Core processors, the latest graphics, and faster flash storage, the incredibly advanced 15.4-inch MacBook Pro with Retina display moves even further ahead in performance and battery life.

Measuring a mere 0.71 inches and weighing only 4.46 pounds, the MacBook Pro sets a new standard in performance and portability for pro users. The world's highest resolution notebook display with over 5 million pixels ? 3 million more than an HD television--the MacBook Pro with Retina display has such a high pixel density that the human eye cannot distinguish individual pixels from a normal viewing distance.

This version of the 15.4-inch MacBook Pro with Retina display features a 2.0 GHz Core i7 quad-core processor, 256 GB of flash storage, and 8 GB of onboard RAM.

It's powered by OS X Mavericks, the world's most advanced operating system and built to bring out the best in your Mac. And the MacBook Pro comes pre-loaded with the latest version of the iLife software suite (iPhoto, iMovie, and GarageBand) as well as the iWork productivity suite (Pages, Numbers, and Keynote).

The MacBook Pro also includes both a high-speed Thunderbolt port and two USB 3 ports, enabling you to easily connect to external displays and a wide variety of high performance peripherals. With up to 60 percent faster PCIe-based flash storage compared to the previous generation and new 802.11ac Wi-Fi for up to 3x faster wireless, the new MacBook Pro is quicker and more responsive than ever. You'll also get up to 8 hours of battery life while on the go.
Breakthrough Retina Display
At over 5 million pixels (220 pixels-per-inch), the Retina display's pixel density is so high the human eye cannot distinguish individual pixels from a normal viewing distance, so text and graphics look incredibly sharp. Images take on a new level of realism and text is pin sharp. And with a 2880-by-1800 resolution, you can see more of your high-resolution images onscreen with pixel-for-pixel accuracy. You'll see fine details and textures in photos like never before, and even tell which photos are in focus just by looking at the thumbnail. The Retina display uses IPS technology for a 178-degree wide viewing angle.
Fourth-Generation Intel Core Processor
Since OS X is designed to take advantage of each core, the fourth-generation Intel Core i5 dual-core processor (based on the latest Haswell architecture) captures every bit of performance from the processor. When you need more power for a processor-intensive application like Aperture or Final Cut Pro, Turbo Boost 2.0 automatically increases the speed of the active cores. And by shifting core frequency in small increments, Turbo Boost allows the processor to manage performance without sacrificing efficiency.

This model features a 2.0 GHz quad-core Intel Core i7 processor with Turbo Boost speeds up to 3.2 GHz. It's complemented by Intel Iris Pro integrated graphics with 128 MB of embedded memory, which can accelerate processor- and graphics-intensive tasks by acting as an ultrafast cache.
Flash Storage Architecture
With its entirely flash-based architecture, the MacBook Pro with Retina display makes everything you do incredibly fast and responsive ? starting up takes seconds, apps launch quickly, even navigating the desktop feels incredibly fluid. The key is the new PCle-based flash storage, which provides faster read and write performance ? up to 60 percent faster than the previous-generation MacBook Pro. And flash storage is extremely energy efficient, which means your MacBook Pro also has the ability to stay in standby mode for up to a month, without plugging in.
802.11ac: The New Definition of Fast
The MacBook Pro now supports ultrafast 802.11ac Wi-Fi. When connected to an 802.11ac base station ? including the AirPort Extreme and AirPort Time Capsule ? wireless performance is up to three times faster than with the previous generation of MacBook Pro. And your Wi-Fi range improves as well.
Thunderbolt and USB 3
Delivering an amazing 10 gigabits per second of transfer speeds in both directions, the ultrafast and ultraflexible Thunderbolt port allows you to move data up to 20 times faster than with USB 2.0 and more than 12 times faster than with FireWire 800. You can also daisy-chain up to six Thunderbolt-compatible peripherals without using a hub. Thunderbolt also supports DisplayPort for high resolution displays and works with existing adapters for HDMI, DVI, and VGA displays.

The MacBook Pro also comes with two USB 3 ports, enabling you to connect your external hard drive and transfer large files in seconds instead of minutes with speeds up to 10 times faster than USB 2. And you can connect all your USB-compatible devices, including your iPhone, iPad, iPod, or digital camera.
Installed Software
At the heart of every MacBook Pro ? and every Mac ? is OS X Mavericks, the world's most advanced desktop operating system. It features an amazing collection of apps you'll use every day, and it includes advanced technologies that boost performance and battery life. OS X Mavericks works with the MacBook Pro's super-responsive trackpad so Multi-Touch gestures feel natural to use, and technologies like Power Nap take advantage of the Mac hardware to keep the entire system up to date while it sleeps.
OS X Mavericks
Mac App Store, Safari, Maps, iBooks, Mail, Messages, Calendar, Contacts, Reminders, Notes, Time Machine, FaceTime, Photo Booth, Game Center, iTunes, Preview, and more

Looking forward to read from you and hope to keep a long term business relationship with you.

Best Regards,"

trento

is the item shipped from US then seller deal COD with u?

if face to face, ask him for serial number. run a warranty online check on Apple's website.

make sure u open the set and test first. key things are like wifi, camera, keyboard, restart a few times.

if ship from overseas, make sure he's a reputable seller from ebay. pay thru paypal. no wire transfers unless the seller is so famous & reliable. but if he is, most ppl will know him already.

anyway where u get this link ? good deals must share.

is the item shipped from US then seller deal COD with u?

if face to face, ask him for serial number. run a warranty online check on Apple's website.

make sure u open the set and test first. key things are like wifi, camera, keyboard, restart a few times.

if ship from overseas, make sure he's a reputable seller from ebay. pay thru paypal. no wire transfers unless the seller is so famous & reliable. but if he is, most ppl will know him already.

anyway where u get this link ? good deals must share.

Ohhh, will ask him for a serial number. To check. No leh, he claims that his 'Mac is directly from the warehouse' and there's 15 units left when I first asked him about it. And he will shipped it to me directly to my doorstep. I asked him if I could pay a small deposit first. He requested 50% of the full price and remaining when item reached me. I wished it was from eBay dude. At least got credibility.

From Carousell, https://carousell.co/electronicsinc4u/

Go on and have a look. Maybe help me test water? Ask here ask there. Heh. Besides, the seller is a new user.

November

SHIKSHINISM!♥'24';88232276 said:
Ohhh, will ask him for a serial number. To check. No leh, he claims that his 'Mac is directly from the warehouse' and there's 15 units left when I first asked him about it. And he will shipped it to me directly to my doorstep. I asked him if I could pay a small deposit first. He requested 50% of the full price and remaining when item reached me. I wished it was from eBay dude. At least got credibility.

Go on and have a look. Maybe help me test water? Ask here ask there. Heh. Besides, the seller is a new user.

no need to see liao confirm it's a scam

The scammer koped the pictures from the internet and claim it's his.

it's very similar to edmw's wonderfag :s13:

i did a google search on his images....

oqhUODj.png

HPIw3nN.png

uWCIyj8.png

Uv7vgHs.png

P0xq71R.png

rAck9oe.png

trento

good thing someone google his images for a confirmation.

but unless seller is reputable, there's no way u should transfer any amount of money to him first.

Reputable as in his facebook page got many likes, testimonial etc. i buy some items from such sellers before, non IT ones though.

This is how u gauge. It's not the amount, but reputation. If not well known, then onus on seller to earn trust by doing COD. so don't proceed.

yixings

Don't risk your hard earn $$$! Furthermore, it is out of country, could you go Maryland to look for the seller if something happened?

chenaz

u believe 850? are u dumb enough to actually fall into the traps that he setup?any mac only comes with 1 year warranty. u think he is steve job's son huh? can get macbook at very low cost price then resell for 850.
confirm is a scam. use backside think also know already.

good stuff does not comes cheap.
cheap and good will not be together

trento

Anyone selling macs at that price will be famous, very famous

November

u believe 850? are u dumb enough to actually fall into the traps that he setup?any mac only comes with 1 year warranty. u think he is steve job's son huh? can get macbook at very low cost price then resell for 850.

Well, he changed the prices from $850 to $1,600

But lol, i managed to get him banned from Carousell =:p

9rjBBEs.png

chenaz

Well, he changed the prices from $850 to $1,600

But lol, i managed to get him banned from Carousell =:p

9rjBBEs.png

he change the price and will not change the fact that he is a scammer. 1600 is still way too cheap.

well done. but he can always create a new account haha

negativzero

he change the price and will not change the fact that he is a scammer. 1600 is still way too cheap.

well done. but he can always create a new account haha

I bought a 15" RMBP for 1.5k direct from an Apple staff internal sale.
1.6k is still considered cheap.

Yaaah lor, I'm so damn dumb to actually come to HWZ to ask a douchebag like you. Hey come on bro, I came here to ask for advices and to create awareness on such sellers on Carousell. Not to get discriminated and judged by you. I hate to say it, but people like you make the internet a bad place. It's not somewhere to boast your ego.

duhduhduh

Haha lucky yo bro.

should treat the bro above a coffee. saved your hard earned money.

anyway, if a deal is too good to be true, it is likely to be fake.

November

Haha lucky yo bro.

should treat the bro above a coffee. saved your hard earned money.

anyway, if a deal is too good to be true, it is likely to be fake.

no need lah...

just be careful of such deals in future, dun let foreign trashes scam u can already.

google the images, google for his nick if u got doubt ;)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.