Is this diy ok?

Bayun3y3

Dear all bros / experts here,

Would like your advice if this is ok or have I miss out any good PC parts. I'm going to diy my PC the first time. Using it mainly for gaming (upcoming games like Evolve, witcher 3 and current games like dark soul 2, dota 2 etc) and abit photography editing.

Done some research online a few days already and came up with the below build (PC budget ~$1.5K) (another monitor budget for photography~$500)

CPU + Mobo: i5-4460 + MSI B85 G43 Gaming (~383 TP)
GPU: MSI R9 280X Gaming 3GB (~449 FW)
RAM: G.SKILL RIPJAWS X 1600MHz CL9 (4GBX2) (~115 PCT)
SSD: Samsung 840EVO 500gb (~339 FW/PCT)
CASE: Corsair 200R (~85 PCT)
PSU: Seasonic S12G 550W (~105 PCT)
(PC Total ~1476)

24" Dell Monitor U2412M (399 Dell online)

Please free feel to commend/suggest other PC parts. I will stay with MSI mobo and GPU as I heard alot of their quality. But should I get the MSI R9 290?

If any of you are photography enthusiast, also appreciate your advice on the monitor.

Thank you!

Omfgitzmark

Dear all bros / experts here,

Would like your advice if this is ok or have I miss out any good PC parts. I'm going to diy my PC the first time. Using it mainly for gaming (upcoming games like Evolve, witcher 3 and current games like dark soul 2, dota 2 etc) and abit photography editing.

Done some research online a few days already and came up with the below build (PC budget ~$1.5K) (another monitor budget for photography~$500)

CPU + Mobo: i5-4460 + MSI B85 G43 Gaming (~383 TP)
GPU: MSI R9 280X Gaming 3GB (~449 FW)
RAM: G.SKILL RIPJAWS X 1600MHz CL9 (4GBX2) (~115 PCT)
SSD: Samsung 840EVO 500gb (~339 FW/PCT)
CASE: Corsair 200R (~85 PCT)
PSU: Seasonic S12G 550W (~105 PCT)
(PC Total ~1476)

24" Dell Monitor U2412M (399 Dell online)

Please free feel to commend/suggest other PC parts. I will stay with MSI mobo and GPU as I heard alot of their quality. But should I get the MSI R9 290?

If any of you are photography enthusiast, also appreciate your advice on the monitor.

Thank you!

Why not considering getting a 128GB SSSD and a 1TB HDD? Gives you both the speed and space you need :s8:

Jian19

i5-4460 + msi b85m g43 ~ $335
Crucial 8gb ddr3 ~ $100
Crucial mx100 256gb ssd ~ $155
Wd blue 1tb ~ $68
Msi gtx970 gaming ~ $575
Superflower hx 600 ~ $108
Lg dvd rom ~ $21
Fractal design arc midi r2 ~ $130
Win7 64 oem ~ $115
Dell u2414h ~ $335

$1942 buy and DIY @ tradepac ask for discount. If not sure how to DIY can bring to gs shop ask him help u assemble @ a fee. Should still have budget for a sound card.

Bayun3y3

thanks for the suggestions.

Ok will consider combination of SSD and Harddisk for more space and cost saving.

But for the suggestion on getting gtx970 4gb, is it overkill?
I meant I'm not using 2 monitors, which most online review mentioned 4gb mainly for big screens or multiple screens. Currently the games or upcoming game doesn't require 4gb as well..

wkweewee

There are cheaper variants of gtx 970 around.

As for monitors go for those ips type, either 23-24 inch 1080p or the 27-28 inch 1440p ones. You playing ard with raw/ compressed photos from your cam?

Jian19

U said u looking to play upcoming games as well

Nowadays latest game need at least 3gb VRAM , I dun think 4gb is overkill, besides its only gtx970 :s22:

Bayun3y3

U said u looking to play upcoming games as well

Nowadays latest game need at least 3gb VRAM , I dun think 4gb is overkill, besides its only gtx970 :s22:

hmm true.. if so then will be using gtx970 for few years down the road liao.. no need keep changing..

thanks

Bayun3y3

There are cheaper variants of gtx 970 around.

As for monitors go for those ips type, either 23-24 inch 1080p or the 27-28 inch 1440p ones. You playing ard with raw/ compressed photos from your cam?

will be playing with raw photos. Any good cheaper variant to recommend?
My current old build lasted me 5 years plus.. GPU is palit 4870..

Is palit still a reliable budget brand?

thanks

wkweewee

thanks

Reliability wise I am not sure but warranty wise it's solid I guess. Go for those more recent de ips monitors ba, since you are working with raw. Gives a better and more accurate colour representation, so less likely to over/under saturate portions of the raw.

Gtx 970 in lazada online seems to be cheaper due to the 10% off mastercard discount. Do check it out.

Bayun3y3

Reliability wise I am not sure but warranty wise it's solid I guess. Go for those more recent de ips monitors ba, since you are working with raw. Gives a better and more accurate colour representation, so less likely to over/under saturate portions of the raw.

icic.. for monitor, I'm looking at the recently release Dell U2415.. got factory calibration somemore.. :)

Omfgitzmark

thanks

I just got myself a Palit GTX970 for about a month, recommended by my friend who got a GTX770. So far there isn't any issue the gpu. I am happy with it hahaha :s13:

applebig

I just got myself a Palit GTX970 for about a month, recommended by my friend who got a GTX770. So far there isn't any issue the gpu. I am happy with it hahaha :s13:

Is the difference between 970 and 770 huge? Or just minimal difference between performance?

Omfgitzmark

Is the difference between 970 and 770 huge? Or just minimal difference between performance?

Well according to GeForce Performance site (which you can google it as I dont have enough post to create link here LOL :s11:) the 970 seems to be better than the 770 itself. Correct me if I am wrong, 770 comes in 2GB & 4GB right? whereas the 970 comes in only 4GB. Also, the price for both gpu isn't that far apart. I rather get 970 :s13: just personal preferences thou, mai quote me!

Bayun3y3

lazada's 10% mastercard monday promo is cool.. Palit 970 4gb jetstream after discount is $478..

Wasted that they dont carry other prominent brands like MSI.. lol.. sure hoot..

suavegamer30

U can consider getting a LED IPS monitor, it's finer in pixels and projects a clearer image within seconds ;)

suavegamer30

Online ordering is even worth the value ;)
Delighted that u make the right choice :)

lazada's 10% mastercard monday promo is cool.. Palit 970 4gb jetstream after discount is $478..

Wasted that they dont carry other prominent brands like MSI.. lol.. sure hoot..

Bayun3y3

my dream come true.. haha.. Lazada carrying MSI graphic cards now..

sure hoot liao.. heheh

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.