Is this doable?

RSKeisuke

Summary:
Travelling with old folks and a 4 year old, total group of 6.
3 nights in Taipei
2 nights in Cingjing
1 night in Sun Moon Lake
2 nights in Taichung city
Have not decided on accommodation yet. Feel free to make hotel recommendations. Suggest sightseeing locations too pls! :o

Day 01 - SIN to TPE
Taoyuan airport to hotel - taxi?
Check in Taipei hotel (1730hrs??)
Easy night in vicinity of hotel
Overnight in Taipei hotel

Day 02
Day trip to Jiufen and Shifen (full day till evening) - Need chartered minivan (1 day)

Day 03
Sightseeing in Taipei city
Taipei night market

Day 04 Taipei to Cingjing
Check out Taipei hotel
Take HSR to Taichung
Cingjing hotel pick up from Taichung HSR station
Overnight in Cingjing farm

Day 05
Cingjing sightseeing

Day 06 Cingjing to Sun Moon Lake
Check out Cingjing farm
Transfer to Sun Moon Lake - Local taxi?
Sightseeing in Sun Moon Lake
Overnight in Sun Moon Lake hotel

Day 07 Sun Moon Lake to Taichung city
Check out Sun Moon Lake hotel
Transfer to Taichung city hotel
Sightseeing in Taichung
- Fengjia night market
Overnight in Taichung city hotel

Day 08
Sightseeing in Taichung

Day 09
Check out Taichung city hotel
HSR to Taoyuan
Taoyuan HSR station to Taoyuan Airport - taxi or shuttle
Flight to SIN

tiongchauheng

Summary:
Travelling with old folks and a 4 year old, total group of 6.
3 nights in Taipei
2 nights in Cingjing
1 night in Sun Moon Lake
2 nights in Taichung city
Have not decided on accommodation yet. Feel free to make hotel recommendations. Suggest sightseeing locations too pls! :o

Day 01 - SIN to TPE
Taoyuan airport to hotel - taxi?
Check in Taipei hotel (1730hrs??)
Easy night in vicinity of hotel

Day 02
Day trip to Jiufen and Shifen (full day till evening) - Need chartered minivan (1 day)

Day 03
Sightseeing in Taipei city
Taipei night market

Day 04 Taipei to Cingjing
Check out Taipei hotel
Take HSR to Taichung
Cingjing hotel pick up from Taichung HSR station

Day 05
Cingjing sightseeing

Day 06 Cingjing to Sun Moon Lake
Check out Cingjing farm
Transfer to Sun Moon Lake - Local taxi?
Sightseeing in Sun Moon Lake
Overnight in Sun Moon Lake hotel

Day 07 Sun Moon Lake to Taichung city
Check out Sun Moon Lake hotel
Transfer to Taichung city hotel
Sightseeing in Taichung
- Fengjia night market

Day 08
Sightseeing in Taichung

Day 09
Check out Taichung city hotel
HSR to Taoyuan
Taoyuan HSR station to Taoyuan Airport - taxi or shuttle
Flight to SIN

day 9
you can book a shuttle to taoyuan airport... maybe 5 to 6000nt

dilphinus

You don't need 3 nights for Sun moon lake/Cingjing. There's nothing much at Cingjing. Just some goat/horse show which starts at 1030am and 130pm if i am not wrong. Do not buy anthing here. Peach was selling at TWD300 a box up the mountain and it was going for TWD250 for 1 single at cingjing. Ordered a bowl of beef noodle which has no taste.

There is also nothing much at Sunmoon lake. You can drive around the lake which is about the size of Pulau ubin in under 30 mins to look at different parts of it.

P/S : Not sure who told me Taroko Gorge can't be completed in 1 day. I completed the drive in half a day together with Hehuanshan and arrive at Puli in mid afternoon with various stop points. I was lucky, Taroko was damaged and only reopened on Wed and though opened, it was still messy with debris all over at some parts so take care if you're going.

So you drove thru taroko gorge or did the trails, see the sights? Wonder how much did you see/do. Of cos drive thru only don't need a whole day. If want to see the sights and walk the trail, pretty obvious half a day isn't sufficient.

Did you see the baiyang waterfall? Did you do the swallow grotto? Did you do the tunnel of nine turns? Did you go to Tianxiang? Did you do the shakadang trail? Did you see the Qingshui cliff and eternal shrine?

Gixxerfied

So you drove thru taroko gorge or did the trails, see the sights? Wonder how much did you see/do. Of cos drive thru only don't need a whole day. If want to see the sights and walk the trail, pretty obvious half a day isn't sufficient.

Did you see the baiyang waterfall? Did you do the swallow grotto? Did you do the tunnel of nine turns? Did you go to Tianxiang? Did you do the shakadang trail? Did you see the Qingshui cliff and eternal shrine?

Exactly...Stop and walk vs drive thru...

Went to all the above mention with a driver, and yes was a 9am to 5pm trip including stop for lunch..

calkel20

Of course. Everything you mentioned is along the way. of course of course i don't mean stop at every scenic point but selectively you decide what you want to see and stop for. How long you want to stop for? 2-3 hours each stop to smell the air until song? Like that give you 10 days also not enough.

FACT is Taroko CAN BE completed in a day for people who wish to. Doesn't matter it is 72 km long(dunno who told me it's 72km no way it can be completed in 1 day) For people who want to slowly take their own sweet time yes yes yes you need more than one day but I don't like to waste time so YES IT CAN BE DONE IN ONE SINGLE DAY. For the unintiated, it is 50 mins from Hualien and about 2hrs from Puli, both are towns with hotels to put up for the night, just in case "YOU NEED MORE THAN 1 day"

72km? Wow! I din't know it...
But i am sure if you wanna try out different trails, it will in fact take a few other dyas.

dilphinus

Of course. Everything you mentioned is along the way. of course of course i don't mean stop at every scenic point but selectively you decide what you want to see and stop for. How long you want to stop for? 2-3 hours each stop to smell the air until song? Like that give you 10 days also not enough.

FACT is Taroko CAN BE completed in a day for people who wish to. Doesn't matter it is 72 km long(dunno who told me it's 72km no way it can be completed in 1 day) For people who want to slowly take their own sweet time yes yes yes you need more than one day but I don't like to waste time so YES IT CAN BE DONE IN ONE SINGLE DAY. For the unintiated, it is 50 mins from Hualien and about 2hrs from Puli, both are towns with hotels to put up for the night, just in case "YOU NEED MORE THAN 1 day"

How long did it take for you to walk in to see the baiyang waterfall?

calkel20

72km is I think is the entire trail which is where it connects to Hehuanshan. The area is huge but truly the gorge is only first hour or 2 nia..after that is no longer gorge...and honestly...after a while..all scenery looks the same lar..but if you really want to smell every corner of it, yes it will probably take you days, weeks and even months. But if like me, just want to drive through it, stop at the major scenic points to take some pics and run liao, it can be done in one day lar. The Taroko part like I say...is only around 2 hours road trail nia...so how long you wan to stop? Up to you man. Oh and I started my day at 5am( in fact i check out around daily at that time while in Taiwan). Think by 12pm I reached Hehuanshan...and around 2pm I reached Puli liao. So if those like to sleep till 8am and eat hotel breakfast type then sorry your day is shorter than mine...don't quote me hor..I was on tight schedule rounding the island and so I have no choice but to do it by hook or crook but realised that it is not what people made it out to be.

Your name can change to roadrunner lo.
Sad to say, to clock mileage not enjoying a good taroko, we do feel sad for u. Should have just gave it a miss.

Each time i am in hualien, i will still love to visit the ever changing landscape of TAROKO NATIONAL PARK.

Or did u even visit cingshui fallen cliff?

calkel20

About 1hour+.

Taroko was closed till 15th Aug, so i had no choice but to strike it off my list. But on my 2nd last day, from hualien I tried my luck and god bless, the path was cleared 1-2 days before. So still i proceed but keeping my time as short as short as possible at every sceneic point because I have to return to Taipei on the same day. Reached puli around 2pm. Had lunch there, left around 3pm, go taipei via taichung...reached taipei around 8pm.

Really jin pro... But worth rushing meh?
Haiz...

dilphinus

Your name can change to roadrunner lo.
Sad to say, to clock mileage not enjoying a good taroko, we do feel sad for u. Should have just gave it a miss.

Each time i am in hualien, i will still love to visit the ever changing landscape of TAROKO NATIONAL PARK.

Or did u even visit cingshui fallen cliff?

I agree the first part. But 2nd part, hmmm. 1996 I was at Taroko Gorge, last year I went again. It's the same. I compare the 1996 photos and 2013 photos, don't see any difference! LOL! :s22:

calkel20

I agree the first part. But 2nd part, hmmm. 1996 I was at Taroko Gorge, last year I went again. It's the same. I compare the 1996 photos and 2013 photos, don't see any difference! LOL! :s22:

Yes. Depends on when u visit it. Especially the bad landslide part in May have changed the landscape a bit.

twosix

To TS:

Day 2: since you are renting a minivan, might as well cover yeliu, keelung, jiufen, shifen, jinguashi, etc. This will be whole day from 9am to 8pm.

Day 4: Go Taichung must go fengjia nm. I'd suggest you stay the night in TC instead of CJ. next day go CJ, do a day tour, stay for the night, then next day leave for SML.

So, either spend 1 more night in Taipei first before TC or spend another night in Taipei before coming home.

RSKeisuke

To TS:

Day 2: since you are renting a minivan, might as well cover yeliu, keelung, jiufen, shifen, jinguashi, etc. This will be whole day from 9am to 8pm.

Day 4: Go Taichung must go fengjia nm. I'd suggest you stay the night in TC instead of CJ. next day go CJ, do a day tour, stay for the night, then next day leave for SML.

So, either spend 1 more night in Taipei first before TC or spend another night in Taipei before coming home.

Thanks for your input.

For day 2, is it gonna be too packed and rush?

So there really isn't much in CJ for a 2nd night?

dilphinus

Thanks for your input.

Day two will be packed and most people don't want to split it in two days, returning to taipei at the end of the day. Can split in two days and stay one night in keelung.

Try staying at pulau ubin for two nights. Things to do at night is to look at stars.

twosix

Thanks for your input.

with a driver, it won't be. one can always catch a quick nap when traveling from 1 place to another. just make sure the vehicle is comfortable enough for the 6 of you.

CJ will mainly be a day tour, main attraction is the green green grassland for the children to run about with the sheeps. plus other attractions, half a day will do, unless the children wants to play with the sheeps again. At night CJ got nothing to do one, just eat and "enjoy" the weather, if u like it cold.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.