Is this rig worth?

Fufubiscuit

For invader PC, I suggest to NOT upgrade the ssd but to instead add on one. I guess the Samsung 990 pro 2tb seems fine. Request them to install the Samsung as your main drive and to install the OS on it.
Hi thanks for your advice but but can I ask how much of a difference does it make because it’s gonna set me back about $200 for the Samsung 990 pro and that would put the build nearer to $3k.

Fufubiscuit

Hi all, since I still have some time before pulling the trigger, what case should I get? (Provided invaderpc has it) I don’t really like the sama case because it’s too big. I think something like the Silverstone ld04 is much more to my taste. Is that a good case or is there something better?

GotBetrayed

Maybe you wanna give more details about what games you play? 9800X3D seems abit overkill

-Synchronicity-

Hi thanks for your advice but but can I ask how much of a difference does it make because it’s gonna set me back about $200 for the Samsung 990 pro and that would put the build nearer to $3k.
For OS ssd, it's better to get a guaranteed TLC flash SSD. That SSD uses the slower QLC flash. Unless u want me to get technical, the general rule of thumb is that for OS drive just use TLC.

The alternative is to change the SSD but honestly that option already costs 100+ unless u drop down to 1tb. Might as well top up another 100 to retain the free ssd as a secondary storage or even unplugging from your system to sell.

If you don't mind buying ssd separately and installing the ssd and os yourself, you could save more. Up to you to decide if the hassle is worth it to pay less.

86technie

The ADATA LEGEND 900 PRO is DRAMless thus it is cheaper than Samsung 990 Pro which has DRAM.
SSD with DRAM will perform much better than SSD without DRAM especially for heavy usage.
ADATA SSD does not have good reviews unlike the Samsung.

Really mixed performance, for example this model.

https://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/adata-legend-960-ssd-review

Alternate will be Lexar NM790 quite a popular Gen 4 SSD currently beside
the Samsung 990 pro. Same thing Lexar NM790 is cheaper since it is DRAMless
but performance is close to 990 pro.

Since you building a high end rig don't skimp on the SSD, get a better one like Samsung
than you can tap on the PC full potential.

Vanyel

Hi all, since I still have some time before pulling the trigger, what case should I get? (Provided invaderpc has it) I don’t really like the sama case because it’s too big. I think something like the Silverstone ld04 is much more to my taste. Is that a good case or is there something better?
generally bigger case = better cooling~

Vanyel

@86technie thank you for taking time to explain. I will add on/upgrade to Samsung 990 pro!
personally i always go for budget nvme ssds~
real world difference without a 2nd PC beside you to compare, no one can tell the difference imo

Fufubiscuit

For OS ssd, it's better to get a guaranteed TLC flash SSD. That SSD uses the slower QLC flash. Unless u want me to get technical, the general rule of thumb is that for OS drive just use TLC.

The alternative is to change the SSD but honestly that option already costs 100+ unless u drop down to 1tb. Might as well top up another 100 to retain the free ssd as a secondary storage or even unplugging from your system to sell.

If you don't mind buying ssd separately and installing the ssd and os yourself, you could save more. Up to you to decide if the hassle is worth it to pay less.
Yeah I was quoted +$135 for an upgrade or $245 for add on. Makes sense to just top up.

86technie

personally i always go for budget nvme ssds~
real world difference without a 2nd PC beside you to compare, no one can tell the difference imo

Not really seriously especially SSD uses TLC and QLC you can notice a difference.
Especially when you do downloading or heavy usage.

Vanyel

Not really seriously especially SSD uses TLC and QLC you can notice a difference.
Especially when you do downloading or heavy usage.
normally what i do on my PC is just gaming and watch youtube
when downloading/installing the games from steam i do realise that my boy's PC downloads/installs at a faster rate
lets say he needs 40mins for example, i will need 60mins
but honestly the 20mins more doesnt really affects me much, its a 1 time process
i dun download/install new games every day or week
and while gaming wise i doubt there's really any noticeable difference

i dun have large files to transfers often either on a daily basis, so for me my first priority is price
*just sharing my own opinion/views for my needs/expectation, mai open thread shoot me pls 😜

86technie

normally what i do on my PC is just gaming and watch youtube
when downloading/installing the games from steam i do realise that my boy's PC downloads/installs at a faster rate
lets say he needs 40mins for example, i will need 60mins
but honestly the 20mins more doesnt really affects me much, its a 1 time process
i dun download/install new games every day or week
and while gaming wise i doubt there's really any noticeable difference

i dun have large files to transfers often either on a daily basis, so for me my first priority is price
*just sharing my own opinion/views for my needs/expectation, mai open thread shoot me pls 😜
Ha.. Ha..
Cuz different SSD the controller it uses are different.
When you download a huge game like for example 100gb.
The time taken will be different depending on the type of SSD.
I know you like to use SSD from China hope you don't kena fake.
Recently one of my user kena fake Samsung SSD.
When the SSD has blinking light I already suspect something off.

Vanyel

Ha.. Ha..
Cuz different SSD the controller it uses are different.
When you download a huge game like for example 100gb.
The time taken will be different depending on the type of SSD.
I know you like to use SSD from China hope you don't kena fake.
Recently one of my user kena fake Samsung SSD.
When the SSD has blinking light I already suspect something off.
atm all my ssds so far still amazon~
but amazon nowadays like have more scam news?

Yongkit

The monitor he wanna get, 5060ti with 7600 is enough. 1.3k settle pc.
I do understand your concern there is a lot bandwidth left on the table for his build.

I believe no hurry and OLED really not for everyone depends on their usage.

The monitor op shared also not that weak based on rtings evaluation.

GotBetrayed

I do understand your concern there is a lot bandwidth left on the table for his build.

I believe no hurry and OLED really not for everyone depends on their usage.

The monitor op shared also not that weak based on rtings evaluation.
Haha ok la, just wanna help him match pc specs with monitor

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.