Isit worth it to overclock?

Aymanhero

Say an I5 4460 vs an overclocked I5 4690k

Im going to spend 100+ more on overclocking by having to buy a z board and an aftermarket cooler so isit still worth it to overclock?

avsquare

For gaming? If so, overclocking for gaming on a Haswell chip, not really. Unless your chip is like Nehalem/Sandy Bridge and still not looking forward to a change yet, maybe overclocking it to 4GHz mark can help in some bottlenecks that you are facing.

Even if you are talking about multi tasking and the above average power users, more cores probably beat higher frequencies. That's why you have those 12/16 core Xeon monsters but they run at 3GHz speeds. And not to mention, dual CPU supporting mobos. Plug 2x 16 core Xeons on that mobo and you have a 32cores/64threads powerhouse to grind whatever you are churning out.

So franking speaking, to me at least, overclocking is something really more of a luxury, and self-satisfaction. For over 90% of the PC users, having a 3.5GHz CPU and a 5GHz CPU doesn't make much of a difference. You still get what you want done. It is like flying Economy class and First Class Suite on the same plane to the same destination. Flying First Class Suite is of cos sibeh shiok. Same as when you got a golden chip and overclocks to 4.8GHz and above for a Haswell chip, that feeling of satisfaction and lanpa song, that's understandable. But you have to evaluate if this is a thing for you and whether the cost is justifiable for you or not.

kaixax555

Nah, just stick to a 4460, you won't really see much of a difference actually :s13:

Overclocking is just like pushing your CPU to its limits, mostly for self-satisfaction like avsquare said.

trento

imo, u got a inferior chip, then maybe OC is worth it. eg, G3250 and those AMD chips. btw, no need z board to oc

Kyo_kusanagi86

I am just overclocking my Haswell to 3.5GHZ and SLI GFX just to surf Hardware zone forum. Feels shiok~ :s22:

CeleronD

Oc is more of a hobby these days since the slowest processors also can do a decent job. But depends on yr application. Some games tax even the fastest CPUs coz they can only use 2 cores. Like arma 3. Or starcraft 2-- try a 4v4 slugfest late game. Even 5ghz will slow down.

royfrosty

Lol the time is really ....

I can take the whole day just to find the most stable oc settings.

Koenig168

There's no need to overclock. I even disabled Turbo Boost on my 4790K.

avsquare

Lol the time is really ....

I can take the whole day just to find the most stable oc settings.

Depends on how long you want to run the stress test per step also :s13:

The most sian is you tot you find the settings you want liao, do one final long run stress test, after a few hours past you tot wah should be okay liao then error/crash like at 4-5hr mark. Sibeh sians.

sglords

the most sian part is everything sui sui pass intelburntest & aida64 stress test
then go play bf4 and get bsod :s22:

royfrosty

Lol. Yeap that sums it all. Stable on synthetic. But not for gaming. Damn!

I ever tested on my previous i5-4670k before it died.

I could not believe that i got a uber i5-4670k to oc at 4.7ghz at just 1.26v. And temps were at 84deg region with h100i aio.

Tested intel burn test, aida, prime95 with avx. All pass 4 hours test each. Thats 12hour testing. And it crashed on bf4. Wasted my time for 12hours and gain only 1-9fps on average yet not getting anything.

avsquare

Lol. Yeap that sums it all. Stable on synthetic. But not for gaming. Damn!

I ever tested on my previous i5-4670k before it died.

I could not believe that i got a uber i5-4670k to oc at 4.7ghz at just 1.26v. And temps were at 84deg region with h100i aio.

Tested intel burn test, aida, prime95 with avx. All pass 4 hours test each. Thats 12hour testing. And it crashed on bf4. Wasted my time for 12hours and gain only 1-9fps on average yet not getting anything.

Heng I don't play BF4 :s13:

AFAIK my i7-4790K passed AIDA64 and OCCT stress test 4hr each at 4.8GHz at around 1.26V but dunno if it is BF4 stable :s13:

My current 5930K takes 4.5GHz at 1.257V, maybe I should try BF4 for a final stability test lmao :s13:

Piezoq

Say an I5 4460 vs an overclocked I5 4690k

Im going to spend 100+ more on overclocking by having to buy a z board and an aftermarket cooler so isit still worth it to overclock?

For content consumption, a modern laptop/desktop (non-mobile computing) isn't processor limited, not even with multitasking--We left that era when Nehalem came along.

However, the processor remains a bottleneck for content creation and certain games, but that usually occurs in tandem with high-end GPU requirements, which are more expensive than CPUs, in general.

I am a reformed overclocker, and nowadays, I value stability and efficiency. The efficiency drops remarkably with OC so typically, I undervolt.

I buy k chips because of binning and z-boards for their features and build quality, so it's not so much $ per Ghz as quality assurance and reliability.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.