It about time for EU to spend money to defend themself

The_King

this is what happen when you make other country pay for your security. it always everyman for himself cause

quote-we-have-no-eternal-allies-and-we-have-not-perpetual-enemies-our-interests-are-eternal-henry-john-temple-52-93-52.jpg

with that said either you are this side of logic or by definition against it

Jude Raphael

That is very true, unfortunately, The US has ironically showed the world this theory is now the "way" to go and the decades of old alliance has been thrown in the bin within a month of Trump's Presidency. So..the old thinking of depending on the U.S to help the allies no longer holds. Leaders who are similar to Trump may even turn out to be the next "imperialist".

Sadly, the younger generation does not see THE VALUE in the contribution towards the National Service. Sure, the National Service may be improved by reinforcing the value that our conscripts provide. Raising the allowance is not a permanent solution, though. The 18 year olds seem to think that they would have more value elsewhere at that age. Of course, they may sing a different tune if they step into the workforce in the midst of a recession or downturn in the economy. My 2 cents worth.

Ubi-Warrior

That is very true, unfortunately, The US has ironically showed the world this theory is now the "way" to go and the decades of old alliance has been thrown in the bin within a month of Trump's Presidency. So..the old thinking of depending on the U.S to help the allies no longer holds. Leaders who are similar to Trump may even turn out to be the next "imperialist".

Sadly, the younger generation does not see THE VALUE in the contribution towards the National Service. Sure, the National Service may be improved by reinforcing the value that our conscripts provide. Raising the allowance is not a permanent solution, though. The 18 year olds seem to think that they would have more value elsewhere at that age. Of course, they may sing a different tune if they step into the workforce in the midst of a recession or downturn in the economy. My 2 cents worth.

The youth of today is very integrated globally.

You think they have same thinking of the 60+ generation who are still living in 70s/80s mind set , always need to have an enemy.
You see it in the work place , old folk always looking to pit people against each other to maintain the negative environments they are used to and can manipulate. Collaboration remove "leverage" in politics and business.

I am hoping that this is the last 5-10 years of negative policy and the the collaboration of the youth of today 30yrs and under will take the world forward not backward.

ShinnAsuka

I give benefit of doubt you have been thru national service. If you really did, you wouldnt disagree the value sg males gave up is not well compensated, not just during service, but also post NS life.

stepping into workforce in midst of recession is not a strong argument. Era changed, there is remote work, there is relocation, there is content creation, there is crypto. Even working part time at mcd or starbucks earns more than the service pay, plus freedom, which is invaluable.

if you are a hiring manager, would you take in a 25yo fresh grad (with annual ict requirement) or 25yo with 2-3yrs of relevant working experience, even with salary difference for bettering your team.

i agree that ns is important on sg’s military defence, but that doesnt causate to dismissing the fundamental issues with mere ns credits. I feel the actions and words of ministers dont even put ns in high regards (eg, “if you are not happy you can leave”), but using law to enforce the obligation.

Zinna

i tot war in Ukraine already 3 years liao? Now still talking about needing to spend money defend EU?
Trump was right, EU still sleeping

NintendoSwitch

No value in defending talents. Jobs they take. zha bor they take. Condo they take. Cars they take. Talents so good, send them to NS lah.

Can Or Not

Singapore politicians already predict stalemate… At least Donald Trump is finding a way out for both to stop the killing.

The UK has been cutting their defence budget by a lot and including other EU nations.

Mechafanboy

So many conflicting statements from different people within the Trump administration. Some pro NATO, some anti NATO. No unity within the Trump administration.

The constant flip flopping is nauseating. And the Def Sec who couldn't name a single ASEAN state, is so bad at his job. Why do these incompetent peepur want jobs that's beyond their own capabilities? To show the world that they are behkan?

hachi

Well ww2 taught us a lesson. 1998 our neighbor wanna shut our water tap.

With SAF... You think they don't dare? No joke... Was in mono intake... And artillery guns pull out and standby... Lucky was a recruit then.

Jude Raphael

The youth of today is very integrated globally.

You think they have same thinking of the 60+ generation who are still living in 70s/80s mind set , always need to have an enemy.
You see it in the work place , old folk always looking to pit people against each other to maintain the negative environments they are used to and can manipulate. Collaboration remove "leverage" in politics and business.

I am hoping that this is the last 5-10 years of negative policy and the the collaboration of the youth of today 30yrs and under will take the world forward not backward.
Of course, no one wants a war. I agree, the youth today are more globalised than I am. The West used to be united against Russia, but look at the situation now. Point to note is, there is no forever enemy but perpetual interest. In Chinese, this is simply 没有永远的朋友,只有永远的利益。。

Really,I dislike all the SIEGE mentality (Someone like Trump), office politicking and manipulating that you have mentioned. Of course, it also helps to be AWARE that there is such a risk of others doing unto us and not live in our bubble that all will always be fine.

The conclusion of my opinion: We cannot afford to be complacent. Diplomacy is essential but so is deterrence. :)
flat,750x,075,f-pad,750x1000,f8f8f8.webp

LoUsyGamER

These countries just piggyback on usa and expected free lunch.

Where does their money goes to?

Lonewolf83

Of course, no one wants a war. I agree, the youth today are more globalised than I am. The West used to be united against Russia, but look at the situation now. Point to note is, there is no forever enemy but perpetual interest. In Chinese, this is simply 没有永远的朋友,只有永远的利益。。

Really,I dislike all the SIEGE mentality (Someone like Trump), office politicking and manipulating that you have mentioned. Of course, it also helps to be AWARE that there is such a risk of others doing unto us and not live in our bubble that all will always be fine.

The conclusion of my opinion: We cannot afford to be complacent. Diplomacy is essential but so is deterrence. :)
flat,750x,075,f-pad,750x1000,f8f8f8.webp
Like the cartoon you post

but is true, there is never such a thing as forever friend, only beneficial relationships.

if believe in forever friend, then best of luck when reality hits left, right, centre

Tenpai

So many conflicting statements from different people within the Trump administration. Some pro NATO, some anti NATO. No unity within the Trump administration.

The constant flip flopping is nauseating. And the Def Sec who couldn't name a single ASEAN state, is so bad at his job. Why do these incompetent peepur want jobs that's beyond their own capabilities? To show the world that they are behkan?
Trump is actually simple. You want protection? Pay for it. No more freeloading.

Essentially, he is transactional. There's good and bad. Good is that US no longer spend taxpayer money on freeloaders. Bad is that Russia and China may see this opportunity to step up and become "Big Brother".

US is flawed but because its navy guaranteed freedom of navigation, that is why sea routes have not been disrupted for many years

forests_gump

Expecting a United States having 346m people to continue come to the rescue of another union of countries having 449m, is just no common sense - EU always expect US (since ww2), but US knew no one will come if conversely.

Similarity expect less than 1.5m part timers non professionals to defend 6m (majority doesn't belong here) is no common sense as well

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.