ITE> Poly > Local Uni?

MoxLotus

guys i study in com eng currently with a gpa around 3.85 i want to try to get into ntu or nus com eng but then like someone say no O level mean i only got 80% from my poly. is like abit hopeless lor the 20% alot leh.

dun worry be happy .. ur 3.85 is dip with merit i suppose ?? so no problem entering one lah hahaha ...

MoxLotus

4. I am a polytechnic graduate who did not take the Singapore-Cambridge GCE O-Level examinations. Can I still apply for admission?
The university assesses polytechnic applicants based on a composite score of both the applicant’s polytechnic results and Singapore-Cambridge GCE O-Level results. In instances where the applicant did not take the GCE O-Level examinations, applicants will be assessed on a case-by-case basis and the university typically looks at the applicant’s polytechnic results as well as other academic and non-academic achievements.

Found the above information from NTU website ... so i guess that will provide some of the fellow users some informations ..

sillysquid

I'm currently a year 2 student in Higher Nitec in Electronics Engineering, graduating March 2021. After graduating ITE, I want to further my studies in a polytechnic to get a diploma in Computer Engineering (TP or SP). After getting that diploma, I wanna go to a local university to get a Degree in Computer Engineering, most preferably NTU or NUS. However I have some uncertainties. :(

Okay so I'll state my concerns here, to seek your advice!::s12:
1. With a current GPA of 3.3 in year 2 (I still have chances of pulling up my GPA), do I have a high chance to enter Computer Engineering in TP? I know it depends on the number of applicants that wants to enter the course, but based on my can-be-improved GPA, will I get the course even if I select TP Comp Eng as my first choice?

2. Firstly, there is a cutoff point of polytechnic GPA to enter a local university. I think its 3.7 to 3.8 for computer engineering degree, if I'm not wrong? (please correct me). Okay, so let's say I got into TP Comp Eng, and I graduate with a GPA of 3.5, will I still be able to enter a uni? Or if I get 3.7 (can enter), but I do not meet the requirement of having an GCE O Level Certificate, not even Mathematics. Can I still be accepted?:s11:

snoozex

I'm currently a year 2 student in Higher Nitec in Electronics Engineering, graduating March 2021. After graduating ITE, I want to further my studies in a polytechnic to get a diploma in Computer Engineering (TP or SP). After getting that diploma, I wanna go to a local university to get a Degree in Computer Engineering, most preferably NTU or NUS. However I have some uncertainties. :(

1. With a current GPA of 3.3 in year 2 (I still have chances of pulling up my GPA), do I have a high chance to enter Computer Engineering in TP? I know it depends on the number of applicants that wants to enter the course, but based on my can-be-improved GPA, will I get the course even if I select TP Comp Eng as my first choice?

2. Firstly, there is a cutoff point of polytechnic GPA to enter a local university. I think its 3.7 to 3.8 for computer engineering degree, if I'm not wrong? (please correct me). Okay, so let's say I got into TP Comp Eng, and I graduate with a GPA of 3.5, will I still be able to enter a uni? Or if I get 3.7 (can enter), but I do not meet the requirement of having an GCE O Level Certificate, not even Mathematics. Can I still be accepted?:s11:

Getting into poly really depends on the cohort. You should now focus on improving your GPA.

As for local uni... 3.5 is probably still low for NTU or NUS. The cut off will also change with year. But you can also consider SIT or SUSS which are more likely to accept you based on GPA of 3.5. O level now is not required as it was removed in 2018.

blizzaro3

1) iirc Higher Nitec to Poly average GPA acceptance is around 2.5, while 2.0 is the minimum requirement. So I'd probably say your chances of getting accepted is pretty high. Just focus on your grades for now. It'll be great if you can still improve your GPA (increase your chances).

2) During my stint in NTU CS/CE course, I have met people with GPA ranging from 3.3 to 3.6. I don't have any O levels, only N(T) and furthermore I applied while the 80% Poly/20% O level assessment was still active. So don't give up hope and just try your best during poly.

Though a bit of advice, I'd recommend serving your NS first before starting your Poly. Uni and poly standard of learning are totally different, it would be good to enter uni with a fresh memories from poly. Plus, if worst case you did not get accepted for your preferred poly course, even after appealing, at least you still have 2 years to try again.

sillysquid

1) iirc Higher Nitec to Poly average GPA acceptance is around 2.5, while 2.0 is the minimum requirement. So I'd probably say your chances of getting accepted is pretty high. Just focus on your grades for now. It'll be great if you can still improve your GPA (increase your chances).

2) During my stint in NTU CS/CE course, I have met people with GPA ranging from 3.3 to 3.6. I don't have any O levels, only N(T) and furthermore I applied while the 80% Poly/20% O level assessment was still active. So don't give up hope and just try your best during poly.

Though a bit of advice, I'd recommend serving your NS first before starting your Poly. Uni and poly standard of learning are totally different, it would be good to enter uni with a fresh memories from poly. Plus, if worst case you did not get accepted for your preferred poly course, even after appealing, at least you still have 2 years to try again.
Hi! Thank you for replying :). Sorry, I did not state that I'm a female so it's not compulsory for me to go for NS.

I have one more question.. Is the computer engineering education path very narrow? According to my research, I can be a software engineer(i want to be), a software developer, etc. Most of them are very similar(?). Also, my lecturer warned me that these software engineering jobs may be snatched by foreign workers, mainly from India as they are really top-notch programmers because they can sit in front of a computer all day to debug and learn programming, which really scares me as I take that as a competition. Do you think they will "snatch" the software engineering profession?

As I am in electronics engineering currently, my lecturer advised me to not go for computer engineering as it is quite a narrow path, and if I lose interest suddenly, it is very hard and dangerous for me to find a job(my lecturer said its a very precise path).

My lecturer then advised me to carry on with Electronics Engineering, in a polytechnic. He advised me to go for the Electronics and Computing Engineering or Electronics and Electrical Engineering. He said that this is a wide path, as electronics is a very general thing. But the thing is.. I don't really enjoy my current Electronics Eng course as I get to do soldering, drawing circuits, Internet of Things projects, and more. I prefer programming, but I am not good at it as I'm too busy with my final year projects.

I know I should follow my passion but I'm really afraid that I may give up suddenly and just crash my future or I lose interest after getting the degree. If I continue this electronics path, I know I will not enjoy it, but it will be a safer route I guess?

What should I do:( I have only until February 2021 to decide which really stresses me out. Thank you for reading:)

sillysquid

Getting into poly really depends on the cohort. You should now focus on improving your GPA.

As for local uni... 3.5 is probably still low for NTU or NUS. The cut off will also change with year. But you can also consider SIT or SUSS which are more likely to accept you based on GPA of 3.5. O level now is not required as it was removed in 2018.
Hi! Thank you for replying:)

Can I ask, are you also a CS student/graduate? Do I need to be good at mathematics?

blizzaro3

Hi! Thank you for replying :). Sorry, I did not state that I'm a female so it's not compulsory for me to go for NS.

I have one more question.. Is the computer engineering education path very narrow? According to my research, I can be a software engineer(i want to be), a software developer, etc. Most of them are very similar(?). Also, my lecturer warned me that these software engineering jobs may be snatched by foreign workers, mainly from India as they are really top-notch programmers because they can sit in front of a computer all day to debug and learn programming, which really scares me as I take that as a competition. Do you think they will "snatch" the software engineering profession?

As I am in electronics engineering currently, my lecturer advised me to not go for computer engineering as it is quite a narrow path, and if I lose interest suddenly, it is very hard and dangerous for me to find a job(my lecturer said its a very precise path).

My lecturer then advised me to carry on with Electronics Engineering, in a polytechnic. He advised me to go for the Electronics and Computing Engineering or Electronics and Electrical Engineering. He said that this is a wide path, as electronics is a very general thing. But the thing is.. I don't really enjoy my current Electronics Eng course as I get to do soldering, drawing circuits, Internet of Things projects, and more. I prefer programming, but I am not good at it as I'm too busy with my final year projects.

I know I should follow my passion but I'm really afraid that I may give up suddenly and just crash my future or I lose interest after getting the degree. If I continue this electronics path, I know I will not enjoy it, but it will be a safer route I guess?

What should I do:( I have only until February 2021 to decide which really stresses me out. Thank you for reading:)

Electronics Engineering is no more precise than CE. If he'd say Electrical Engineering (or EEE), then yeah I agree with your lecturer. Both Electronics Engineering and CE are located in between EEE and CS and they can take on either roles in the job market. CE is more align towards CS, whereas Electronic Engineering is more align towards Electrical Engineering. Personally, I find EEE quite a hellish course lol. Way more maths than CS/CE.

If you're not comfortable with circuitry designs and electronics stuff, I'd highly recommend you pursue for the CE route as CE are closely align to CS and seems to be more incline towards your passion. Furthermore, with your background in electronics, I'm sure you can do well in those courses in poly. You can consider a course in poly that offers a broad range of topics, such as Information Technology. Avoid courses like Game designs, analytics, or business/finance IT as they are too narrow to their specialization.

As for IoT, well I'm afraid Singapore is slowly heading towards smart nation and a lot of Uni nowadays and even poly are embracing IoT into their curriculum. Be it electronics or CS, you can find IoT in any of them.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.