Japan Sample Itinerary thread

evilerniex

ill be visiting kyoto, doing day trips before returning back to osaka. will only cover kyoto for 2 days, what sites to recommend, and route?

so far i looked a bit and sites that look more appealing to me are

nijo castle, nishiki market, kiyomizu, kinkakuji, inari shrine

is it possible to cover these within 2 day?

if possible can insert in Arashiyama

so far i planned, nijo -> Nishiki for lunch -> kiyomizu (reach 1530)

already take whole day

u can probably squeeze in kinkakuji for day 1 coz i dun think nijo castle will take the whole morning. then u can have fushimi inari and arashiyama on day 2

joeson

Itinerary v2:

As a result of not able to take leave during the December period cos of my stupid superiors in the office, I'm switching my Japan trip to the November period, AND having to shorten my trip from an initially planned 12 days to a short 9 days. and because of the shortened dates, I have to eliminate stuffs like Shirakawa-go and Kanazawa. However, the good thing is, I managed to snatch the SQ promo fares, 700+, direct from SG to Osaka's KIX.

So, here's the new itinerary:

Day 1: SG - Osaka; reach KIX at 9pm. Check in to hotel, Hotel Keihan Tenmabashi. Settle dinner at neighbourhood.

Day 2: Shinsaibashi, Amerikamura, Namba Parks, Den Den town, Dotonburi

Day 3: Day trip to Nara, Hejio Palace

Day 4: Tennoji, Shinsekai, Tempozan Harbour Village

Day 5: Osaka Castle, check out of hotel, move to Kyoto, check in at Sakura Terrace

Day 6: Kinkakuji, Gion District, Yasaka Jinja, Kiyomizu Dera

Day 7: Fushimari Shrine, Sagano Scenic Railway, Tenruji, Otaji Nenbutsuji, Saga Torii-moto

Day 8: Nijo Castle, Shijo-Kasamura, Sanjusangendo

Day 9: Check out, take train to KIX, fly back SG.

As a result of the shortened trip, I will not be buying the JR pass anymore. Will stick to the Icoca card and day passes in Kyoto. Comments? :)

hoshiyume

kansai experts,

Osaka/kyoto day pass around 800 yen per day, 2400 yen for 3 days

kansai thur pass 3800 yen for 2 days, 5000 yen for 3 days

Still worth getting the kansai thru pass? i know can get discount here and there but is it really worth?

sorry, trying to saave as much as possible so i can spend more.. :s13::s13::s13:

I bought Kansai pass thru (used for Kyoto to Nara, Kyoto to osaka and osaka to Kobe part non consecutive days) n bus day pass for Kyoto and subway pass for osaka. For the discounts, need to check my book but u can also get a copy from the Kansai pass thru site for rough idea. Kyoto favours buses to tourist sites, u can dl e bus pass usage map for ref

evilerniex

I bought Kansai pass thru (used for Kyoto to Nara, Kyoto to osaka and osaka to Kobe part non consecutive days) n bus day pass for Kyoto and subway pass for osaka. For the discounts, need to check my book but u can also get a copy from the Kansai pass thru site for rough idea. Kyoto favours buses to tourist sites, u can dl e bus pass usage map for ref

actually I think kansai thru pass may not be worth it for the places u are going. the pass is 5200yen for 3 days, which works out to be about 1700yen per day.
Kyoto to Nara is 710yen
Kyoto to Osaka is 560yen
Osaka to Kobe is 410yen
so unless u are travelling to all 3 places within a day, it is not going to cost more than 1700yen

evilerniex

Itinerary v2:

As a result of not able to take leave during the December period cos of my stupid superiors in the office, I'm switching my Japan trip to the November period, AND having to shorten my trip from an initially planned 12 days to a short 9 days. and because of the shortened dates, I have to eliminate stuffs like Shirakawa-go and Kanazawa. However, the good thing is, I managed to snatch the SQ promo fares, 700+, direct from SG to Osaka's KIX.

Day 1: SG - Osaka; reach KIX at 9pm. Check in to hotel, Hotel Keihan Tenmabashi. Settle dinner at neighbourhood.

Day 5: Osaka Castle, check out of hotel, move to Kyoto, check in at Sakura Terrace

Day 7: Fushimari Shrine, Sagano Scenic Railway, Tenruji, Otaji Nenbutsuji, Saga Torii-moto

As a result of the shortened trip, I will not be buying the JR pass anymore. Will stick to the Icoca card and day passes in Kyoto. Comments? :)

looks good... well spaced out. 3 days Kyoto, 2.5 days Osaka and 1 day nara shld be quite a comfortable pace :)

George Soros

day 1 reach tokyo,depend on timing,rest.
day 2 asaskusa ,sensoji temple,skytree
day 3 shibuya ,harajuku,meiji shrine
day 4 odaiba or akihabara?
day 5 disneyland
day 6 mt fuji 1 day tour (buy frm viator - go with coach,back with speed train)
day 7 back to singapore
or day 8 back to singapore

is this ok?will be staying near toyocho station area.

cpuer

day 1 reach tokyo,depend on timing,rest.
day 2 asaskusa ,sensoji temple,skytree
day 3 shibuya ,harajuku,meiji shrine
day 4 odaiba or akihabara?
day 5 disneyland
day 6 mt fuji 1 day tour (buy frm viator - go with coach,back with speed train)
day 7 back to singapore

is this ok?will be staying near toyocho station area.

Good plan :)

cpuer

hi,thanks.:)

but anything that can be improve?

Nothing lah, most importantly is to relax and enjoy yourself, don't get too stress up with itinerary. Just go with the flow.

Use this guide to help you further fine tuning
Tokyo - City Guide

Simple but important things like opening/closing hours, daylight, trains lines, stations etc need some study. If you are on a budget(i suspect you are not), some research on passes to get to save you some money may be required.

mojipei

Osaka Intinerary

Itinerary v2:

I think we are taking the same SIA promotion to go to Japan. My itinerary, however, is slightly different.

Day 1: Arrive in KIX at 9 pm. Check in Kansai Washington hotel.
day 2: Rinku Outlet and Express train to Kyoto, head to Fushimari Shrine at around 3 pm, Dinner at Kyoto Station
Day 3: Kinkakuji, Ryoanji, Nijo Castle, Imperial Palace, Nishiki and Gion for dinner.
Day 4: Arashimaya bamboo forest, Tenruoji, Sanjusangen do, Kiyomizu Dera and continue to Osaka at around 4 pm
Day 5: Osaka Castle, Tenjinbashi, Umeda
Day 6: Amerika Mura, Nipponbashi, Shin Sekai, Shitennoji
Day 7: Undecided, possibly Kobe
Day 8: Shinsaibashi, Dotombori
Day 9: Namba Station shopping and fly back to SG at 11:30 pm.

motomage

where to buy Kintetsu Railway normal pass ?
i just realised that the chubu airport selling the wide version only?

cpuer

I think we are taking the same SIA promotion to go to Japan. My itinerary, however, is slightly different.

Day 1: Arrive in KIX at 9 pm. Check in Kansai Washington hotel.
day 2: Rinku Outlet and Express train to Kyoto, head to Fushimari Shrine at around 3 pm, Dinner at Kyoto Station
Day 3: Kinkakuji, Ryoanji, Nijo Castle, Imperial Palace, Nishiki and Gion for dinner.
Day 4: Arashimaya bamboo forest, Tenruoji, Sanjusangen do, Kiyomizu Dera and continue to Osaka at around 4 pm
Day 5: Osaka Castle, Tenjinbashi, Umeda
Day 6: Amerika Mura, Nipponbashi, Shin Sekai, Shitennoji
Day 7: Undecided, possibly Kobe
Day 8: Shinsaibashi, Dotombori
Day 9: Namba Station shopping and fly back to SG at 11:30 pm.

Day 7 can go Arima Onsen, it's just next to Kobe. I will go there in the day and head back Kobe city for the evening shopping and dinner.

Ohayo!

need some help planning for 1.5 days in kyoto.

Day1 (using city bus)

Osaka -> Kiyo (0650-0830)
Kiyomizudera (0830-1000) (Open@0600)
Travel to kinkakuji (1000-1115)
Kinkakuji (1115-1215) (Open@0900)
Travel to Nishiki Mkt (1215-1300)
Nishiki Mkt (1300-1430)
Travel to Nijo Castle (1430-1500)
Nijo Castle (1500-1700)
Travel to Gion (1700-1730)
shopping + Dinner (1730-2000)
Travel back to Osaka (2000-2100)

Day 2
inari <->40min arashiyama
to nara (1h40min from inari)
(all trains only so can save on bus fare & use JR Pass)

OR

Day 1

Travel Osaka to Fushimi (0645-0800)
Fushimi Inari (0800-0900)
Travel to Kiyomizudera (0900-0940)
Kiyomizudera (0940-1130)
Travel to Nishiki Market (1130-1200)
Nishiki Market (1200-1330)
Travel to Nijo Castle (1330-1400)
Nijo castle (1400-1600)
Travel to Gion (1600-1630)
Shopping + Dinner (1630-2000)

Day 2
Osaka to Sagaarashiyama (0700-0830)
Tenryuji/Bamboo Groves (0830-1000)
Arashiyama To Kinkakuji (1000-1040)
Kinkakuji (1040-1140)
To nara (1140-1340)

which better/more efficient? or any way to improve by swapping the place?

Errz

my Tokyo itinerary for mid dec. with wife and 4yrs old kid

Day 1 (Tues): Arrival at Tokyo.- Sheraton Grande Tokyo Bay Hotel (Disney resort)
Day 2 (Wed): Disneyland
Day 3(Thurs): Disneyland/Sea
Day 4(Fri): Disneyland/Sea - Hotel Century Southern Tower (Shinjuku) in the evening.
Day 5 (Sat):Asakusa + Sensoji Shrine in the morning, then Akihabara in the afternoon - Roppongi in night.
Day 6 (Sun): Harajuku (Meiji Shrine , Yoyogi Park ,Daiso, Takeshita Dori,Kiddyland, Oriental Bazaar) from morning, then Shibuya (shopping) for the rest of the day (or should be the other way round?)
Day 7 (Mon): Sanrio Puroland in the morning, then Odaiba (Ferris Wheel
,Big Gundam, Tokyo Mega Web, Legoland, ExploraScience Museum) for the rest of the day
Day 8 (Tue): Walk around Shinjuku in the morning, 4pm flight back.

anything need to fine tune?

tokyofanboi

Day 1 (Tues): Arrival at Tokyo.- Sheraton Grande Tokyo Bay Hotel (Disney resort)
Day 4(Fri): Disneyland/Sea - Hotel Century Southern Tower (Shinjuku) in the evening.
Day 5 (Sat):Asakusa + Sensoji Shrine in the morning, then Akihabara in the afternoon - Roppongi in night.
Day 6 (Sun): Harajuku (Meiji Shrine , Yoyogi Park ,Daiso, Takeshita Dori,Kiddyland, Oriental Bazaar) from morning, then Shibuya (shopping) for the rest of the day (or should be the other way round?)
,Big Gundam, Tokyo Mega Web, Legoland, ExploraScience Museum) for the rest of the day

This is fine except that Disneysea rides more towards young adults, maybe you will like to consider Ghibli Museum (advance tickets needed), places you have missed are Ueno, Ginza, Tokyo, Ronppongi, Tokyo Tower, Sky Tree, Ikebukuro, Akihabara, Omotesando hill and ayoma, tokyo dome. Odaiba nothing much there, maybe few hours is enough in late afternoon

evilerniex

need some help planning for 1.5 days in kyoto.

Day1 (using city bus)

Osaka -> Kiyo (0650-0830)
Kiyomizudera (0830-1000) (Open@0600)
Travel to kinkakuji (1000-1115)
Kinkakuji (1115-1215) (Open@0900)
Travel to Nishiki Mkt (1215-1300)
Nishiki Mkt (1300-1430)
Travel to Nijo Castle (1430-1500)
Nijo Castle (1500-1700)
Travel to Gion (1700-1730)
shopping + Dinner (1730-2000)

Day 2
inari <->40min arashiyama
to nara (1h40min from inari)
(all trains only so can save on bus fare & use JR Pass)

OR

Day 1

Travel Osaka to Fushimi (0645-0800)
Fushimi Inari (0800-0900)
Travel to Kiyomizudera (0900-0940)
Kiyomizudera (0940-1130)
Travel to Nishiki Market (1130-1200)
Nishiki Market (1200-1330)
Travel to Nijo Castle (1330-1400)
Nijo castle (1400-1600)
Travel to Gion (1600-1630)
Shopping + Dinner (1630-2000)

Day 2
Osaka to Sagaarashiyama (0700-0830)
Tenryuji/Bamboo Groves (0830-1000)
Arashiyama To Kinkakuji (1000-1040)
Kinkakuji (1040-1140)
To nara (1140-1340)

which better/more efficient? or any way to improve by swapping the place?

I will go with the first one to make use of bus pass

evilerniex

looks good.

3 days for Disneyland and sea, issit going to be tiring for the kid?

day 6 is ok... no point going shibuya in the morning coz shops wun be open until about 11am

buzzmario

looks good.

3 days for Disneyland and sea, issit going to be tiring for the kid?

day 6 is ok... no point going shibuya in the morning coz shops wun be open until about 11am

last dec, i took the 2 day land and sea pass. 1 st day at land, cheong from 9am to 10pm for the last ride, almost all rides completed ( you need to plan the route on which ride to go first) 2nd day at sea, totally puncture, only tanhan till 5 plus, cannot liao , too tired, went back to hotel instead.

Sunny85

Need some advices. i will be bringing my family with my 3 year old daughter for a 8d 7n tokyo trip next year. We are planning to stay at Tokyo Disneyland Hotel, is staying at the hotel and visit the park during the last two day of our trips or once we arrive, we proceed to the Disneyland resort stay for 2 nights then proceed to the town area.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.