jogging and motivation thread

rarenick

EVERYBODY fan boy over Pacquiao
Legend of his sport and weight class. I will respect that. But for physical Asia I don't find confident in him because of his size and age. He is probably only good in boxing. Even for boxing, his punches only good for hurting small guys, and receiving punches from them. Swop with a big guy, very hard to absorb the heavy punches.

kkkkdllmkkkk

Any non plated shoes to intro?

Currently looking at Lining yueying 5 pro.

Although megablast and vomero plus are tempting me as well

if i am not wrong, lining yueying 5 pro is plated. it's quite tight and snug at mid foot area for my feet

Ender

@Ender

Confirm liao. Brad Stansfield just posted the whole pic. Same gist as what i posted earlier.

Be mindful, but dont be alarmed. The FDA target is 8.8ug/day for adults, which is already 10X over-conservative. California prop 65 is a pretty ideal target at 170X over-conservative with 0.5g/day,

Same for other things like microplastics to be zero or ultra trace ideally, but realistically that is not possible. That's the state of things nowadays from food to disposable chopsticks that we use in our hawker centres, god knows what is inside. The california prop 65 daily limit that CR uses is a very ideal target.

Dr Brad is great in looking scientific studies.
My stopping buying whey is not due to this, but I am trying an old school method for recovery for endurance runner i.e Carb : Protein ratio is between 3:1 to 4:1. Brad is also one of the first youtuber to call out the over promotion of protein intake among most health influencers. He recommended lower dosage is enough than what most influencer recommended.

sph777

Legend of his sport and weight class. I will respect that. But for physical Asia I don't find confident in him because of his size and age. He is probably only good in boxing. Even for boxing, his punches only good for hurting small guys, and receiving punches from them. Swop with a big guy, very hard to absorb the heavy punches.
Ya I see the Turkish and Australian team. I think all the south east asian teams no chance.

WussRedXLi

Dr Brad is great in looking scientific studies.
My stopping buying whey is not due to this, but I am trying an old school method for recovery for endurance runner i.e Carb : Protein ratio is between 3:1 to 4:1. Brad is also one of the first youtuber to call out the over promotion of protein intake among most health influencers. He recommended lower dosage is enough than what most influencer recommended.

My current understanding is for us "training" as long as hit 1.2g/kg can liao but bump it up to 1.4 to 1.6g/kg as insurance also no issue esp since for me i am cheonging a bit of calisthenics as well, and cycling also quite taxing muscularly. Current weight 72-73kg, so i can hit 100-115g protein daily.

Only issue is how our diet and reality fits into that. If home got cook then quite simple la, issue is for me is 99.5% hawker....... 🤣 So looking for hacks like the NTUC $7.45 roasted or mala taste chicken(800g with bones, 1g protein per 4g meat). Quite a few big NTUC outlets have it, over the weekend my kid and i changed upon JEM Fairprice at B1 also got.

Canned sardines i/we have been supplementing eating for a few years, really quite sick of it liao.

And i cannot be taking 8-10 eggs per day to supplement, buay sian meh. 2 or 3 eggs sometimes 4 eggs, i still can tahan.

WussRedXLi

Here's one more good protein video.

Note : he is talking more about people in general. You gotta change accordingly for your own elderly parents training regime or your own specific training regime or just the general population out there which seriously i think 1g/kg is sufficient. It's not only for muscles but also for connective tissues build and repair etc.
The thing is, some people, including my parents and in-laws last time, more like 0.3-0.4g/kg, on a few days i would not be surprised if it's 0.1g/kg. 😓 :unsure: :s16:
Same goes for my FIL's sister. Durian season whole day eat mao shan wang can liao. :unsure: :eek:

Basically, you over eat protein, nothing bad will happen for us with healthy liver/kidneys. |Just get fat, coz changed into glycogen and then fats when stores in liver/muscles filled up.
But some who really gun several hundreds grams of protein daily over the long run might run into health issues, but those are rarity also lah. How to take so much whey without GI issues i also dont know how, sometimes 1 scoop already a bit of flatulence (not sure if is coz of the lactose, as i dont do isolates). Just not possible to take in so much like what they mentioned 2.2-3g/kg and they are well over 100kg. What the.....do the math

ps. Actually, the first thing he mentioned, protein powder as being an incredibly "new invention", is already a bit wrong or actually very wrong depending on how you look at it. But dont mind the fella lah. 😓
It's like saying cheese is incredibly new....hehe.

rarenick

Ya I see the Turkish and Australian team. I think all the south east asian teams no chance.
Korean team pushed too hard in the beginning. Only winner group in the first round has advantage. Just give them lor, and conserve energy mah. No point too exhausted and getting injured at the beginning.

rECKleSSfElla

Received my QD Leili non plaid. First time seeing on shoes this weird arse design for the tongue with 2 pieces of fabric sticking out by the sides. Dont quite understand the point of it.
IIYcbrR.jpeg

EU45 is my usual go to size and by right shouldnt have any issues but becuz of the tongue, the upper feels just nice when i wear bare foot but if i wear with socks it becomes too tight for comfort. Currently i am nursing abit of a muscle strain so cant bring this out for a run but hopefully the upper can expand and feel more comfortable with prolong use.

Ender

My current understanding is for us "training" as long as hit 1.2g/kg can liao but bump it up to 1.4 to 1.6g/kg as insurance also no issue esp since for me i am cheonging a bit of calisthenics as well, and cycling also quite taxing muscularly. Current weight 72-73kg, so i can hit 100-115g protein daily.

Only issue is how our diet and reality fits into that. If home got cook then quite simple la, issue is for me is 99.5% hawker....... 🤣 So looking for hacks like the NTUC $7.45 roasted or mala taste chicken(800g with bones, 1g protein per 4g meat). Quite a few big NTUC outlets have it, over the weekend my kid and i changed upon JEM Fairprice at B1 also got.

Canned sardines i/we have been supplementing eating for a few years, really quite sick of it liao.

And i cannot be taking 8-10 eggs per day to supplement, buay sian meh. 2 or 3 eggs sometimes 4 eggs, i still can tahan.i
Same, almost 100% is hawker meal. Don't really do much strength and my body weight is lesser. SO I think atm I can do without whey supplement and top up abit when training those long distances, but not everyday like Creatine.

If you are not scare of China's precooked food, there's a lot of cheap ready to eat meat protein on PDD. I just placed the order for the Chicken Breast, dried krill and some bags of 500g of dried mango.

https://mobile.yangkeduo.com/goods2.html?ps=XsGSsQvLi4
b7c84bef-ddfa-41a5-ad33-665f754201bc.jpeg

https://mobile.yangkeduo.com/goods.html?ps=6KFmgmslI3
24eb1d49-012f-4ece-9c94-556843723c71.jpeg.a.jpeg

Even dried Krill for Omega 3. I bought these to try.
https://mobile.yangkeduo.com/goods1.html?ps=ilqNV8fMKM
6bf35e21-743f-49df-8ebf-4fed18a0e6d2.jpeg.a.jpeg

Ender

Here's one more good protein video.

Note : he is talking more about people in general. You gotta change accordingly for your own elderly parents training regime or your own specific training regime or just the general population out there which seriously i think 1g/kg is sufficient. It's not only for muscles but also for connective tissues build and repair etc.
The thing is, some people, including my parents and in-laws last time, more like 0.3-0.4g/kg, on a few days i would not be surprised if it's 0.1g/kg. 😓 :unsure: :s16:
Same goes for my FIL's sister. Durian season whole day eat mao shan wang can liao. :unsure: :eek:

Basically, you over eat protein, nothing bad will happen for us with healthy liver/kidneys. |Just get fat, coz changed into glycogen and then fats when stores in liver/muscles filled up.
But some who really gun several hundreds grams of protein daily over the long run might run into health issues, but those are rarity also lah. How to take so much whey without GI issues i also dont know how, sometimes 1 scoop already a bit of flatulence (not sure if is coz of the lactose, as i dont do isolates). Just not possible to take in so much like what they mentioned 2.2-3g/kg and they are well over 100kg. What the.....do the math

ps. Actually, the first thing he mentioned, protein powder as being an incredibly "new invention", is already a bit wrong or actually very wrong depending on how you look at it. But dont mind the fella lah. 😓
It's like saying cheese is incredibly new....hehe.

Ya, this Dr Gundry abit controversial. Dr Idz, has debunked some of his teaching, escpecially on the Whey protein powder that he claimed is bad for our gut.

WussRedXLi

Ya, this Dr Gundry abit conterversial. Dr Idz, has debunked some of his teaching, escpecially on the Whey protein powder that he claimed is bad for our gut.

Youtube and google/AI a lot of sources across the whole spectrum. Some right some wrong some are shades of grey. Just basically pick something that works for training regime, our lifestyle and diet, if get fat due to overeat protein then hoot more volume ba. 🤣
Is safe as long as we dont go extremes like 300g (!!) of whey powder daily like some of the bodybuilders do. I see them 5-6 scoops into a big shaker and then chug down i also wanna 反胃

WussRedXLi

Same, almost 100% is hawker meal. Don't really do much strength and my body weight is lesser. SO I think atm I can do without whey supplement and top up abit when training those long distances, but not everyday like Creatine.

If you are not scare of China's precooked food, there's a lot of cheap ready to eat meat protein on PDD. I just placed the order for the Chicken Breast, dried krill and some bags of 500g of dried mango.

https://mobile.yangkeduo.com/goods2.html?ps=XsGSsQvLi4
b7c84bef-ddfa-41a5-ad33-665f754201bc.jpeg

https://mobile.yangkeduo.com/goods.html?ps=6KFmgmslI3
24eb1d49-012f-4ece-9c94-556843723c71.jpeg.a.jpeg

Even dried Krill for Omega 3. I bought these to try.
https://mobile.yangkeduo.com/goods1.html?ps=ilqNV8fMKM
6bf35e21-743f-49df-8ebf-4fed18a0e6d2.jpeg.a.jpeg

The first one seems similar to my don don donki teriyaki chicken, $12 for 3 packets so $4 per pkt. 200g chicken. Quite nice. Mix with soba or somen with soba sauce. After that chase it down with some apple or any fruit, can liao.....decent DIY meal. Post workout meal i just do soba/somen or sometimes instant noodles when i feel the craving.

The donki saba fish, $13.80 for 5pcs, frozen but pre-cooked one, also good for regular meals. Just more options. My house cai png or BCM or chicken rice when i feel that i eat until sian, i will diy

WussRedXLi

Received my QD Leili non plaid. First time seeing on shoes this weird arse design for the tongue with 2 pieces of fabric sticking out by the sides. Dont quite understand the point of it.
IIYcbrR.jpeg

EU45 is my usual go to size and by right shouldnt have any issues but becuz of the tongue, the upper feels just nice when i wear bare foot but if i wear with socks it becomes too tight for comfort. Currently i am nursing abit of a muscle strain so cant bring this out for a run but hopefully the upper can expand and feel more comfortable with prolong use.

If that arrow part feels a bit snug for you, can try cutting it.

Last time i also cut my New Balance SC Elite v3, got a part that somewhat rubs against my side ankle bone when i really run fast (thus more sink in, and hitting that particular part of the shoe). I just used a sharp penknife to cut and burn a wee bit to manage the edges. Just needed to take that 1-2mm off can liao.

rarenick

If old liao not much income, and can only choose one or two supplements. What will u get?

For me maybe are creatine and d3+k2.

kkkkdllmkkkk

IIYcbrR.jpeg

seems like it's for holding the tongue down. maybe u can cut the fabric

is the sizing true to size???

rECKleSSfElla

seems like it's for holding the tongue down. maybe u can cut the fabric

is the sizing true to size???
For me nowadays i always go EU45 for china shoes and they fit me TTS. Previously i went EU46 for an xtep and it was tad too loose for comfort. For this leili, length wise ok but the upper feels tad cramped due to the 2 pieces of fabric. I loosen up the laces and its slightly better but i yet to run in them so not sure if the 2 fabric will cause any issues.

xllms

IIYcbrR.jpeg

gusseted tongue

PROS:
Prevents Tongue Movement
The most significant benefit. The attachment prevents the tongue from sliding sideways (tongue migration), which can cause irritation or an uneven fit, ensuring a consistent and secure lockdown.
Keeps Debris Out
By forming a barrier on both sides, a gusseted tongue is highly effective at preventing dirt, pebbles, sand, and trail debris from entering the shoe. This is particularly valuable in trail running shoes.
Protects Against Lace Bite
A secure tongue stays centered, providing consistent padding to protect the top of your foot (instep) from pressure and discomfort caused by tight lacing (known as "lace bite").
Enhanced Midfoot Lockdown
The connected sides often create a more secure and hugging feel around the midfoot, contributing to a better overall fit and stability.

CONS:
Potential for Pressure/Numbness
If the gussets are too tight, restrictive, or the padding is too thick, they can put excessive pressure on the top of the foot or midfoot, which can lead to discomfort, numbness, or "falling asleep" feet, especially for runners with a high instep (high volume foot).
More Difficult to Put On
The restricted opening can make the shoe more challenging to slip on and off quickly compared to a traditional free-floating tongue.
Reduced Ventilation
The extra material where the tongue is connected to the upper can sometimes reduce breathability, especially if the gusset material is thick or non-mesh.
Can Feel Bulky
In some designs, particularly if heavily padded, the tongue can feel bulky or over-engineered, which some runners dislike.

personally, i like half-gusseted tongue running shoes

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.