jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

Acrylamide is classified as a probable human carcinogen based on high-dose animal studies, but the direct link to cancer in humans from dietary exposure remains inconclusive, though it's considered a public health concern requiring monitoring. It forms when starchy foods are cooked at high temperatures (frying, baking) and is found in things like fries, coffee, and crackers. While human studies lack strong evidence, major health bodies like the FDA, EFSA, WHO, and NTP recommend reducing intake by cooking foods to a golden yellow rather than brown.

WussRedXLi

sleep in day after a night of drinking and feasting :ROFLMAO:. ironically, the body maybe ideally fueled and rested to do a long run now.

Ate a lot last night, with cakes also so basically fully carb loaded liao so didnt eat before going out this morning. Didnt drink alcohol but took too much green teas (like 1.5L worth) last evneing and nearly could not sleep before 11pm.

WussRedXLi

MSM talk

Age 65 only, not say super old types. (remember, i am already 56 or just 9 years away and some bros here older than me)

30% of those got detectable (functional?) symptoms. 20% got serious issues and classed as serious comorbidity.

Good news is that it is very easily stopped and even reversed, also from my personal experience.

What the doc said in the video is correct. BW calisthenics is sufficient you do not need to be anywhere a gym rat. Go do your dips / push ups / pull ups / squats. You as an elderly already can farm quite a fair bit of aura with moderately thick 20kg bands when extended with dips even if you can only rep out 5 reps. Calves and anterior tibs can be trained also. Use mini bands can even deadlift and long bands for all the previous mentioned exercises as well for progression. You body will adapt and improve one, it's just about discipline and consistency and proper recovery even if it takes years.

Good quality latex brands. Much cheaper than decathalon but other than that they are the same thing

https://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?i...oughtlist.suborder_itemtitle.1.b8432e8dxxHSDb

Ender

Good detailed info. if already injured, high drop (8-10mm) firm midsole shoe should bring some relief. Nike Pegasus 41 is a classic example.

For those not injured, personally recommend adding a low drop (4-6mm), low stack flexible shoe once a week into your rotation. If you are not used to such shoes start slow and short (6-8km) then progressive add on. In 2025 where high stacked, rockered, soft foam midsole are the norm. People can be doing high volume but losing foot strength. Injury inevitable if not corrected.
Ultimately I feel is can slowly progress to zero drop foot wear or barefoot is the best for the Achilles tendon. But just don't one shot transit to full mileage zero drop for runners who are so used to high heel drop, high stack cushioning shoes. Many cases of Achilles tendonitis of runners who transit too abruptly to minimalist footwear. I was one of them during the minimalist era of running.

Mila Azul

I regret being too stubborn and foolish. My knee was feeling slightly improved, and since I ate a lot last night, I decided to go for a long, fast-paced walk. Now instead of just one injured knee, I've hurt both of them. I think the prolonged pain caused me to unconsciously shift my weight to my other knee, which ended up damaging it as well. :ROFLMAO:

WussRedXLi

enjoy your xmas run. :)
Xmas ride..... heh.

I only do fairly short 25-30 mins threshold/vo2max run intervals once weekly workouts nowadays before work. If lazy, then just do SITs. Havent tested lately but from the beginning of the year till 2 months prior it still seems ok.

WussRedXLi

I regret being too stubborn and foolish. My knee was feeling slightly improved, and since I ate a lot last night, I decided to go for a long, fast-paced walk. Now instead of just one injured knee, I've hurt both of them. I think the prolonged pain caused me to unconsciously shift my weight to my other knee, which ended up damaging it as well. :ROFLMAO:

Think better really rest and something could be learnt from this.......keep it to really shorter sessions but can do it fairly frequently. Also dont forget the strengthening i told you to do in the post before

WussRedXLi

Jin cham. Blk 51 chin swee, near my place also.

Actually they can find some solace in fitness. Just that, the message not easy to get across. (not their fault also, coz of some misinformation out there as well via their other friends etc)

winningeleven

Ultimately I feel is can slowly progress to zero drop foot wear or barefoot is the best for the Achilles tendon. But just don't one shot transit to full mileage zero drop for runners who are so used to high heel drop, high stack cushioning shoes. Many cases of Achilles tendonitis of runners who transit too abruptly to minimalist footwear. I was one of them during the minimalist era of running.

0mm drop shoe also help to correct those who wants to change from heel strike to mid/ front foot strike too.

winningeleven

Normal lah. If u so used to be active. U wont sit still . Definitely go for exercise if u feel good to go

I suffered hip injury in mid August and kept on trying every few days . I was quite sad that even I rested 1 week with no running and yet he pain came back immediately right after 1km.

until I rested 3 weeks completely with no running ..then slowly build and regain back

xllms

X'mas run along the coastal area in super cold conditions. Strong cold northerly winds almost blown me away.
temp-98df5e2f-536e-4c92-9d1a-7903f8806bb2-coros.png

xllms

time to give your body rest and may you recover fully soon

xllms

Any year end/new year promo for shoes? Or good lobangs? Something for all rounder.

Or better to get from jippunland as an excuse for flying there? 😂
大鲶的小鲶 i think is a good all rounder, except track speedworks.

rumors say that Asics superblast 3 is coming out soon. maybe can get a discounted superblast 2 in japan.
IMG-20251225-184547.jpg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.