jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

ya me now having PF and i think my core and mobility not there.. went to a podiatrist and was advised to get a customized insoles and do strengthen exercises.. i brought a over counter insoles (from USA) to try first and been doing my exercises for a while,,

getting better sightly but still have the pain.. now starting to get back to running.. last week 4km this week 6km.. dunno how long then can get to back my last time 50 to 70km a week

Yeah man, these things for full recovery is slow, can very frustrating because in that 1-2 months, basically a very significant portion of your fitness is gone. Cant do volume nor intensity. Generally we lose fitness faster than we gain fitness. Lucky thing is that, muscle memory helps esp if previously you are training correctly and have good form, the "knowledge" is already there. If not, really good luck.

For my one and only quite major ITBS injury during AHM 2023 10k race last 3-4km coz i jammed brake from ~ 4:00 pace to nearly a dead stop coz someone jitao cut into my path, let me see my Huawei records..... it took me like 2 months before i can say "fully recovered". The first time i ran after AHM on Aug 27rd was only 1.66k @ 7:55 pace on 31 Aug. First long run 7.56km @ 6:36 on 9th Sep. I remember i could not do any longer runs coz the pain kicks in after a while pain. Heck - even my racewalking zone 2 pace is at 6:00-6:20.
30th Sep then could attempt 12.85k my first one over 10k, and mid Oct then 16, 17, 18km done at faster paces.
So basically at least 1 month for majority of recovery to be had, and possibly up to 2 before can say full recovery back to former self.

In 2 months, really can lose quite a fair bit of fitness, even if there is light activity.
If i were to guesstimate, after that i took at ~ 6 months before i regained former fitness. And that 6 months time was also due to my newly purchased lactate meter and more scientific training, if not it might take even longer and also i started with a good bit of cycling as additional cross training volume.

Hyruga

Yes, evidence indicates that marathon runners and long-distance runners generally live longer than the general population, with studies showing up to a 30% lower risk of cardiovascular death and a 25% lower risk of death from all causes.

Wa marathon runners really live longer sia.

WussRedXLi

i very sian over my PF.. had it since like Jan.. till now still not fully recovered.. i been reducing my run like mad just becos of PF..

BTW bro, not meant to scare you or anything....... do check out plantar fasciosis on your fav info channels. That condition there is no inflammation in there, as compared to its close cousin plantar fasciitis. Not sure when was the last time you saw your podiaotrist, if this continues for another month maybe it's good to follow up with him...coz not supposed to take so long, maybe he might order some imaging done.

Plantar fasciosis takes significantly longer to heal than plantar fasciitis because it represents a chronic degeneration and structural breakdown of collagen fibers, rather than acute inflammation. While plantar fasciitis is an inflammatory condition that can often resolve in weeks, fasciosis is a necrotic process where the tissue has failed to heal properly, leading to structural weakening and "fatigue" of the tissue, similar to a frayed rope.

WussRedXLi

Umm...coughs..... once i was taking MCs with this PF as excuse also. Then i used it again and again (good to use mah 🤣 I go there in cycling gear and telling the chap i pain cannot walk limp limp went into the consultation room lol ).

After like 2-3 months, he also wanted to order imaging to properly diagnose (might be bone spurs also which X-rays can detect, but might be more serious conditions like tears which need MRI to visualise these soft tissues). But then obviously cannot do, other than the imaging my company panel card insurance plan no cover.

Then after that i changed to patellar pain but at another clinic group.

GlassDoor

Yes, evidence indicates that marathon runners and long-distance runners generally live longer than the general population, with studies showing up to a 30% lower risk of cardiovascular death and a 25% lower risk of death from all causes.

Wa marathon runners really live longer sia.
while i am not disputing this. I will say anyone with a good sense to do moderate exercise for 200-300mins a week avoiding metabolic dysfunction will potentially live longer.

on the contrary long distance running also carries risk of it's own. not to mention the higher level of UV exposure (unless you batman aka exercise after dark:ROFLMAO:).

s_mario

BTW bro, not meant to scare you or anything....... do check out plantar fasciosis on your fav info channels. That condition there is no inflammation in there, as compared to its close cousin plantar fasciitis. Not sure when was the last time you saw your podiaotrist, if this continues for another month maybe it's good to follow up with him...coz not supposed to take so long, maybe he might order some imaging done.

Plantar fasciosis takes significantly longer to heal than plantar fasciitis because it represents a chronic degeneration and structural breakdown of collagen fibers, rather than acute inflammation. While plantar fasciitis is an inflammatory condition that can often resolve in weeks, fasciosis is a necrotic process where the tissue has failed to heal properly, leading to structural weakening and "fatigue" of the tissue, similar to a frayed rope.

ya i was reading on this and i am worried also.. its been slightly over a month since my last visit to podiatrist.. seen her before cny. think will schedule a visit by this end month if still doesnt get too well.. sianz half..

s_mario

Yeah man, these things for full recovery is slow, can very frustrating because in that 1-2 months, basically a very significant portion of your fitness is gone. Cant do volume nor intensity. Generally we lose fitness faster than we gain fitness. Lucky thing is that, muscle memory helps esp if previously you are training correctly and have good form, the "knowledge" is already there. If not, really good luck.

For my one and only quite major ITBS injury during AHM 2023 10k race last 3-4km coz i jammed brake from ~ 4:00 pace to nearly a dead stop coz someone jitao cut into my path, let me see my Huawei records..... it took me like 2 months before i can say "fully recovered". The first time i ran after AHM on Aug 27rd was only 1.66k @ 7:55 pace on 31 Aug. First long run 7.56km @ 6:36 on 9th Sep. I remember i could not do any longer runs coz the pain kicks in after a while pain. Heck - even my racewalking zone 2 pace is at 6:00-6:20.
30th Sep then could attempt 12.85k my first one over 10k, and mid Oct then 16, 17, 18km done at faster paces.
So basically at least 1 month for majority of recovery to be had, and possibly up to 2 before can say full recovery back to former self.

In 2 months, really can lose quite a fair bit of fitness, even if there is light activity.
If i were to guesstimate, after that i took at ~ 6 months before i regained former fitness. And that 6 months time was also due to my newly purchased lactate meter and more scientific training, if not it might take even longer and also i started with a good bit of cycling as additional cross training volume.
ya man sianz.. i am running 4min pace for 5km before i got injured.. then now i run like 6min pace i feel tired and heartrate go higher.. i am now doing elliptical and cycling as a replacement for my running..

i also read that to maintain fitness intensity is more important than volume.. so i try to ramp up the intensity of the cardi i do...

GlassDoor

thought early bird/member is cheaper.. i sign up for $30..
early bird for public was $40. maybe is a sign take-up rate not up to their expectation.
imo not the way to do sign up. next year no one will bother to sign up early already.

s_mario

early bird for public was $40. maybe is a sign take-up rate not up to their expectation.
imo not the way to do sign up. next year no one will bother to sign up early already.
oh last year they also got special sale price halfway. so but its still slightly more expensive than their insurance member but cheaper than normal early bird..

i remember last year got foc for memebers above certain age.. limited slots..

GlassDoor

oh last year they also got special sale price halfway. so but its still slightly more expensive than their insurance member but cheaper than normal early bird..

i remember last year got foc for memebers above certain age.. limited slots..
maybe that's why.. all expecting them to drop pants :ROFLMAO:
they already spoil their own market

GlassDoor

ya man sianz.. i am running 4min pace for 5km before i got injured.. then now i run like 6min pace i feel tired and heartrate go higher.. i am now doing elliptical and cycling as a replacement for my running..

i also read that to maintain fitness intensity is more important than volume.. so i try to ramp up the intensity of the cardi i do...
since u can sustain a 4" pace before injury. you may want to examine if running form is also a contributing factor.
my go-to when injured is the rowing machine to maintain basic fitness and burn calories.

sph777

For me when I was taking a break from running when I had plantar, I did more static bike and swimming

GlassDoor

For me when I was taking a break from running when I had plantar, I did more static bike and swimming
swimming for me too... but swimming for an hour every day... will probably become blondie
i am not a biker... so not an option.

GlassDoor

this year I don't have motivation for half or full yet. Hence trying the 15km
its a really fun distance. me think seasoned guys will agree 10k too short.. 21k is a mental barrier to go all out.
but 15k.. sweet spot.. go all out at most 65min sure can tahan 💪

s_mario

the
since u can sustain a 4" pace before injury. you may want to examine if running form is also a contributing factor.
my go-to when injured is the rowing machine to maintain basic fitness and burn calories.
i did before once a simple one at CGH and they say my running form is ok.. mid foot strike and didnt see anything special but i think their is not those pro with computer/imagy system..

any good recommendations? the one push to me by FB is UFIT.. i am also looking at a VO2 max test..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.